Exploring Tokyo - Asakusa & Sensoji Temple at Night

in #travel6 years ago

Staying in Asakusa in Tokyo gave me the opportunity to explore this area in more detail and get a feel for the community and how it ticks. Sometimes you go to a place as a tourist but don't have enough time to really immerse yourself in your surroundings so I was very pleased to have this opportunity on my most recent trip to Japan.

I barely drink at all so I tend to stay in throughout the evening and wake up early instead, but patrolling around Sensoji was too tempting and I started to notice all the fantastic art on the shutters of the shops that had closed for the day. The aesthetic here when the temple grounds were lit up is truly fantastic and was surprisingly peaceful considering the amount of tourists who come here throughout the day. I definitely saw a different side to Sensoji.

These photos are very grainy overall but I thought it tied in with the series nicely and made for a unique set of photography. I especially like the images that are blurred as I think it gives the imagery some feeling to what it's like in this area at nighttime. Enjoy.


More from my Travels in Japan:

Exploring Naoshima - A Visit to the Lee Ufan Museum
Naoshima - Tadao Ando's Concrete Walls
Exploring Osaka - Inside the TRUCK Furniture Showroom
Exploring Tokyo - Hama Rikyu Gardens
Exploring Tokyo - A Visit to Sensoji Temple in Asakusa
Exploring Kyoto - Tenryuji Temple & Grounds
Exploring Kyoto - A Visit to Fushimi Inari Shrine


Please follow me for more interesting art, design and travel content @oen

Sort:  

Some of the photos look like they made on film, good job

Hi. Some are on film cameras and others are taken on the Fuji X100T. It just depends :) Thanks for your comment

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=oen
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=exploring-tokyo-asakusa-and-sensoji-temple-at-night


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This post has received a 0.43 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @oen.

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest!

What camera did you use? Those temple pictures were perfectly exposed, not even under or over. The camera did a wonderful job.

I always find it tricky to do night landscape photos. I hardly create overall exposure ideal to revealing enough details out of the dark but not letting lights over-exposed.

Sorry mate, I'm low on voting power, I hope you don't mind.

Thanks @prch. No problem, a comment is enough. I keep getting the same problem and then I can't use the Steemit platform for a while.

These were taken a little while back but I think it was the Pentax K1000 or LX. Some came out a little blurry but overall a nice set.

Yeah, I used lightroom a little to help me. So I guess I cheated haha 😅

Very good photos!

Thanks @geohase. More coming soon :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05