Photo Short #18 - Panning Photo Of Busy Traffic In Bangkok, Thailand

in #travel7 years ago

I took today's Photo Short in Bangkok, Thailand. I was standing on the first few steps of a footbridge over Rama IV Road in the Khlong Toei area. The sun was setting, and it was that twilight time in the city that's so good for street photography; The half-hour or so that’s dark enough for all the lights to come on, but not completely dark.

_DSC8203-Edit.jpg

LocationBangkok, Thailand
CameraNikon D300
LensNikkor 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6
Settings18mm | ISO100 | 1/3 sec | f/10
Post ProcessingAdobe Lightroom And Photoshop | Nik Collection

I wanted a panning blurred effect in this photo, so I set my exposure to make sure I had a slow shutter speed of one-third of a second. I began taking photos, picking out one particular vehicle and trying to follow it with my camera as I pressed the shutter button.

This is a hit and miss style of shooting, it’s difficult to get sharp focus on anything using this technique. For this shot I was trying to follow the motorbike and even though I missed the focus, there’s still something about this photo I like. It captured the moment and always reminds me what it was like to be there in this hectic city.


Snap Travel

All of the content I post on Steemit is my own original work. ©

If you like this post and want to see more, follow me on Steemit @snaptravel

Also find me at SnapTravel | Instagram | YouTube


My Recent Posts

Photo Shorts (One Photo, -500 Words)

Long Exposure Photography In London
Street Photography In Cheltenham
Long-Tailed Butterfly

Travel Guides (Multiple Photos, 1000+ Words)

Temples Of The Sun And The Moon
Swimming With Sea Turtles In Peru
Lake Paron In The Peruvian Andes

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=snaptravel
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=photo-short-18-panning-photo-of-busy-traffic-in-bangkok-thailand


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Nice long (brief) exposure shot. I think the negative space around the bike is what draws and hold your attention so well.

Thank you. If only it had been slightly farther back and in focus it would have been perfect. Oh well, maybe next time.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #vehiclephotography

You have earned 5.55 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.11
Server time: 23:22:37
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 297.67/400.00
Total Photos: 17
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 5
And have also received a 0.60 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62706.80
ETH 2439.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66