Around India on my Motorcycle - Part 4 - Arriving at the Himalayan Kingdom of Leh, The World's Highest Motorable road and beyond!

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

"Do not long for a better life. Live the life you have. Wherever you are, be all there. Making the most of our current reality is the best practice for what is to come"
--Jim Elliott

IMG_0369.JPG

I arrived at the Himalayan kingdom of Leh, after about 4500 plus kilometers and 6 days of riding. I couldn't believe that I had done it, and gotten this far. To be able to look at the board that read "Welcome to Leh" was something that made me ecstatic and awed at the same time. I was here, and I had arrived.

And on to part 4!


Welcome to Leh, and I had finally arrived!

DSC_0279.jpg

The Indus river is the lifeline of Leh and the Ladakh region. It is a perennial source of water.

1.jpg

The first view of the Indus river from the road that leads to Leh town.

DSC_0284.jpg

Old town Leh.

DSC_0303.jpg

Mountains and skies, trees and houses... This is Leh town.

DSC_0305.jpg

Time for food! Pita bread, omlettes, and a cup of tea to start off with!

DSC_0297.jpg


I took some time off once I arrived at Leh town. I rested and recuperated. The last few days had been one of covering kilometers and riding without many breaks. 4500km in 6 days, averaging about 750km does take a toll on the body and the bike. To top it off, I had started off in the hot months of summer, and the North was sweltering hot. I was not used to the heat. Once I arrived at the mountains, the temperature became manageable and I could ride more comfortably.

Leh offered me a chance to rest my weary bones, and to look around the town, explore the market and the little alleys. I visited the Shanti Stupa which sits atop a hill that overlooks the town of Leh. It is a peaceful place and is a monument that has been erected to signify world peace.

DSC_0311.jpg

The Shanti Stupa has carvings that denote the life of the Buddha, and the circle of life.

DSC_0317.jpg

DSC_0315.jpg

DSC_0320.jpg

Inside the prayer hall at the Shanti Stupa

DSC_0321.jpg


In Leh, there are many shops where you can get your own tshirt made. The tailors embroider designs of your choice on the tshirt. In my case, I got a tshirt made on which a route map was sewn, along with a embroidery of my bike. I still have the tshirt today!

DSC_0336.jpg

Steaming hot momos were a welcome snack anytime of the day!

DSC_0334.jpg

And then, I was on my way to the so called Highest motorable road in the world - The KhardungLa!

2.jpg

It was a bright and beautiful morning to ascend the mountains!

3.jpg

And I had arrived!

4.jpg


While KhardungLa is considered (and proclaimed) to be the highest motorable road in the world, it is actually not. There are much higher roads in the region. The altitude of KhardungLa is erroneous. It is closer to 18000 feet, rather than being over 18000 feet.

Modern measuring instruments have shown the altitude to be about 17,600 feet, rather than the proclaimed 18,380 feet!


A board at the highest cafe in the world, describing the Siachen glacier, and the harsh conditions our soldiers have to endure there. A salute to them all.

5.jpg

6.jpg

The mountains far, far away, looked enticing.

7.jpg

Unfortunately, the amount of trash at this altitude was an eyesore.

IMG_0525.JPG

It is very difficult to imagine how callous and senseless tourists can be. To see so much trash at an altitude of over 17,000 feet, in such a sensitive and fragile region was a sad testimony to how insensitive tourists can be to the places they visit. It is very important that we, as travelers, and tourists alike, learn to be sensitive to the places we visit and the people we meet. Only then, can we be better at travelling and understanding this amazing world we live in.

#Idonottrashmytravel is a running campaign and we must make all attempts to ensure we take away only memories and leave nothing behind except footprints and smiles.


Where do I go from here?

IMG_0520.JPG


If you liked this story, please upvote and comment. If you enjoy stories like this and want to read more, please follow me @thebatmanbiker (funny name, I know). I blog about travel, my travel stories, life and my experiences, art and illustration.

You can read more stories from my blog via the links below. Thanks for reading this one and cheers! :)

Around India on a Motorcycle - Part 3

Around India on a Motorcycle - Part 2

Around India on a Motorcycle - Part 1

The Ghost Town of Kudremukh in Images

The high mountain passes of Ladakh in Images

Sort:  

Wow, amazing photography,
I congratulate you for the journey of India @thebatmanbiker

Wow what a great post. I love anything to do with bikes, and your trip looks amazing! I have followed and upvoted and will be reading your next post.

What bike did you ride, and what did you take with you?

Hi @ashleypeat, Thanks for the comment, the upvote and the follow! Glad to know you love bikes. Charmers, aren't they? ;) Do you travel on bikes too?

I rode a Yamaha FZ16, a 150cc bike on this trip. What I took on this trip, that is a whole lot of things. I'll include something about the preparation part of the roadtrip and what I carried in one of my future posts! Cheers! :)

Good photos. And I couldn't agree more to the $idonottrashmytravel campaign. Such places are what makes us proud of the world we live in and we owe it to our successors to leave the world a better place for them. Cos I feel at this rate of globalisation, they might need such places more that us.

True, they will need such places more than us. Hopefully, they will have them, or some remenants of them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65122.20
ETH 2988.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68