You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Day in Paradise, er, I mean DANGEROUS MEXICO

in #travel7 years ago

Ha...I, for one, appreciate the sarcasm!

I'd spent some time in Baja in the mid- to late-90s. Fell in love with it then, and the people--outside the tourist areas (which is all I know thus far) are amazing, and for the most part, friendly. Of course...there's a story from the friend (American, married to a Mexican--was before Americans( I stayed with down there was a missionary coordinator, and worked a lot with orphanages and in prisons. He said one day while in one of the prisons he got called in to speak with one of the main Mexican Mafia guys, who at the time ran the prison. The guy told him he'd heard of the work he'd been doing, and promised him protection because of it..).

I know the area got hit hard in the early 2000s as the druglords moved in, and the area wasn't safe for a while. But was down there a couple years ago, and it's back to how it was in the 90s and a bit better in terms of economic growth and housing. I sure had missed it.

--S.


My recent posts:
Evanna’s Story, Part 1

Evanna’s Story, Part 2

Why I've Committed to Steemit...

Upcoming New Podcast: Go Rogue!

Crypto-currency and Government Control…

Sort:  

You have amazing creativity and great ability to see laughter in danger.
Hell ain't that bad afterall!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63788.86
ETH 2476.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66