Exploring Venice - A Look Inside a Glassblowers Workshop

in #travel6 years ago

gb1.jpg

Venice is a really cool city. I visited last year and I guess I had preconceptions about the place. I'm not really in to tourist locations and Venice is probably one of the ultimate tourist destinations in the world. I had images of Disneyland floating around in my mind haha But visiting was a pleasent experience and I was lucky enough to stay in a nice hotel inside the city itself and enjoyed strolling around Venice both in the day and the night.

On a day trip out of the city I took a little trip to the island of Murano to enjoy some of the glassblowing that takes place here. If you're in Venice for more than a few days it's worth taking the boat ride over to this island to see some of the different craftsmen at work and how they make their pieces of art. I'm used to visiting the workshops of Japanese craftsmen so there's definitely a different vibe here as many of the workshops are now just places of entertainment for tourists.

I found a maker before hand who still produces vessels and sells them in his shop, he also produces chandeliers, which is very interesting to see as they are quite complex and require a number of different glass segments to construct. Now that's dedication! I think Murano itself is a beautiful island and is worth getting lost on, but tourism has become the main aspect of the island and has nearly over run it. It's a shame but it's the sign of the times I suppose. I hope you enjoy a few of the photos from inside the craftsman's studio here.


More from my Travels:

Exploring Helsinki - Finlandia Hall by Architect Alvar Aalto
A Selection of Outtakes from Kettle's Yard in Cambridge
Exploring Naoshima - A Visit to the Lee Ufan Museum
Naoshima - Tadao Ando's Concrete Walls
Exploring Osaka - Inside the TRUCK Furniture Showroom
Exploring Tokyo - Hama Rikyu Gardens
Exploring Tokyo - A Visit to Sensoji Temple in Asakusa
Exploring Kyoto - Tenryuji Temple & Grounds


Please follow me @oen for more interesting art, design and travel content.

Sort:  

Great capture! It's always nice to visit local shops and witness how skillfull the craftsmen are. If given a chance, it'd be great to stay longer and learn those skills. I'd love to do that one day!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=oen
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=exploring-venice-a-look-inside-a-glassblowers-workshop


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

So excited to read this.. great Travelling..

Wow just wow that glass maker is amazing, I have been in one of those workshops and the heat is just unbearable.

Yeah! The heat was intense when I got near. He was sweating and I could see why haha

hahah I know its super hot but with beauty there is pain :)

Interesting to read and a nice photo series! Thanks for the insight!

No problem. Glad you liked it.

I never tried this but I saw this before at a studio. This is a wonderful artwork. Your photos are very good too.

Thanks for the comment. It means a lot :)

I thoroughly enjoyed this post, @oen! Great set of pictures! I would love to visit Venice someday. I'm following you now, and will have to take a look at your other travel posts as I have time!

I've upvoted and resteemed this article as one of my daily post promotions for the @mitneb Curation Trail Project. It will be featured in the @mitneb Curation Trail Project Daily Report for 07 MAR 2018.

Cheers!

Hi @mitneb. Wow, thanks so much. Really honoured to be featured :)

So detailed. The craftman ship and skill is amazing hope it gets passed down to future generations

Yeah! I hope so too. It's a shame that a lot of these crafts are dwindling. Hopefully the youth can pick it up again. I'm trying to do my bit! :D

Wow, how cool, I love blown glass. I could never do it as a job as I couldn't stand the heat lol.

Haha yeah, I agree. I couldn't do it for long. I will stick to ceramics for now lol Thanks for your comment

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69508.29
ETH 3366.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74