Photo Short #24 - The View From Tiger Cave Mountain In Krabi, Thailand

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

I took today’s Photo Short from the top of the mountain at Tiger Cave Temple (Wat Tham Suea) near Krabi in Thailand. There’s a saying amongst photographers that, ‘bad weather makes good photos,’ and that certainly proved true on this day.

Thailand-2006-42-Pano-Edit-2.jpg

LocationTiger Cave Temple, Krabi, Thailand
CameraNikon D70
LensNikkor 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5 G
Settings18mm | ISO200 | 1/125 sec | f/9
Post ProcessingAdobe Lightroom And Photoshop | Nik Collection

I reached the temple on a motorbike I'd hired from my guesthouse.

If you want to make the journey yourself. Head north out of town and turn right on the main No.4 highway heading towards the airport. Turn left before you get to the Big C hypermarket onto a smaller road that leads to the temple. It is signposted as I recall.

The temple complex is at the base of a mountain with a large golden sitting Buddha statue at the summit. It’s a gruelling climb up 1237 steps to reach the top, where you’ll be rewarded with not only the Buddha statue, but also a spectacular view of a karst landscape.

Unfortunately, on the day I visited it was pouring with rain. That kind of heavy tropical rain that starts suddenly and can turn day into night. At the halfway point it was coming down so hard I thought about giving up. But, I couldn’t bring myself to quit. I’d come this far, and even if there would be no chance of removing my camera from the plastic bag I had it wrapped up in, I was determined to push on and reach the top.

My persistence paid off. As I reached the summit, the rain stopped as suddenly as it has started. The sun quickly burned its way through the clouds, and all the water that had poured into the surrounding forest began to evaporate. A layer of mist floated up around the karst mountains to create this dramatic rainforest landscape view.

  • Putting your camera in a plastic bag is a pretty good travel tip. I always carry one in my camera bag if I'm anywhere that's prone to heavy rain. It's a crude way of waterproofing, but it's never failed me yet.


Snap Travel

All content I post is my own original work. ©tbradford

If you like this post, follow me on Steemit @snaptravel

To contact me, or see more of my work. Find me at

SnapTravel | Instagram | iStock | Getty Images | YouTube


My Recent Posts

Photo Shorts (One Photo, -500 Words)

A Cat Amongst The Fishes

A Cat Amongst The Fishes

Phuket Vegetarian Festival

Phuket Vegetarian Festival

Budget Macro Photography

Budget Macro Photography

Travel Guides (Multiple Photos, 1000+ Words)

Temples Of The Sun And The Moon

Temples Of The Sun And The Moon

Swimming With Sea Turtles

Nadando Con Tortugas En Perú [ES]

Lake Paron In Peru

Lake Paron In The Peruvian Andes

Sort:  

nice photo ! I love to see mountains covered in clouds :)

really nice shot man ;) I love it

birdartpeque.gif

Cheers, glad you liked it.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #landscapephotography

You have earned 5.85 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.17
Server time: 21:56:42
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 390.17/400.00
Total Photos: 23
Total comments: 2
Total contest wins: 6
And have also received a 0.60 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=snaptravel
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=photo-short-24-the-view-from-tiger-cave-mountain-in-krabi-thailand


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57864.53
ETH 2454.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34