Photo Series #46: Landscape Photography | The Great Fitz Roy

in #landscapephotography6 years ago (edited)

Hello dear readers! How is your day? Entry to #landscapephotography and #mountainsmonday. The Great Fitz Roy.


My entry is the great Fitz Roy in Argentina.

In summer 2016 I did a 10.000 km hitchhiking trip around Patagônia and one of the places I've enjoyed the most was El Chaltén. I've spent 7 days on the mountains walking from trail to trail and camping in different locations to visit Cerro Torre and Fitz Roy.

Fitz Roy was once called Chaltén, in Tehuelche means "smoking mountain", as the original people from that region believed the mountain or peak was a volcano due to it's top being always covered by clouds.

It's pretty rare to see Fitz Roy without clouds but for those who are persistent and patiente everything is possible. First day at the Poincenot campsite it was cloudy, so my friend and I decided to stay there one more day to try again. Second day it was raining, many people left the campsite that day to go back to the city, but we were persistent. We've spent most of the day doing nothing but drinking wine and waiting. By the end of day the rain had stopped and the sky started to clear. I had left the woods to collect water on the river and "WOW", Fitz Roy was uncovered.

Third day we woke up at 4 in the morning to do the 1 hr uphill trail to see the old Fitz up close, it was freezing but what an amazing day!

The picture shows the Fitz Roy group, there are the 3 main peaks (the thin ones): Saint-Exupery, Poincenot and the highest of them all Fitz Roy, with 3375 meters.


The Great Fitz Roy




#landscapephotography

Hope you all enjoyed and thanks to @photocontests and @naturecontest for hosting your amazing contest ideas, you are really encouraging me to look for my travel folders and bring the photos to public.

I'm Arthur. I blog about Brazil, Adventure Stories, Travel, Camping & Life Experiences.

Follow me to stay tunned for more info and tips.

10 LATEST RELATED POSTS:

Photo Series #36: Landscape Photography | Monument to a Careless Hiker | Reminder Message

Photo Series #37: Architectural Photography | Colonia del Sacramento Lighthouse (1857)

Photo Series #38: Macro Photography | Dandelion Effect

Photo Series #39: Golden Hour Photography | Closer to the Sun

Photo Series #40: Animal Photography | Stalking the Prey

Photo Series #41: Landscape Photography | Torres del Paine

Photo Series #42: Architectural Photography | Stilt Houses in Chiloé

Photo Series #43: Macro Photography | Mr. Krabs

Photo Series #44: Golden Hour Photography | Sun over the Peaks

Photo Series #45: Animal Photography | The Trail Guide

Sort:  

This is so good! You should enter it for Saturday South American contest with @czechglobalhosts

Super! Sure will, I didn't know about that contest, thanks for the tip.

I love that contest. It is my very favorite!
So every day of the week there is a contest for each continent, so obviously you can submit your picture on the day of whichever continent your picture belongs to.

But is it required to make a post with the picture? Because many of my pictures I have posted before. I don't want to mess my timeline hhhhhaah

No! The only way to enter is to post the photo as a comment on his daily entry. If you have any other question, let me know as it is a bit confusing at first.

Ahá guess I found it! Just need to wait for next Saturday xD
thank you for showing me that, I'll sure ask if I get lost

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

Thank you for participating in #landscapephotography

You have earned 5.40 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.08
Server time: 03:11:54
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 471.36/800.00
Total Photos: 50
Total comments: 48
Total contest wins: 4
And have also received a 0.33 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Very beautiful photo @mrprofessor!!
I just love mountains, these are some major looking
ones! Awesome to get a shot without clouds!! 🌄

Congratulations on the naturecontest win
Torres del Paine!! What a cool shot, the old bridge
and mountains in black & white. I was late seeing
that posting.

Are both these mountain photos in the same park?

Heyho @shasta, thank you very much!

They are at different places but both are part of the the Andes.
Torres del Paine in a national park in chile, near Puerto Natales
Fitz Roy is located in El Chalten - Argentina

green2.jpg
Your location is rocky @mrprofessor, mine is greeny

Super cool!
Where is that @evegrace?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60450.32
ETH 2604.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60