THAILAND: THE GRAND PALACE pt. 2 // Travel PhotographysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

A look at the photogenic Grand Palace in Bangkok (pt 2)

DSC00609.JPG
the magnificent architecture as seen from afar

I finally found some time to write part two of the Grand Palace of Bangkok. Check out part one to see more photos of this architectural wonder. In this piece, I want to show some detail shots. The grandeur of the palace is undeniable, but when you look closer you'll be even more amazed by the details on the walls and sculptures. The abundant use of gold, beautiful emerald colors and mosaic masterwork really blows your mind.

DSC00675.JPG
Everywhere on the site, you'll encounter demonic looking statues which serve as protectors. I particularly liked this one in the front; it reminds me of images of Tibetan gods.

DSC00657.JPG
Once you're inside the courtyard, you don't really realize anymore that you're in an enormous city. You're surrounded by stupas that drown out the bustling life of the city. On the right, you can see the Phra Mondop library.

DSC00645.JPG
I wish I took a more detailed shot of the golden Phra Si Rattana Chedi. But you can still see that this stupa is completely covered with gold mosaic. It's incredible.

DSC00641.JPGDSC00631.JPG
Absolutely everything is manufactured with great detail. From the smallest statues, like this demon on the left, to the highest peaks of the stupas.

DSC00644.JPG
This detail shot of the Phra Mondop library may be my favorite close-up. The many, many golden figurines of garudas against the beautiful emerald background is just a spot-on combination. You can see an entire wall like this in the third photo of this post.

DSC00648.JPG
If you look a little up, you can see that even the rooftops are colorfully decorated. I still don't know what these creatures are supposed to be, so if somebody knows, please let me know!

DSC00655.JPG
A pretty common photograph these days. But you can agree that this row of statues is highly photogenic. These garuda statues can be found all around the Emerald Buddha Chapel.

DSC00627.JPG
Maybe a little underrated and overlooked because your eyes might tend towards the greatness of the previously mentioned art and decoration. This artwork belongs to a gallery which goes all around the courtyard and shows the Ramakien epic on 178 panels.

DSC00676.JPG



I hope you enjoyed reading my post. I'd love to hear your comments and tips. This is a great community and I hope to find more travel-minded people here!

======================================

If you liked this post, check out some of my other travel posts here:

THAILAND
THE GRAND PALACE pt. 1 // Travel Photography
RAILAY GREAT VIEW RESORT // My breathtaking stay in Krabi
PENINSULA OF RAILAY // Visiting tropical Railay in Krabi

MOROCCO
THE ATLAS MOUNTAINS // Visiting the mountain village of Imlil
BEN YOUSSEF MADRASA // Travel Photography

See you next time and keep steeming! :)



All photos were taken by me.
SONY DSC-H300
To see large-sized photos, visit my portfolio on
Dreamstime

Shutterstock
Bigstock
DepositPhotos

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=ryanne
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=thailand-the-grand-palace-pt-2-travel-photography


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

So beautiful pics!

Oh thanks! :)

Nice photos :) I've spent over 5 years in Thailand and still never been there LOL

Thanks! Oh how cool :) I wish I could do that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 70992.50
ETH 3860.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52