Exploring Melbourne - Details in the Royal Botanic Gardens

in #travel7 years ago

I've always liked nature and tend to be drawn towards open scenery or foliage when I have a camera in my hand. I have this weird thing where I like to keep human beings out of the picture frame. It's really strange. Maybe it's something to do with the human race spoiling the scene? haha Just kidding. But I'm not totally sure what the reason is.

One thing I especially like when I see foliage is to pick out the unique colours, textures and shapes found on different types of plants and try to abstract them in some way. So when I visited the Royal Botanic Gardens in the centre of Melbourne these were a few of the pictures that I captured whilst in the park. I did take some pictures of the open scenery but I found myself snapping some shots of the details in a small observatory located at the east side of the gardens. No one was around so it gave me the perfect chance to act a bit crazy and photography these up-close.

What do you guys and girls think? Do you like them? I thought they came out quite nice and reminded me of the shapes and forms found in sculpture, art and architecture. I especially like the first shot where I tried to move the camera little to create a blurring effect before sharpening in at the bottom. I lowered the f-stop quite a bit and bumped up the brightness. They weren't taken on film but overall I liked the results. Enjoy.


More from my Travels:

Exploring Helsinki - Finlandia Hall by Architect Alvar Aalto
A Selection of Outtakes from Kettle's Yard in Cambridge
Exploring Naoshima - A Visit to the Lee Ufan Museum
Naoshima - Tadao Ando's Concrete Walls
Exploring Osaka - Inside the TRUCK Furniture Showroom
Exploring Tokyo - Hama Rikyu Gardens
Exploring Tokyo - A Visit to Sensoji Temple in Asakusa
Exploring Kyoto - Tenryuji Temple & Grounds


Please follow me @oen for more interesting art, design and travel content.

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=oen
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=exploring-melbourne-details-in-the-royal-botanic-gardens


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I like your style of photography very much!

Thank you for the kind words @koto-art :)

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

Loving the textures of these dude!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61180.45
ETH 2409.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62