Around India on my motorcycle - Part 3 - Kargil, Drass, Great mountains and High Passes!

in #travel7 years ago

From the remotest parts to India to the least populated places, great mountains and blue lakes, I saw them all. This adventure instilled in me a sense of hope, a feeling of courage and confidence and an urge to live a life of experiences, meaning and selflessness. These are ideals and values that I carry to this day. I hope they never change.

Cover.jpg

This roadtrip has been the biggest that I've done so far, and also the longest. I covered 8008km in 30 days. I did this solo. Little did I know back then, but this adventure has been the defining experience of my life. It taught me a lot, from the nuances of travelling, feeling comfortable with strangers, and being on my own. I came to appreciate the small essentials of daily life that we would otherwise take for granted in the city. Things like stopping for a while and simply taking in the view became moments that I looked forward to. This adventure showed me how stunning nature can be, and how unpredictable a journey would be.


In case you want to check out the previous parts, check them out from the links at the end of this story. Don't believe the silly thing in the name that I got bored and went around the country. I planned, prepared and then went around the country on my motorcycle! ;)


And part 3, here we go!

One of the biggest Tricolours in India, at the Kargil War Memorial in Drass, Ladakh.

1.jpg

The Kargil War Memorial at Drass is dedicated to the fallen soldiers of the Kargil War between India and Pakistan in the 1970s.

2.jpg

My first Ladakh sunset was fast approaching...

3.jpg


I forgot my hydration backpack at the war memorial, and realized it only after I had left half way to the town of Kargil. I doubled back, got my backpack and started towards Kargil again. The ride was a harrowing experience. The last few kilometers to Kargil were completely unpaved. There were plenty of 'oh shit!' moments, but I reached Kargil without any mishap.

Getting a room at the only open hotel in the town, after a meal of dry rice and some quick snacks at the only open restaurant in town, it was time to rest after a weary, long ride.


I left Kargil in the early morning. The air was cool, fresh and inviting.

4.jpg

Mulbek was the first stop of the morning. Breakfast at a small restaurant here was surprisingly good, with omlettes, toast, and jam.

5.jpg

The bike was constantly feeling the effects of reduced oxygen. I had to constantly tune the carburetor to keep the bike from struggling.

6.jpg

The ascent on the mountain roads that lead to Leh finally started. Looking back, they provided some of the best views that day.

7.jpg

Sums up my life and my Footloose soul...

8.jpg

Fabulous views all around kept me in good spirits and a happy mood!

9.jpg

FatuLa top, at 13,473 feet is the highest point on the Srinagar-Leh road. The wind blew fast and furious here.

10.jpg


FatuLa top offered some glorious views of the never ending mountains that are a feature of the Ladakh region. On that early morning, the pass was empty and there was no one to break the solitude. I loved every minute that I spent on top. It was only the cold and furious wind that blew at that altitude made me want to leave as soon as I could. Yet, I lingered on, before finally deciding to leave.


Prayer flags fluttered noisily in the wind. These are found throughout the region, sometimes blowing gently, sometimes raging.

11.jpg

A final look back of the view from FatuLa. Time to descend down the pass...

12.jpg

The town of Lamayuru at the base of FatuLa. The famous Lamayuru monastery can be seen in the backdrop of the town.

13.jpg

The longest, most beautiful road that I have ever seen.

14.jpg

Like an emerald in the rocks, like diamonds in the sky...

15.jpg

Arriving somewhere, but not here...

16.jpg


The town of Leh was my next stop. Not too far now, only a few tens of kilometers to go.

If you liked this story, please upvote and comment. If you enjoy stories like this and want to read more, please follow me @thebatmanbiker (funny name, I know). I blog about travel, my travel stories, life and my experiences, art and illustration.

You can read more stories from my blog via the links below. Thanks for reading this one and cheers! :)

Around India on a Motorcycle - Part 1

Around India on a Motorcycle - Part 2

The high mountain passes of Ladakh in Images

The Ghost Town of Kudremukh in Images

Sort:  

Hi @thebatmanbiker! We enjoyed your post so much. It's such a great adventure to travel solo, with only one loyal friend - your steel horse ! Looking forward to read more of your posts and obviously, you've got yourself a follower. Good luck and keep growing. @extremeromance

Hi @extremeromance, thanks for the follow and comment.

Indeed, it is a whole different thing when you travel solo. You are more alert, more open to new people and to new experiences. Thanks for the comments and, yes, there will be more posts! Cheers! :)

Nice trip, My biggest dream is to travel around USA in motorcycle and the hydration backpack ? how you left it haha love your touring spirit. Do you travel with more motorized? Looking forward to visit India. BTW nice pictures!

I just forgot my hydration backpack... realized it after a couple of kilometers and went back. Yes, I travel a lot on my bike. You can check out some other posts in my blog on Steemit. Thanks for comments, and see you in India someday! Cheers! :)

I'm your Fan haha, hope do what you do soon.

Stunning photographs.Upvoted.
U can do same.

Thanks for the upvote!

Good enjoy the travel and beautifull place..

As always! :) Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59715.05
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42