I got bored and went around India on a motorcycle - Part 1steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel8 years ago

In July 2013, I quit my corporate job and threw everything that was good for me into the trash can. Heck, I was only 22 and considered myself invincible. I had an itchy foot, and I still have it now, and the only way to scratch that itch was to travel. 

I felt that I was getting a little lost. I knew what I wanted to do, but I felt that I was waiting, delaying, and eventually, just dreaming. I  decided that I should go now, or never go. I loved riding motorcycles anyway, and this was what I figured I did do: I went around India on a motorcycle. Here are some of the pictures from the road.

PS: I blog at www.thefootloosenomad.com. This story is a part of my blog. I am sharing it here so other people can enjoy the pictures and hopefully be motivated to travel themselves! This is the first part, so enjoy! Please don't forget to visit my blog and to upvote and share this post! Thanks! :)

 

ON THE SHORES OF THE LAKE PANGONG TSO, ONE OF THE FINAL ACCESSIBLE PARTS OF THE LADAKH REGION BEFORE THE CHINESE OCCUPIED REGION OF AKSAI CHIN. THE VIEW, ALMOST 3800KM SINCE I LEFT HOME. HOW DID I GET HERE?

 

I LEFT BANGALORE WITH A SERIOUSLY LOADED BIKE

IT WAS TIME FOR SOME OFF-ROADING ON THE HIGHWAYS.

 

GETTING LOST IN THE MORNINGS WAS A GIVEN. SOMETIMES, THE WRONG ROADS LED TO THE RIGHT PLACES.

 

THE ROADS WOULD OFTEN BE LONG AND STRAIGHT…

 

EVENTUALLY, THE CAPITAL, DELHI, BECKONED…

 

CROSSING KURUKSHETRA, THE LAND OF THE MAHABHARATA*.

*Mahabaratha - The Great Indian Epic that talks about the family feud between the Kauravas and the Pandavas, of the Kuru Dynasty in ancient India. It is one of the greatest epics of the world.

 

A HOT DUSTY RIDE LATER, I ARRIVE AT THE INDIA-PAKISTAN BORDER.

 

THE SUN SETS OVER WAGAH BORDER, AMRITSAR.

 

THE GOLDEN TEMPLE AT AMRITSAR, THE HOLIEST OF THE HOLY PLACES FOR THE SIKHS.

 

NON-EXISTENT NATIONAL HIGHWAYS MEANT I HAD TO TAKE THE FUN ROUTE. THE CURVES WERE FAST AND MUCH WELCOME.

 

AT 6,640 FT, PATNITOP HAD A CHILL IN THE AIR. THE ROADS WERE FAST AND TWISTY.

 

FAST ROADS AND FABULOUS VIEWS…

 

… SUCH AS THE RIVER CHENAB WINDING ITS WAY ACROSS THE VALLEY…

 

JAWAHAR TUNNEL EN ROUTE TO SRINAGAR. A TRAFFIC JAM HAD US STUCK FOR NEARLY 30 MINUTES. NOT FOR THE CLAUSTROPHOBIC!


At this point, I had completed nearly 3500km and was another 1000km away from the Ladakh region of India. I wanted to get here and then explore the high mountains and the deserts of Ladakh. I will post part 2 soon. Have fun and cheers! :)


Sort:  

Thank you for all the upvotes guys! Hope to see you back for Part 2 soon! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69771.68
ETH 3782.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.46