I've Found the Perfect Home for Steemit Witness @liondani!

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Yesterday, my friend @alinak15, born and raised in this area,

took me for a tour of some local sights not far from Loutraki where I live.

Lo and behold, during this odyssey

we stumbled upon the perfect house for one of our illustrious steemit witnesses, the incomparable and legendary @liondani! (I recommend all steemians vote for @liondani witness to make steemit great again! https://steemit.com/~witnesses)

Lion2IMG_20180316_1253128-2.jpg
If he moves in we could call it Liondani in the Lion's Den, n'est-ce pas?
(After all, he chose his moniker after the Book of Daniel) https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Daniel_in_the_lions%27_den

black-line-divider-clipart-divider-clip-art-9000_2500.jpg

Leaving Loutraki,

we made a short tour of the adjacent Isthmia area, famous for its major attraction, the Corinth Canal. This I first showed to you, my faithful bots, in a post 11 months ago:
https://steemit.com/steemitphotochallenge/@onceuponatime/steemit-photo-challenge-39-minimalism-ii-rock-and-water

and I again show you here:

CanalIMG_20170422_1733533.jpg

You can also discover the fascinating history of this canal in two @alinak15 posts:
.
Corinth Canal; All the history! Part I https://steemit.com/history/@alinak15/corinth-canal-all-the-history-of-it
.
and
.
Corinth Canal; Part II - Past meets Present!!! https://steemit.com/travelhistory/@alinak15/corinth-canal-part-ii-past-meets-present

black-line-divider-clipart-divider-clip-art-9000_2500.jpg

After Isthmia we decided to drive towards

the spot where Winston Churchill's daughter, Sarah Churchill, kept a home. Alina happened to know about this because it was her (and her brother's, steemian @tkappa) father who built the mansion for Churchill's daughter!!! Back then Sarah Churchill, also known as Lady Audley after she married her first husband, Lord Audley, was dating a young Greek actor called Theodoros Roumbanis. Alina tells me that Lady Audley also used to have a permanent residence in Jamaica, but that she loved it here more after Alina's dad built Sarah's mansion for her!

Sarah Churchill8075c0b0dd5ab119c78ff26f8f30e5b4.jpg
Sarah Churchill (Lady Audley), British actress and dancer (photo credit ixquick.com)

KeepOnDancing51TJSZT1ACL._SX406_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
A candid autobiography by the daughter of Winston Churchill provides an intimate portrait of her father and discusses her dramatic life, marriages, Hollywood career, and personal tragedies (amazon.com)

Unfortunately,

Alina informed me that the house, and much of the surrounding area, was now in the possession of a Russian oligarch who keeps panthers on the grounds to keep "visitors" away! So we decided that we would begrudgingly succumb to hunger and stop for a meal before arriving as far as Sarah's old haunts :-) and then, reluctantly (due to the late hour of course), turn back.

black-line-divider-clipart-divider-clip-art-9000_2500.jpg

Along the way Alina pointed out the spot

where Helen of Troy used to bathe in an ice cold spring! No wonder her skin was beautiful enough to launch a thousand ships! https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Helen_of_Troy
Hey, maybe I should be giving that a try! LOL).

If only some of the stones could speak! They would probably tell us of Helen's beauty and the wars that were fought over her so long ago!

Trip1IMG_20180316_1232025.jpg

Trip1329313585_10204530268734844_4879998410729455616_o-1.jpg
photo courtesy of @alinak15

black-line-divider-clipart-divider-clip-art-9000_2500.jpg

The beaches, cafes, and restaurants

that we were passing by were mostly deserted. We had the road almost to ourselves. But Alina assured me that, beginning after Easter, it would be "standing room only" and that hordes from Athens and around the world would be taking up every available spot!

Trip4IMG_20180316_1222469.jpg

Finally we spotted a restaurant that, although it appeared to be empty,

looked as if it might be open. As it was not too late yet, we pressed on anyway - heading towards what Alina assured me was a little known spot with the very best seafood anywhere!

Some time later we arrived at the place

which, ostensibly, has the world's finest seafood dishes. (Though, if you are not a member of the @alinak15 fan club, you will probably never find it!!!!)

Trip5IMG_20180316_1309534.jpg
That's Alina. I'm a fan club member! The restaurant was closed :(

So, the restaurant was closed,

But it was a delightful place nonetheless.

Trip6IMG_20180316_1309396.jpg

See what I mean?

Trip7IMG_20180316_1308590.jpg

black-line-divider-clipart-divider-clip-art-9000_2500.jpg

Even though I wanted to face the panthers ahead

with nothing but my bare hands :-)
our stomaches were rumbling and it was time to head back towards the one restaurant that had looked like it might be open. Am I glad we did. Soon we were partaking of the world's "second best" seafood anywhere!

Trip8IMG_20180316_1420157.jpg

Unfortunately, although we had the place entirely to ourselves when we first arrived and during the appetizers, a bus load of matrons from Athens arrived - turning the restaurant into a cacophony of chatter and gossip. Oh, my aching ears! (But the food was magnificent!)

Trip9IMG_20180316_1422495.jpg

Trip11IMG_20180316_1420194.jpg

Trip17-29244416_10204530233013951_2701482992655663104_o.jpg
See, I'm promoting steemit everywhere I go! (photo courtesy @alinak15)

black-line-divider-clipart-divider-clip-art-9000_2500.jpg

But wait, I've gotten way off track.

This post is about getting @liondani into a Lion's Den!

Lion4IMG_20180316_1252569-2.jpg

Lion3IMG_20180316_1253040.jpg

Let's make steemit great again!

Don't you think that @liondani should be moving here?

Lion1IMG_20180316_1253199.jpg

black-line-divider-clipart-divider-clip-art-9000_2500.jpg

All photos by @onceuponatime, unless by @twiceuponatime or otherwise attributed
.
.
.

ouzo and out,
@onceuponatime

Sort:  

Wow! What a honor and surprise! You made my day! You gave me a psychological boost very much needed lately!

PS Unfortunately I don't own a house like that... but luckily I can confirm that I have a couple of friends that are billion times more valuable than all houses in existence... ;)

I bought some lottery tickets. If I win, the Lions' Den will be yours :-)

You took wonderfoul pictures and you have perfect ideas @onceuponatime!

What fabulous good taste you have, my lawyer dear :-)

man ... i cant even buy a lottery ticket... :p

i m incredibly poor

You don't need to buy one. People discard them all the time. Just pick one up. Your chance of winning is just EVER SO VERY SLIGHTLY DIMINISHED because the draw has already taken place LOL

I know my stars ... If i buy 10 tickets and discard ... The 9 will be having prizes and the 1 one i choose will be hqving a sorry for me 😝

Best comment I´ve read today

I wish this home for you and the family, you deserve this on so many levels. Such great hearts as yourselves would make of this place a palace for the masses deserving the company and space.

Namaste dear friend! :)

Highly recommended for you. Its will fit you perfectly well. You deserve such a mansion and many more

Love it! I've been through that canal at Corinth. Very impressive looking up from below!

Wow, Stan. First time I've ever thought of you as looking up from below. I assumed that you have always been looking down from 30,000 feet!

Amazing post sir @onceuponatime !!!
Sir Liondani is a fantastic person with incredible
personality !!! He is helping and supporting all the people without condition...!!!
I am very lucky for knowing him and of course his my bigger sponsor here in steemit community...! I want to thank you all and i hope to meet you soon !!!!
With respect,
@mr-phoenix (George, for friends...)

Haha..
The front gate looks like an entry to a Kung Fu dojo and the sculpture of a lion makes it awesome.
This would be perfect for someone named @liondani

Woah!! The place looks beautifully great.. I love nature and with your photos you bring life to it.. thanks for the share @onceuponatime.. with the food I love those and hope to experience eating that next week (mouth watering seafoods), were bound to have a family trips in the island next to our place and their rich in seafood (thats the people's way of living focus in there) and about @liondani as a witness I already did that was week after I did my first post on steemit (by that time honestly I don't know what witnesses stands for, its just my friend who invited me here give some names for witness), with your post sir I can see that @liondani as a witness is best in helping and supporting and is really a good witness, thanks for the information. God bless

oh yeah i love for this guy since like forever ;)

WOW!!!!!
Love the post @onceuponatime!!!!!!

I am so happy you had such a good time! The photos really look Amazing and I will agree with @tkappa, you look happier than ever!! 😀💗 💗

P.S.: I am certain @liondani will love "his" house lol :p

"you look happier than ever!!"

Great food has a way of doing that to me (and great company too!)

Ok, one more of the beautiful shots ;)!!!

29257864_10204530268894848_1592651852783026176_o.jpgk

Is that @twiceuponatime?

I am quite certain ;)!

Charming view.

What a gorgeous landscape (that gave birth to my divine existence lol). What a gorgeous sister I have!!! @onceuponthetime you look better and happier than I've ever seen you. It must be Loutraki's water ;-)

Does Zeus know about your divine existence? Beware the jealousy of the gods!!!

I am sure He's alright with it, as this was my first logo at theo-cracy.com ;-)
papyrus-old-stationeryv.jpg 89.jpg

I just hope, for your sake, that Zeus is kinder to his sons than Cronus then :-)

Chronos220px-Pierre_Mignard_(1610-1695)_-_Time_Clipping_Cupid's_Wings_(1694).jpg

Hahaha, well but you know the end of Kronos according to Greek myth right?

"Zeus cut Cronus's stomach open. After freeing his siblings, Zeus released the Hecatonchires, and the Cyclopes who forged for him his thunderbolts, Poseidon's trident and Hades' helmet of darkness."

Zeus was a BAD husband and a filthy cheater, but he's described as an ideal father. He knew better ;-)

Father knows best :-)

Agreed! ;) It must be the air or the waters... Namaste :)

I hope you're well my friend :))))))

Namaste :)

Thanks a lot @tkappa, I'm very well, though have been working too much and, thus, slowed down my activites on Steemit for a small stretch of time. So much more is to come though. I also hope this message finds you well, easily smiling, taking good care and thriving!

Namaste :)

That's like 500000 upvotes hold my beer

A beer in time saves nine.

That's the once upon a version of the old English saying "A stitch in time saves nine".

The Liondani's Den seems to be a marvel! It would be incredible for him and the family to move into such a place and wish it for them.

The seafoods looked incredible and the tour a total delight. So far, this post must be the best one I have ever read coming from your end: The format, the tone, the subtleties in language and insinuations... I loved it!

Thanks a lot for sharing, keep your radiant smile and taking good care, thrive and namaste :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65306.74
ETH 3488.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51