SCOTLAND: ROAD TRIP PARADISE // Travel PhotographysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Views on Scotland's Highlands, lakes and coast

DSC04544.jpg
Isle of Skye's impressive coastline

Scotland is truly a road trip paradise. I've said it before and I'll say it again. It's just green everywhere and a small village every once in a while. Even though I'm not used to driving on the left side, it was still amazingly relaxing. Scotland has main roads that don't cross for many kilometers, so it's okay to let your mind wander a bit.
Another nice thing about road tripping through Scotland is that Scotland has a lot of sections of land that are separated from each other by large inlets of ocean water, basically small peninsulas. When you're following the coastline, at the end of the day, you're basically returning to where you came from. So if you've been driving for hours, you're probably still not that far. This is great if you want to stay in a hotel instead of camping.

DSC04467.JPG
Scotland is famous for its lakes. With views like this, I totally understand.

DSC04480.jpg

DSC04466.JPG
Beautiful mixed forests with mountains in the background.

DSC04471.jpg

DSC04564.jpgDSC04655.jpg

DSC04562.jpg
Sheep are everywhere! Most of them you'll find on grass fields but I've encountered some just wandering on the road.

The waterfall at Loch Mealt aka the Mealt Falls, a popular tourist destination, located on the Isle of Skye. A 55-meter waterfall over the cliffs of Kilt Rock. A thirty-minute break from driving will suffice, ideal for a quick snack. It's definitely worth visiting. Although I might have enjoyed the overall view more than the waterfall itself. Again a great example of Scotland's spectacular coastline.

DSC04535.jpgDSC04527.jpg
On the left the waterfall, and on the right the view when you simply turn your head. Both very impressive.

DSC04540.jpg
The background of Loch Mealt. Again nothing but grasses...

DSC04518.jpg
...and mountains.

On to another great and popular destination, the Fairy Pools, also located on the Isle of Skye. Named because the water of the River Brittle creates small pools on the way down to the foot of the Black Cuillins mountains, near Glenbrittle. You can take a dip in the water, but knowing Scotland's weather, you might just dip your feet. I was there in July, but don't count on warm temperatures; I prefered to skip on the dip. It's a really fun walk alongside the river with photogenic views. You should spend half a day there. I came in a little late, so unfortunately, I could get to the top before dark.

DSC04605.jpg
It requires an adventurous, but easy walk, hopping from stone to stone, to reach the top.

DSC04621.jpg
Getting there too late was unfortunate, but the sunset did create great lighting for taking photos.

DSC04606.jpg
The Fairy Pools are surrounded by surprise, surprise... mountains.

DSC04610.JPG



Thanks for reading my post. Hope you enjoyed it. Let me know what you think!
I will write another post about my trip to Scotland, which will cover the architecture and cities. So click on Follow to get updates on upcoming posts ;)

======================================

If you liked this post, check out some of my other travel posts here:

THAILAND
THE GRAND PALACE pt2 // Travel Photography
THE GRAND PALACE // Travel Photography
RAILAY GREAT VIEW RESORT // My breathtaking stay in Krabi
PENINSULA OF RAILAY // Visiting tropical Railay in Krabi

MOROCCO
THE ATLAS MOUNTAINS // Visiting the mountain village of Imlil
BEN YOUSSEF MADRASA // Travel Photography

See you next time and keep steeming! :)



All photos were taken by me.
SONY DSC-H300
To see large-sized photos, visit my portfolio on
Dreamstime

Shutterstock
Bigstock
DepositPhotos

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=ryanne
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=scotland-road-trip-paradise-travel-photography


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Hey hey, this is seriously a beautiful post! I see you're also a fellow Belgian like myself, haha!

I have added your post as a Honorable Mention on the Daily Travel Digest!

Seeing as you're still a fairly small user I also wanted to help you out some by nominating you for OCD.

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Incredible photos @ryanne, keep up the great work! I absolutely adore scotland and next time I'm over there I definitely intend to visit the isle of skye, you are very lucky! Followed for more.

Thanks! Yeah, it's a beautiful place. I wish I could have seen more, but I guess that's always the case :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62900.39
ETH 3357.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47