Amateur Adventures #35: Turkey Tripping - The magical landscape of CappadociasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago


capp1.jpg

Hello all my Steemian friends.

Today we are still tripping around Turkey and being inspired by the beautiful natural landscapes of yesterdays post on the terrace pools of Pumakkale, thought I'd share another top 3 from my travels.. also amazing landscapes!


capp11.jpg

This time we are heading further inland (even though I'm a beach girl). I hope you enjoy the amazing (and sometimes very interestingly shaped) landscape of Cappadocia


Header-large.png


Cappadocia, is without a doubt a highlight of any trip to Turkey. It has some of the most amazing landscapes you will see on earth - and I've been lucky enough to see some pretty amazing places.


capp2.jpg

The landscape is dreamlike, dotted with the famous "Fairy Chimneys". These were formed over four million years ago when volcanic eruptions rained ash across central Anatolia.


capp3.jpg

The ash hardened into what is know as tuff, a hard porous rock, then layered with basalt. After millions of years of erosion the tuff wore down - leaving tall pillars with mushroom-shaped caps over the top. And thus creating the magical fairy chimneys.


cappodocia.jpg

Throughout history these rock formations were excavated as the locals built churches and homes in the chimneys. They expanded these into vast underground cities like that of Kaymakli and Derinkuyu.


capp5.jpg

The best way to see the natural wonders of Cappadocia is to do a couple of hikes through the valleys. There are a quite few, but we hiked Love Valley and Red Valley.


capp6.jpg

Love Valley is an interesting one - with some very interesting rock formations... I suppose you could say aptly named :) You can make you own mind up!


capp4.jpg

There are surprises around every corner - a winery, a shop selling snacks in the form of dried fruit and nuts. Tunnels through the rocks. You can easily spend a day hiking in the many valleys that surround Goreme.


capp8.jpg

Goreme is probably the best place to base yourself if you want to be in the thick of things. There are lots of funky cafes - which do a pretty mean cappuccino as well, bars and restaurants as well if you are hanging around for a few days - which I recommend.


capp10.jpg

Hubby also got what he thought ( and still does to this day) the best hair cut ever! - 5 dollars - 30 min head massage, shave, haircut. He probably ruined it for the rest of the tourists by giving them a $15 tip though! He still misses that barber!


capp7.jpg

Getting to Cappadocia is fairly easy - either fly - or if you are up for it there is an overnight bus trip from Istanbul - which is the cheapest option - but its a long one - 10-12 hours unless you break down on the side of the road for an extra four or five! Turkish buses do have some limited form of wifi though so all is not lost (back in 2012 and coming from Australia this was quite novel for us believe it or not!)

Hope you enjoyed this look at more of Turkeys natural wonders,

The the next adventure

Steem on with Love and Light

DQmRMTVvkdX9GG2Ghi1ozbe23piSWbX4ZpjshFnCEkYHXBq.gif


If you enjoyed this post don't forget to UPVOTE and Hit that FOLLOW Button!

Let's All Share the Steemit Love!


DQmbD9Et8EtYXcMBhuxJQM1fZe4UmEHShUVCWXkLZtVF6Zi_1680x8400.png

Don't forget to come check out the teamaustralia tag and see what exciting things we are all up to in the land of Oz! It's full of Aussies and Aussie-lovers with great stories from when we are at home or loose in the world!

Thanks to @bearone for creating my beautiful teamaustralia banner which I love sooooo much! Don't forget to check out her posts and show her some love as well.

If you are a newbie and looking for help - or you just want to help support the minnows and grow this wonderful platform of ours - please consider checking out minnowsupportproject. This is a fantastic initiative to help everyone grow together and is full of fantastic advice for anyone starting out. You can find out more about it here.

https://steemit.com/minnowsupportproject/@minnowsupport/minnow-support-project-problem-statement-vision-statement-mission-statement-and-plan-to-help-you-grow-from-minnow-to-whale-with


DQmRSmRyg4MdRdiKsWTMbfyiAG673K1yP65MoUTbCXGp9Xi.gif

(Logo and Banner Created By @justcallmemyth - another great Steemian you should check out and support)

Source:

  1. Photos are the work of the author except where credited otherwise
  2. This is original Content and can also be found at my Travel Blog The Amateur Adventurer
  3. You can check out some of my other posts here:
Sort:  

Awesome adventure. Turkey is on our bucket list, but my wife won't go there given the current issues. So I enjoyed it vicariously through your photos. Amazing. Did you get to go inside the underground city at all? I think we may shoot for Morocco next year.

I am adding you to my short follow list. I love to travel and you have done some nice trips. Cappadocia and Ephesus are both places I would like to visit for the Christian history.

thanks so much @coldsteem Yes I believe there are a lot more extreme elements than when we went.. sad because I would love to go back but that whole part of the world does scare me right now!

There is a LOT of christian history particularly in Ephesus. I just really hope all that history regardless of it's background is preserved for others to see.

We did get into the underground city but I cannot find my photos at this point.. we were away for 6 months and I took over 50, 000 photos and some seem to have gone missing in action! hopefully I will come across them and be able to post.

Morocco is definitely worth seeing and I think still pretty . I have a number of posts I did a month or so ago on Morocco if you want any info :)

We've been very lucky with our opportunity to travel for which I am very grateful.

Following you now as well.. look forward to seeing when you go to Morocco :)

This looks like a very cool place Shelly.

That dick rock though... 😭

I know.. I have a photo of Scott looking like hes holding one.. but I'm not allowed to show it to anyone lol

I loved your post and can't wait to see more of your travel adventures. I've never been to Turkey, but I'd love to visit.

Please consider following me and checking out my posts.

Cheers,
Mike Bryant (AKA: Rebele93)
https://steemit.com/@rebele93

Thanks.. Turkey is definitely worth visiting. Following back - I want to get to Yellowstone - maybe next time when I'm in the US.. but I'm only ever there fore work.. bit over visiting vegas lol want to get out and see the rest!

The more pics of nature I see, the more I feel I ought to stop travelling just for cities haha. Nice pics!

haha yes some great things out in nature.. but great cities as well.

Need a balance! For me, I'd love a day out in nature, but... I am not going to take a 5-hour bus ride or something just for it haha.

Cool rock formations! Mother nature sure know how to rock it!

Sure does.. thanks for stopping by :)

very good photography

Excellent writing and photography!

thanks so much.. glad you enjoyed:)

Amazing photos, the trip looks wonderful @shellyduncan. Thanks for sharing your adventure.

Hi Shelly 😊 Amazing pictures and what a great place to visit 😆 a few surprises with the rocks, looks funny.. Lol
Amazing environment and I love the colors.
Thank you for sharing, must have been a great trip. Have a wonderful weekend. Cheers 🤗

It really was amazing. We've been so lucky and grateful for being able to have our travel experiences!

Hope your weekend is great and you get your desired balance of fun, family and chill time, whatever that may be :)

That's really amazing that you got to experience that trip and make some remarkable memories 😆
Have a bright and blessing Sunday and I will see you around. Cheers ❤️

Shelly thank you very much for sharing your adventures with us and voting for me as a witness at https://steemit.com/~witnesses today!

Oh wow - thanks for dropping past my post :) I feel like I am celebrity spotting lol... Just getting into the whole crypto thing and I'm finding your info and perspective on that and life in general very helpful and good discussion points so more than happy to show my support

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61451.56
ETH 3442.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51