Photo Short: Macro Photo Of A Brown Long Tailed Butterfly

I took today’s Photo Short of a Brown Long Tailed Butterfly in Trujillo, Peru. This amazing little creature came and sat on my window for about twenty minutes. I was astonished when I saw it, I’ve never seen one before or since. It was fairly big, about 5cm (2 inches) long including the tail.

As soon as I saw it I wanted to take a photo and rushed to get my camera. I don’t own a macro lens, but I do own a Fujifilm X100S. A camera with a closest focus of 10cm (3.9 inches).

I had to lean out of the window to take the shot and focusing at such a close distance, whilst dangling out a window, was difficult. I’ve observed before that the X100S is quite soft when wide open at f/2. So I set the aperture to f/5.6 to give me a slightly bigger depth of field, and a better chance of getting focus. Luckily, the light was bright, so I could do this whilst keeping a low ISO of 200 and a fast shutter speed of 1/100.

I took many photos, being careful not to disturb the butterfly, and I think this one turned out the best. I like the reflection in the glass. I processed the photo in Lightroom, photoshop and Niks Collection, and rotated it to a horizontal aspect.

_DSF3317-2-Edit.jpg

LocationTrujillo, Peru
CameraFujifilm X100S
LensFixed 23mm f/2
Settings23mm | ISO200 | 1/100 sec | f/5.6
Post ProcessingAdobe Lightroom and Photoshop | Niks Collection

alt text
All content I post on Steemit is my own original work. ©


I post a Photo Short like this one daily. Plus, long form travel guides and stories several times a week. If that sounds like your cup of tea, follow me on Steemit @snaptravel


Also find me @

SnapTravel.co.uk
Instagram
YouTube

My recent travel and photography posts on Steemit

Swimming With Turtles
Motorcycle In Vietnam
Bangkok Underground
Thank you for visiting my blog.

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #macrophotography

You have earned 5.40 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.08
Server time: 18:28:50
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 155.22/200.00
Total Photos: 13
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 0.30 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

You got a 4.00% upvote from @nado.bot courtesy of @snaptravel!

Send at least 0.1 SBD to participate in bid and get upvote of 0%-100% with full voting power.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85