Exploring Tokyo - Sumida River Walk & Boat Ride

in #travel7 years ago

sumida1.jpg

I had some time to kill in Tokyo and decided to walk along the Sumida river and capture some of the architecture. For part of the journey I was joined by my Japanese teacher, it's always really fun to meet up with her as most of my communication with her is through the video lessons on the computer. Since she lives in the Tsukiji fish market area she guided me to small shrines in the side streets near the river and we also stopped for something to eat at a local restaurant and watched a man craft chopsticks by hand in his small workshop. It was a little random but it was great to see.

When you go to a city like Tokyo there are so many interesting things that you can do that you often get caught up in all the sightseeing and tourist spots. It's kind of rare that you just take time out to walk along a river and take in the atmosphere and quietness in these spaces. These are the kind of areas where you find everyday people going about their business or running along the path on their daily jog, it's a totally different vibe and made me see Tokyo in a new way.

The weather was pretty good but a little gloomy at the start, I was just happy that I didn't get caught up in the rain. I originally started near the Asakusa area and took some pictures of the architecture here, mostly the Asahi Beer Hall and the buildings residing next to it. I liked the one shot of the Tokyo Skytree in the reflection of the building, it's quite a build and overshadows all of the rest. I hope you too can explore along the Sumida river one day soon.

sumida2.jpg

sumida3.jpg

sumida4.jpg

sumida5.jpg

sumida6.jpg

sumida7.jpg

sumida8.jpg

sumida9.jpg

sumida10.jpg

sumida11.jpg

sumida12.jpg


More from my Travels:

Exploring Helsinki - Finlandia Hall by Architect Alvar Aalto
A Selection of Outtakes from Kettle's Yard in Cambridge
Exploring Naoshima - A Visit to the Lee Ufan Museum
Naoshima - Tadao Ando's Concrete Walls
Exploring Osaka - Inside the TRUCK Furniture Showroom
Exploring Tokyo - Hama Rikyu Gardens
Exploring Tokyo - A Visit to Sensoji Temple in Asakusa
Exploring Kyoto - Tenryuji Temple & Grounds


Please follow me @oen for more interesting art, design and travel content.

Sort:  

I feel nostalgia in Tokyo and Japan where I spent some very pleasant moments last summer, I will share with you these 2 photos which I took with my own Phone.

20170909_132008.jpg

20170909_130341.jpg

Kind Regards @aminekad from Morocco.

Great. Glad you had fun and nice photos! Thanks for commenting :)

Boost Your Post. Send 0.100 STEEM or SBD and your post url on memo and we will resteem your post on 5000+ followers. check our account to see the follower count.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=oen
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=exploring-tokyo-sumida-river-walk-and-boat-ride


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60030.46
ETH 2413.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43