PREMATURE MARRIAGE. (Love or Necessity?)

in #travel6 years ago (edited)
Leaving my country with my partner was a determining factor for not feeling lonely at some point of my life being outside the borders of my country. However, many people venture abroad completely alone, having to deal many times with loneliness and longing.

DSC_0136 (2).JPG
Photography by: @miguelarocha (Howth, Ireland)
Nikon D3300

While in Ireland, during my years as an English student, I had the opportunity to live with couples and single people. Those who in equal conditions, went out in search of opportunities. I suppose that in the case of the lasts it is more complicated when life turns cloudy and there is no one at home waiting for them to lend a hand or an ear to be heard at the moment of wanting to vent all the sorrow of everyday life. Although life for couples on many occasions is not much easier than for single people living in different countries of the world, because if you do not have a relationship strong enough to start living as a couple, it is better to think twice before making a big decision as leaving our countries with that person to which we surely have not linked at all after a short time period.

I had almost three years of relationship when I took that plane to Europe, just over four years ago. After the first years of living separately, the ideal thing was to move together to start decreasing expenses while we were still getting to know each other’s personalities and began to establish a closer and stable relationship living together.
In this way I discovered that life as a couple is not easy. Coexistence takes us to unthinkable limits, and even to breaking ties that we believe strong. When that is the case, it is important to have patience, be aware, communicate efficiently and leave individuality aside, and if we have to make sacrifices to strengthen these ties that we fear to break, then it will be necessary to stand some situations that although are uncomfortable, we must be able to communicate as soon as possible.

In my case, we began to live together from the first day we set foot in the Irish capital and the problems began a few weeks after. Laughter became screams and we distanced a lot when suddenly I realized that I was losing interest in my partner.
After a year and millions of fights the situation between us was unsustainable, to the point of having to break up for a few months. Time in which I started dating another person as an escape from the uncomfortable situations that awaited me at home. Of course, this did not get us on the right track and after a while we decided to fix differences, to communicate a lot more and stop hiding obvious human needs. Spending more time together and good communication helped us to resume our relationship.
Now after 7 years, we still continue living together and with emotional stability.

DSC_0532 (2).JPG
Photography by: @miguelarocha (Dublin, Ireland)
Nikon D3300

You should not stop being who you are and of course to not deprive yourself of liberties when starting a daily but premature cohabitation with your partner. It is important that we have a very open mind and know that we must be prepared to know the other side of that person we thought we knew.

Always remember that your partner was not planning to live with you at this point in his/her life either. After all, it is not a marriage. You have as much freedom as you thought you had before you started living with him or her. Go out, have fun, meet people, share, feel free, know the surroundings, but above all, take care of your manners and remember that although it was not planned, there will always be someone at home waiting for you, and that living in that way is much easier than for many single people who are completely alone in an unknown country. Because money issues, little emotional support and poor physical and mental health can be really difficult to overcome while being alone. Trust that person who is with you as long as you feel comfortable with that presence, but also remember that actually we never get to know a person completely.

Sort:  

Lovely article!
My observations have shown me that time itself is not a good test. I did things "right" with my ex-husband, knew him for three years before we got married, and he changed the moment the vows were said and I began to see the narcissistic control-freak I lived with for the next 9 years.

Then, there are people who found each other, fell in love immediately and were still together...
And high school sweethearts that I knew in school, who married early and are still together.

But as you point out, communication is the main thing - when people stop talking, they stop understanding each other and that's when things go bad...
I'm glad you took care of that!

I found your post thanks to @rembertomarsada's Pay it Forward Curation Contest entry. Keep up the great work!

Hello there. Thank you for taking the time to read my post. I'm happy you liked it. Sorry I couldn'd answer earlier.

To continue with this topic, I guess relationships work in a very different way for everyone. I've been in this relationship for seven years and sometimes it feels like a rollercoaster. We just dated for eight months before we actually started our relationship and it worked perfectly to get to know each other. We are still working things out.

Have agreat day.

good advice @miguelarocha, we never understand others if we don't communicate with them openly, I was engaging with my dear wife now for 7 years and maintain the long distance relationship a long that time and finally got married 3 years ago, maybe because that LDR so when we got married, sometimes we have a silent war as an expression of a fight..LOL, but we never leave each other side because we need each other. if you have a problem with your beloved one, the best thing to do is keep your respect on her/ him as human.. so you wouldn't dare to hurt each other. thanks to @rembertomarsada who has featured you in his entry post to the #payitforward contest this week

Hello there. Sorry I couldn't answer earlier.

And in respond for your comment, congratulations on your relationship. I guess things get better after time. Time heals perfectly.
We are still working things out after all this years. And getting to know each other is still an every day thing.

Have a great day and thank you.

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts @miguelarocha :) I found your post because @rembertomarsada featured you in her Pay it Forward Curation Contest entry. Feel free to join us with an entry of your own next week :)

Thank you very much for taking your time to read my post.
Have a great day.

I congratulate you! @miguelarocha. I liked the post that you made, I'll take your post for my presentation in the "Pay it Forward" contest. I invite you cordially to participate, a hug.
The link of the contest: https://steemit.com/payitforward/@pifc/week-29-pay-it-forward-curation-contest-1a7250a1a8497est

Hello there, I'm so sorry I couldn't respond before as I've been trough some stuff. But Im really thankful of being taken in consideration and really happy that you took the time to read my post.
I'll be glad to participate in the future.
Thank you.

I understand your situation...

Thanks for the article... I'm glad it all turned well in the end for you guys.

PS: I've found your post because @rembertomarsada featured it in an entry for the Pay It Forward Contest

Thank you very much. I'm glad you liked it.

Congratulations @miguelarocha! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61119.19
ETH 2615.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65