Fathers Day in Australia : Focus on the Dad's not the politics

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Hello lovely Steemians

Today, in Australia, is Father's day. A day we celebrate all the Dad's and what they mean to us, all the things they've done, they've given up, they've taught us.

It's interesting times in Australia, with a plebiscite coming up on gay marriage - and no this isn't a post about the wrongs, rights or any ones opinion on that and I am not even going to voice my own. Each's person's in Australia has a right to their own views and to RESPECTFULLY voice them. (Yes I highlighted RESPECTFULLY)

Yesterday a Father's day ad by a not for profit was pulled from the air, because all the images showed heterosexual families and it was deemed to be a possible political statement. In fact I never really noticed until that was pointed out.. I it was just a really nice ad about appreciating our fathers.

So what I ask is can we focus on what today is really about. Its about the DADS.

Remember Fathers come in all sizes, they may or may not be your real father, they may be a father figure, they may be an relative or grandparent filling that role

Let's take time to share and enjoy memories of times with our fathers. If you leave a comment, make it about your best memory with your father, or why you love him.

Memories of my Father

I was lucky enough to be adopted into my family. I was the baby that was chosen :)

I was always Dad's little girl and from as early as I could remember I went to work and helped him on building sites - OH&S were not a thing back then and a toddler running around a construction site didn't seem to phase anyone.


Mum and Dad's wedding day
dad3.JPG

We'd take long car trips down to see my grandparents in NSW. I had no idea it didn't take 4 days to drive from Brisbane to Sydney till I was in my 20's.


dad4.JPG

I used to love going to the football with him to watch the rugby league games. Sitting on the hill cheering on his beloved Redcliffe Dolphins. I never forget the look on his face when at 16 I announced I preferred Australian rules..and could we possibly watch that instead?

These days my dad is in permanent care with dementia and he's 1000 km away. I miss picking up the phone and telling him everything we've been up to, every now and then I still go to call.


our family
dad2.jpg

I can't be with my Dad today but I was lucky enough to visit a couple of weeks ago for his 80th Birthday. Sometimes visiting is hard, but this day we had lots of family around, lots of photos and he laughed and cried and was happy - so it was a good day.


Me, My sisters and my Dad
dad1.jpg

That's what I want for my dad now.. Good days.

So even though I can't be there Dad will be in my thoughts more than usual.

Sadly I don't currently have easy access to a lot of photos with me and my dad - but that's a project in the works - (thank goodness for the advent of digital!)

Today I will be celebrating Father's day with my husband father and his family and by showing appreciation for all the wonderful things he does for me while my father is absent.

That's how we respect and honour our father's today.

Put everything else aside and make it about them.

Thanks for Reading

Steem on with Love and Light

DQmRMTVvkdX9GG2Ghi1ozbe23piSWbX4ZpjshFnCEkYHXBq.gif


If you enjoyed this post don't forget to UPVOTE and Hit that FOLLOW Button!

Let's All Share the Steemit Love!


DQmbD9Et8EtYXcMBhuxJQM1fZe4UmEHShUVCWXkLZtVF6Zi_1680x8400.png

Don't forget to come check out the teamaustralia tag and see what exciting things we are all up to in the land of Oz! It's full of Aussies and Aussie-lovers with great stories from when we are at home or loose in the world!

Thanks to @bearone for creating my beautiful teamaustralia banner which I love sooooo much! Don't forget to check out her posts and show her some love as well.

If you are a newbie and looking for help - or you just want to help support the minnows and grow this wonderful platform of ours - please consider checking out minnowsupportproject. This is a fantastic initiative to help everyone grow together and is full of fantastic advice for anyone starting out. You can find out more about it here.

https://steemit.com/minnowsupportproject/@minnowsupport/minnow-support-project-problem-statement-vision-statement-mission-statement-and-plan-to-help-you-grow-from-minnow-to-whale-with


DQmRSmRyg4MdRdiKsWTMbfyiAG673K1yP65MoUTbCXGp9Xi.gif

(Logo and Banner Created By @justcallmemyth - another great Steemian you should check out and support)

Source:

  1. Photos are the work of the author except where credited otherwise
  2. This is original Content
  3. You can check out some of my other posts here:
Sort:  

My first fathers day as a dad. Fathers Day has been tough for the last 25 years after losing my dad, so this one I was able to be happy about. I had some time tonight as I was putting my daughter to sleep to reflect on my dad and on the type of dad I want to be for my daughter.

So glad you were able to build some great memories this fathers day

Hi Shelly, What a great post. Only just got to read it and I hope you had a great day. Mums and Dads or Dads and Dads, it's all the same to me. Love and be loved is the most important thing.

So true scooter. It was great to see that wasnt forgotton yesterday. We had a great day and hosted a bbq for my father in law anf great to see all the sons kicking the footy round with the kids and having a fun family day. Hope yours was filled with love.

Very nice, Shelly. Full upvote! You have a great day there.

Thanks mate we did and i hope you as well

I'm a proud, Aussie Father of 3. I think we need a truce today.
No politics, just family :)
(you might want to edit your sentence about 'picking' up the phone ;)

thanks Matt - good to see people did read it... hubby reckons he did... I'll have to find a new proofreader.
Yes.. its all about family! just family! :)
I hope you have a wonderful day!

My wife did the same thing, just married a guy based on his looks :)

Hi Shelly thanks for the post. These are interesting times when an advertisement is deemed unfit to run if it is not diverse enough. Great that you have a quality relationship with your father. I have no relationship with mine but very much admire my best friend's parents and enjoy a long history of good memories with them. An unconventional arrangement but one necessary to uphold my personal values. Thanks for your post!

thanks mate - at the end of the day it's about getting those values isn't it. Because of Dad's dementia, the relationship is different but my Father in law, friends of the family all play that role now. Have a great day :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58665.29
ETH 2302.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51