Photo Series #52: Flora and Fauna Photography | Wild Guanaco in Patagonia

in #travel6 years ago

Hello dear readers! How are you? Entry to #naturephotocontest and #floraandfaunafriday. Wild Guanaco in Patagonia.


Patagonia is one of the most amazing places I've ever visited, from the vast deserted areas of the steppe to the great peaks along the Andes, everything feels so vast and wild.

I've had the opportunity to discover, not only a complete new landscape, but also the different wild especies. I've seen foxes, the patagonian Mara, King penguins, Condor and the Guanacos. I wish I had seen a Puma.

The guanaco is a camelid native to South America. Its name comes from the South American Quechua word huanaco. Young guanacos are called chulengos. Found all over the place in Patagonia, the Guanacos are a protected species and their natural predator, the Puma, is quite rare this days.

I remember when I was hitch hiking on a truck and I saw the first Guanaco, freely running on the fields.

- They are a nightmare, jumping fences and crossing the road, causing accidents - The truck driver said.

I thought "Are they a nightmare, or us humans are a nightmare? Constructing fast pace roads in the middle of their habitat.

Wild Guanaco in Patagonia





#naturephotocontest and #floraandfaunafriday

Hope you all enjoyed and thanks to @naturecontests and @shadalene for hosting this amazing contest idea, you and @juliank of @photocontests are really encouraging me to look for my travel folders and bring the photos to public.

I'm Arthur. I blog about Brazil, Adventure Stories, Travel, Camping & Life Experiences.

Follow me to stay tunned for more info and tips.

10 LATEST RELATED POSTS:

Photo Series #42: Architectural Photography | Stilt Houses in Chiloé

Photo Series #43: Macro Photography | Mr. Krabs

Photo Series #44: Golden Hour Photography | Sun over the Peaks

Photo Series #45: Animal Photography | The Trail Guide

Photo Series #46: Landscape Photography | The Great Fitz Roy

Photo Series #47: Vehicle Photography | Old Steam Roller

Photo Series #48: Macro Photography | Handmade Axe

Photo Series #49: Animal Photography | Duque, the adventure partner.

Photo Series #50: Landscape Photography | Patagonian Mountains

Photo Series #51: Vehicle Photography | Little Boat

Sort:  

Patagonia is beautiful, next week ill write a blog about mount Fitz Roy!
Didnt see a puma either :-(

Have a nice day!

Indeed! Fitz Roy, yeah, Have you camped there? I feel like I could just spend months at Poincenot camp site.

Thanks for the comment @luckyme03200 and a great week for you too.

I didnt camp there, i did pass it on my way, i walked back same day ;-)
Beautiful hike!

Great shot! He's lookin right at you! Haha. So is a Guanaco just a wild llama or is there a physical difference? And I agree with your point of view that we're more the nightmare encroaching on wildlife habitats more and more.

Hey, I noticed none of your photos in your blogs are "clickable" to see bigger. I just made a one minute tutorial about it yesterday if you'd like to learn! Super easy! https://steemit.com/tutorial/@alevaskye/h06j80lf

Hi @alevaskye and all! Guanacos and Vicuñas are wild species, while Llamas are human-developed, just like nowadays dogs and cows, didn't existed in nature before humans.
Best regards!

Duuuuuuuuuude, @alevaskye!!!! Thank you so much!

I've been thinking all day about searching how to make a 'clickable' image, and for some reason (I'm getting old) I keep forgetting it, or I distract myself with other things. Then I see your comment with exactly what I needed!

Now... as for the Guanacos, the Guanacos are in the same family as Lhamas, Alpacas and Vicunhas. They are all native from south america and have their own characteristics.

For sure during that photo he was thinking "What is this dude doing?" hahahaha, this animals are wild and generally quite scared of humans.

You're very welcome, glad to remind you! I'm the same way about remembering things...Or I have a million search tabs open every time I think of something I need to search I'll type it in before I forget and then get back to it later. lol.

hahahahahha that is serious! It's so much information flowing everyday that it's becoming hard to assimilate and concentrate.
I see that clearly on my students, if thre's something a little bigger for them to read or to exercise, they tend to loose focus.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60522.54
ETH 2602.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64