Magic Places - Giants Causeway

in #travel7 years ago

Today I want to show you some photos I took at Giants Causeway in Northern Ireland a few years ago during one of the most spectacular sunsets I have ever seen.

The Giants Causeway is part of the Antrim coast and is made up of countless interlocking basalt columns of different height. It's a fascinating site to explore and it presents endless photographic opportunities.

If you love seascape photography like I do, this place has to go onto your bucket list. In summer it's a great spot for both sunset and sunrise photography with the sun setting and rising high in the north.

I first went for sunset. After a grey and rainy day I didn't expect much to happen. But it was my last day in the area, so I had to head down to the Causeway and give it a try. First there was still some drizzle in the air. But just minutes before sunset a little gap appeared at the horizon and the sun glimpsed through very briefly. It was a glimmer of hope.

It took another 10 minutes until the show finally began and the sky was bathed in some of the most intense red colors I have seen in nature. It was an evening I'll never forget.

Bloody Causeway

Causeway Surf

Giants Causeway

I was already happy with the photos I photographed that evening. But I also wanted to see what I could get during sunrise the next day. Although the light wasn't as spectacular as in the evening, what I liked a lot more was that I had the whole Causeway for myself. Getting up 4am pays of especially at such popular locations.

Causeway Blues

Who else has already visited the Antrim coast in Northern Ireland? Feel free to share your photos and experiences in the comments below.

And don’t forget to checkout the articles in my seven series:



instagram    google-plus    facebook    flickr    500px    youtube

!steemitworldmap 55.240622 lat -6.509470 long Giants Causeway D3SCR

Sort:  

What an amazing post @milbreit-photo. I love the vibrant colors u captured during sunset. And I couldn't agree more on the rewards (having places like this all to yourself) u get for getting up early in the morning to visit such a popular place. Following now and looking forward to more quality post from u!

Btw, what camera/lens/gears do u use? I currently work with a Canon but I'm considering the switch to a mirrorless camera. Would be great to hear your thoughts. Cheers :)

Hi @jh3n I currently use a 5DsR with a 16-35 f/4 lens most of the time. But the gear is quite heavy and if I didn't need the 50Mpix I would also switch to mirrorless. I bought a Fuji xt20 as secondary camera and it's a pleasure to use.

Hey Mibreit, I love your photos, they are spectacular!
I like how you´ve captured such depth 😊.
I am a big fan of landscape/seascape photography, you have inspired me to get my S&%# together and start taking more photos.
Keep posting and all the best here on Steemit!

Thanks @stewie . I'm glad I could provide some inspiration. There'll be a lot more on my blog here, so make sure to follow. cheers

This post has been resteemed from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

this is mesmerizing

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @mibreit-photo to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Congratulations @mibreit-photo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=mibreit-photo
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=magic-places-giants-causeway


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #landscapephotography, the weekly selection will be released on Wednesday.

You have earned 5.30 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.06
Server time: 12:40:20
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 83.71/100.00
Total Photos: 7
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 1
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Ireland is a great place to be, I want to study my stunts work there in future

Yea, I love Ireland. The weather isn't the best, but the landscape totally makes up for it ;-)

🤯🤯MIND BLOWN!🤯🤯🤯

You were at he right place - at the right time. You were very fortunate to be blessed with such an EPIC sunset! I bet if you had planned for this - you wouldn't have gotten a nice sunset.

That's why I tell people photography is like fishing. Sometimes when we go out - we come back with no fish.

Congrats and thanks for sharing this shot.

:)

That's exactly how it is. Most of the time I return with an empty stomach though ;-) But it's not only about catching the fish, it's about being out there in nature. I can tell you, I don't get light like this very often and the whole day before this sunset it was grey and raining :-)

I feel your pain!

This spring I'm going to shoot the same spot at the same time in 5 consecutive days to show people that photographers are at the mercy of the weather.

I can't tell you how many times I'm out and about and see a stunning sunset - but I don't have my camera! UGH!

Anyway, thanks for taking the time to comment - let's see what we come up with for 2018!

Hehe, yea the best light happens when you either don't have the camera with you or you sit in the car or something like that ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66544.05
ETH 3487.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72