Photo Series #69: Lighthouse | Sunset | Winter

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hooray Readers! Resurging with the photo series where I'll share different pictures on the journey!


Many moons ago on the Steem galaxy I posted a collection of photos featuring some lighthouses I visited in the past. In reality, the whole bicycle journey was supposed to happen on the coast of my home state in Brazil, where I planned to photograph all the lighthouses along the way. But as you already know, the winds sailed me in another direction and now I find myself in Europe.

Besides transporting me to another era, the Lighthouses for some reason make me happy and somewhat secure, even when I'm not on a boat. For me, it has a representation of direction and security, the knowledge that where the light shines is the safety and by following that I'll be sailing on the right path - same thoughts as the wind roses, a guide to those brave enough to be away from home.

That's how I felt when during a freezing day on board my bicycle I spotted this beautiful lighthouse by the shore of the Neusiedler lake, between Austria and Hungary. I was happy and I couldn't stop taking photos from all sorts of angles. The excitment surprassed the cold and culminated to one of the most peculiar and colorful sunsets I have ever seen.

I hope you enjoy this photograph, and I wish you can have the same chance to contemplate something as much as I did in front of this little lighthouse.

Neusiedler lake's Lighthouse


DSC_5921.jpg

click image to enlarge!


Do you have a place that simply makes you happy? Share on the comments!

If you liked this post, please, consider leaving your upvote for a hot coffee.

~Love ya all,


Disclaimer:  The author of this post is a convict broke backpacker, who has travelled more than 10.000 km hitchhiking. Following him may cause severe problems of wanderlust and inquietud. You've been warned.


I'm Arthur. I blog about Adventure Stories, Brazil, Travel, Camping & Life Experiences.

Follow me to stay tuned for more craziness and tips.

You may also want to read:

Quick Trip Update: Brno - Vienna - Bratislava: Under snow, rain and mud!

[Blog #47] Visiting Olomouc | Czech Republic | Photography

[vlog #23] Bike Vlog on the Road | Oświęcim to Ostrava | Trails and Nature

[Blog #46] Revisiting Kraków | Thoughts | Photography

[vlog #22] Bike Vlog in Oświęcim | Helping Strangers | Union

CO-FOUNDER AND CURATOR ON:

A PROUD MEMBER OF:

Sort:  

Magnificent photo indeed, that was your reward after enduring all the rain and cold on the road. Couldn't catch that beauty in the summer. Make sure you'll hang it on the wall when you return home.

Oh yeah, and it'll be my motivation to photograph all the lighthouses on our coast! Thanks for the comment, appreciate it a lot!

I always loved seeing and taking photos of lighthouses and piers. There is something magic about them cause they seem to look surreal in certain shots. I loved seeing this lighthouse in your photo. So glad that your excitement won over the cold and allowed you to get this amazeballs photo!

Amazeballs? AHhahahaha I gotta use that one from now on! Yeah, piers imply travelling and adventure somehow. All I need is a sailboat now \o\

'Ey professor!! Nice photo. You are in Europe now, eh? Anywhere in particular, or are you just traveling and exploring the continent? Either way, hope you are doing well!!!

Heeeeeeeeeey @veckinon, long time no see! I'm glad you are still around the Steemverse! So yeah, I came here in November for the SteemFest and then I just started biking around, no plans ahead, just short term. Following the mood basically.

How's everything with you?

Hi @mrprofessor!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.037 which ranks you at #3491 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 215 contributions, your post is ranked at #129.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Very dear memories in this place, thank you for the reminder :)

image.png

Oh you went there by bike? It's lovely isn't it?

Nice place, I was quite surprised. I was there a few years ago on Danube trail.

Epic, I followed the Danube for a while after Bratislava, but eventually the weather got way to harsh, it'll come in an upcoming report. Now I'm preparing to leave Slovenia to follow the Destra Po trail in Italy.

Hello @mrprofessor, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Oie, that's beautiful! Thanks for supporting my work @creativecrypto, love love.

Nice, you went through Podersdorf (Pátfalu)! I remember that lighthouse. It may have been the first one I saw in my life, making it sort of an iconic standard lighthouse I've been comparing all others to. There is also a cool looking windmill in the same town, I'm not sure if you saw it.
Enjoy your Winter bike-ride through Europe!

Oh no, I missed the windmill! Actually I was just passing through, didn't know what I'd find, for my surprise I found the lighthouse. I'll tell you, that night my tent cover kinda froze hahahaha it was solid as a plank.

Oh man, yeah the cold! It's December, and I know fully well the temps Eastern Europe is capable of producing. That is actually the only part I would majorly dislike, so lots of respect to you for submitting to it. I remember camping in California up in 2200 meters elevation, where it froze at night. What saved me from a super uncomfortable night was a pile of leaves I filled my tent with. But that isn't something you always find either. So lots of props to you, and enjoy your ride!

Leaves was a smart move! Here they are generally humid or completely wet, hopefully I'll cross Italy and hop on a train to the UK. There's no point into keeping cycling under bad weather

This is such a beautiful lighthouse! And rather a unique location?! Who would have thought of placing a lighthouse on the lake! You have been blessed with this gem!

AHahha I was thinking exactly the same "whatha, a lighthouse here?" I don't think I'd appreciate it so much during the summer, the freezing weather added a lot to it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56618.92
ETH 2337.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40