Corinth Canal; Part II - Past meets Present!!!

in #travelhistory6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steem people 😀!!! 

The ones of you that took the time to read my previous post about Corinth Canal; All the history! Part I and liked it thank you so much  😘 !!!!

I know you are waiting for Part II so without further do, I jump right into it!!! 

As I said in that post, in 1869, the Zaimis Government voted the excavation of the Isthmus of Corinth!

11 years and 2,500 workers needed to complete the project  

The vision of Charilaos Trikoupis was to modernize the country with major infrastructure projects. The first and largest was the opening of the Isthmus.  

Work began on 23 April 1882 by a Hungarian company and stopped after 8 years due to the exhaustion of all funds.  

Subsequently, the completion of the project was undertaken by the banker Andreas Syngrou

Syngros commissioned the work to the construction company of A. Matsa! In total, 2,500 workers and engineers needed to complete this difficult task in 11 years. 

Some AMAZING and RARE photos follow!!!

The whole project though was finished finally by theFRENCH Company that undertook and built the Suez Canal as well!!!!

They build a compound in Isthmia, in Colonial style for their Architects, Cartographers, Designers and Engineers!!! That gave an exotic air but also an aristocratic, classy and modern attitude to the local community of the tiny Greek village!!! 

My Great-great-grandfather was one of those French Engineers along with his son, that was one of the Designers of the French team! 

They were both part of the team that opened the Suez Canal along Alexandre Gustave Eiffel among others 😀!!!

Some of the info I give you in this post, is not available through the net!!! So that's extra kudos for you all!!!

The Corinth Canal was inaugurated on 25 July 1893 by Prime Minister Sotirios Sotiropoulos.  

From the very first moment of its operation to the present day, it is an international hub of maritime transport. It is estimated that each year about 12,000 ships from every corner of the globe cross the Corinth Canal with their merchandise!!!

Curtailing further landslides required retaining walls along the water's edge for half of the canal's length. Between 1893 and 1940 the canal was closed for four years for maintenance.  

In 1923 alone, 41,000m3 of material fell into the canal. It took two years to clear.   

Sabotage 

But the most serious damages came in WWII by the Germans!!! 

In 1944, retreating German forces triggered two explosions that dumped 645,000m3 of earth and rock into the canal to render it useless to the Allies.   

Just to make sure, the also dumped large objects into the canal – a road/railway bridge, 130 rail boxcars, six locomotives – all booby-trapped with mines.  

They also sank the Vesta – a 3,400-ton steamship in the canal.It fell to the US Army Corps of Engineers to clear the canal. 

US President Harry Truman, fearful of a civil war in Greece and the possibility of a communist takeover, asked Congress for $400 million in aid. 
In May 1947 he signed an Interim Aid Bill establishing the American Mission for Aid to Greece (AMAG). The Army Engineers managed to reopen the canal for shallow-draft traffic by July 1948, and for all traffic in September that year.  

Thankfully after a few years, situation escalated and circumstances became much betterl!!

The photo bellow is from my family photo album! 

 

My late uncle and at the back the ship of the newly wed King of Greece Constantinos II and his Queen bride Anne-Marie of Denmark, crossing the canal in 1964!! 

ATTRACTION FOR VARIOUS REASONS!!!

Here I've met for the very first time in my life, people from Japan and Peru, Iceland and New Zealand, South Africa and Korea, Alaska and Argentina!!! And mind you, that was before I even started elementary school!!!!!
 

There is a special kind of beauty this place breathes out! I am sure you agree with me  💗 !!!

I remember ever since I was a little girl, I used to follow my uncle in his daily work routine and I loved it soooo much ❣!!!!
My uncle was one of the 3 Captains of the Canal that were driving the Pilots. So let me describe you one typical day 🤗! 

We were entering our beautiful Pilots, do you  see in the pictures bellow this little blue and white boat? That's what a pilot is!!! Then we were heading towards the boat or boats we would lead across the Canal!!  That's what the Pilots do, lead and guide ALL boats through the Canal  😊 !!! 

The three photos above I took while on my typical "special excursions" to the canal 😉!!!!

So that means if they were waiting for us in the Corinthian Gulf we would cross the canal to go pick them up!

 That is because the headquarters of the Canal are on the White tower I showed you on my previous post about Isthmia and that is situated in the entrance of the Canal in the Saronic Gulf

Then we would cross it one more time until we get them to the Saronic Gulf and the reverse! 

We were doing that in the summer months at least 6 to 9 times per day, during my uncle's shift.
In the winter months, it could be none or maybe once, depending on the weather conditions and traffic of the boats.This way I had entered beautiful and sought-after world known big yachts -more than once sometimes- like:

  • Christina, Aristoteles Onassis boat that was named after his beloved daughter! 
  • Nabila, Adnan Khashoggi’s boat that was also named after his daughter!
  • And of course Kalypso, Jacques Yves Cousteau’s boat!!! I even had the opportunity to see him from close and talk to him, on his way to Milos island once  💗 😚!!!! 

Planet Solar  also crossed the Canal !!!!

Stars, Celebrities, Politicians and of course Royalties among others, have been crossing the Canal and make sure they let us know about it  😜!!! 

Like Kate Moss, Sarah Ferguson and Count Nikolai von Bismarck!! 

EXTREME SPORTS MAGNET

The last couple of decades, Corinth Canal is literally a magnet for sports in general!!! 

Swimming from the one side to the other 


to  SUP Crossing 

Bungee jumping of course, is "in the house"  😉!!!!

Fly through it if you wish, like stunt pilot Peter Besenyei!!!!!!

Others choose to cross it in a different, more….cool way like Robbie Maddison 😉!!!  

And some more photos bellow from my personal album 😉 !!!

Just before dawn, watching the Corinth Canal from the East...

Bellow, in the early morning hours from the West!!!

A Spectacular black and white view of the Corinth Canal!!!

The new trend in Corinth Canal: Bring a lock and place it on the bridge for eternal luck 💗!!!   

And with this detailed personal touch of the lucky lock, I think I just presented to you, my lovely Steem people, THE MOST detailed post contributed to Corinth Canal EVER!!! 😍 

I hope you enjoy reading this, as much as I did writing it  💗  💗  💗 !!!

Until next time and with a view of the Corinth canal right behind me; stay tuned and keep smiling my beautiful people😘 😘 😘 ❤ ❤ ❤ !!!  


Photo Credits:

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26

Sources: 

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Corinth_Canal


Sort:  

I had no idea about all this history - and I live near to it!

A lot of people that are locals have NO IDEA whatsoever about the history of the Canal @onceuponatime!!!

There is a lot of history in these two posts that even if you research, you cannot find written anywhere!

You know the video with the explosion of the canal from the Germans? Those wagons that were thrown in the canal were full of Italian soldiers!!!!
Germans after losing the war, while retreating, considered Italians as τraitors and killed them!

You should write also a post about the ancient canal ( Αρχαία Διόλκος)and the efforts to transfer the ships from Corinthian to the Saronic Gulf. See here:


Keep up the good work!

It's in Part I, among other detailed pieces of historical events that took place before the opening of the canal!!
It's really an amazing read, go check !!
https://steemit.com/history/@alinak15/corinth-canal-all-the-history-of-it
Thank you @vpbokos for reading and liking it 😀!!!

Wow! Thanks for your incredible post! Well done! I have now added the Corinth Canal to my bucket list :)

Thank you @steem-samiam, your compliment honors me!!
Definitely you have to visit and I will take you around or maybe you''ll fly us around😀 !!!!
Many kisses all the way to you 😘 😘 !!!

Καταπληκτική παρουσίαση.
Ούτε τα μισά δεν ήξερα.
Respect στον Robbie Maddison.Αν δεν το έχεις δει από κοντά δεν καταλαβαίνεις πόσο μεγάλο είναι το κενό.

Σε ευχαριστώ πολύ @knowhow92 😀!!!
Ναι τον Robbie Maddison τον είδα και από κοντά, ήταν απλός, ωραίος τύπος!!!

You are right though, only when you are up close you can see how difficult and dangerous his endeavour was!!!
Jumping over the Canal with his bike!!!

Well, this is an impressive post. Congratulations! A captivating presentation about Corinth Canal, about which I knew nothing. I am an admirer of Greece, I look forward to the summer to visit again but I did not know anything about history. Thanks for the help. Your post will be an inspiration to me. I'm still looking for a better form for my posts. Thank you again!

Thank you my dear @bluemoon, it makes me happy to know that my posts inspire people 😀!!!!
Yes there is sooo much history here that I can still add more to it!!
Maybe some more future posts about the specific area!!
Thank you again 😀!!

My pleasure! Your success is impressive and it is normal to learn from those who are successful. I'm waiting for your posts.

I just got the time to read your post and... Wow! Amazing @alinak15! I didn't know you had such rich history as a family! Those pilot-trips sound so exciting. And the history catch-up on the canal was also very good. I kept scrolling down and down to get the one interesting thing after the other. WELL DONE!! :D

Thank you Empress !!! Yes I loved those trips with the Pilots 😀 !!!
Miss them a lot nowdays, thankfully the current Captains at the Canal are people who are acquaintances, so I can still cross it if I want to 😉!!!

My grandmothers mother was the daughter of the Chief Engineer and sister of one of the 2 designers of the team. They both had worked fro many other big scale projects throughout the world including Eiffel tower!
@ruth-girl I tried to give as much info as possible and a lot of photographic material since it's a very picturesque place!
Thank you again for your beautiful comment 😘 😘 !!!

Had no idea about the history of the Corinth canal. The series proved way way more interesting than I expected :)

Thank you @trumpman, I am glad you got more than you expected!!
That is a great compliment for me 😀!!

καλημερα @alinak15 φοβερο ολο το υλικο σου ποσα χρονια μας πηγες παλη πισω και τη ομορφιες μας εδειξες ...εισαι απιστευτη!!!!

Thank you @angekan for your beautiful comment!!!
Αγγελική μου, όποτε θες, σε περιμένω να σε γυρίσω στα μέρη μου 😘 ❤!!!!

καποια στιγμη ισως τα καταφερω σε ευχαριστω!!!αν και εχω ερθει πολλες φορες σιγουρα εσυ εχεις να μου διξεις τις κρυμμενες ομορφιες του τοπου...

Beautiful info by a beautiful goddess. I love the images of when they were first building it!

Yes they are Amazing aren't they? 😀
When you'll be here we'll have such a good time!!!
Sending many kisses to you all the way to Thailand 😘 😘 😘 !!!!

Yes we will have much fun! xoxo

Alina do you use a steem app on your phone?

Εκπληκτικό άρθρο!
Πολύ ωραίες εικόνες ειδικά αυτές οι σπάνιες ιστορικές εικόνες από την κατασκευή.
Πολλά συγχαρητήρια!!!

Ευχαριστώ πολύ @nikoleondas 😀!!!
Ναι προσπάθησα να βρω τις καλύτερες φωτογραφίες από πλευράς ευκρίνειας αλλά συγχρόνως και διαφορετικού ύφους και στυλ για να είναι το αποτέλεσμα εντυπωσιακό!
Σε ευχαριστώ πολύ και πάλι Νίκο και μόλις είδα ότι δεν σε ακολουθούσα, ευχαριστώ και για τα resteem !!!!😀

δεν ηξερα οτι εχουν εξελιχθει τοσα δρωμενα εκει.πραγματικα φοβερο ποστ!αναμενω ομως και δικο σου βιντεο με bungee-jumping!!! :P

Σε ευχαριστώ πολύ @unshakeable 😀!!!
Πιστεύω ότι το δικό μου βίντεο μπορεί να αργήσει λίγο αλλά θα έρθει και αυτό ....αλλά μάλλον paragliding θα είναι 😉!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56787.81
ETH 2507.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24