7 Great Photo Spots in Prague

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

In today’s article I want to show you one of my favorite cities, Prague. It’s in my top three together with Rome and London, and for good reason. I will now show you seven great photo spots around the city.

As usual with this article series, this list is by no means exhaustive. After four visits I still haven’t explored all the beautiful views in Prague yet. And every time I return I find something new. So maybe there’ll be another article after a future visit.

1. Charles Bridge

Maybe the most obvious photo location in the city is the famous Charles Bridge. It doesn’t matter if you point your camera east or west when standing on this bridge. The view is always amazing. The multiple towers of the city line up in both directions. For good reason Prague is also called the City of 100 Spires.

Charles Bridge

Prague Night

2. Petrin Hill

Another spot, from which you have a great view of Prague’s spires, is Petrin Hill - or more accurately halfway up the hill. Here it’s really worth to not take the little rail that also leads up the hill, but to walk instead. The path starts right next to the railway station at Újezd.

Prague Glow

3. Old Town Bridge Tower

A thing I love about Prague is that you can climb many of the towers throughout the city. So many of the towers in the previous photo are actually viewpoints themselves. This photo here was taken right from the tower on the eastern end of Charles Bridge. It can get a bit crowded up there. But the views are fantastic.

Prague Night

4. Tower of Old Town Hall

Talking of towers one has to mention the Tower of the Old Town Hall right next to Old Town Square. This tower is one of the highest viewpoints within the city and you should keep a firm grip on your camera while up there. You basically get 360° views and can take beautiful photos in all directions. If you visit in winter the frosty atmosphere adds to the photos even more with steam rising from the chimneys in the city.

Cold Night

5. Powder Tower

Walking further east from Old Town Square you will encounter the Powder Tower. Don’t hesitate to check out the views from up there. Especially during sunset and blue hour when the city lights begin to glow it’s awesome up there.

Prague View

6. Wenceslas Square

When I’m in Prague I like to visit Wenceslas Square to get one or two of the Prague sausages. I don’t eat meat very often these days, but in Prague I just can’t resist. Besides that there’s also some beautiful architecture to photograph. Here you see the National Museum at night.

Prague View

7. Eastern shore

The classic view of the Prague castle can be photographed from the eastern shore of the river Moldova, right next to the Karlovy Night club. This is a great spot for sunset photography. If you are lucky and there’s not so much wind, the castle will reflect in the river.

Prague View

Now I’m interested in your favorite places in Prague. Which viewpoints do I have to visit on my next visit, where are the secret photo spots?

And don’t forget to check out the other articles in this series:


instagram    google-plus    facebook    flickr    500px    youtube


!steemitworldmap 50.086454 lat 14.411695 long Prague - City of a 100 Spires D3SCR
Sort:  

Hi! I come to upvote your post as the token of my appreciation for you winning a daily round of my 7 World`s Continents Photo Challenge only to find out your post is about Prague and with some of the best pictures ever. I am subscribed to a Shutterstock to use the images and they are just as perfect if not better. Amazing job! I am very happy you find your way to Steemit! See your winner announcement post below and feel free to interact with the post by answering some congratulations comments. Thank you. Tomas

7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge – African Wednesday week #14 – winner announcement!

Beatiful pictures of one of my favorite cities in the world! Thanks a lot!
And I can add one good spot to your list - Vyshegrad, great view from there ;)

view-from-vyshegrad.jpg

That looks nice, I will check it out on my next visit!

Heya, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in our Daily Travel Digest!

Congratulations @mibreit-photo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I'm totally amazed by your photos. I've been to Prague once and it's without a doubt very beautiful city, but your pictures show us a rare feeling of perfection. Especially the shot of the Prague castle. My favorite spot was Petrin Hill, it gives you a very good perspective of the whole city. Unfortunately, I had only my phone camera while I was on the hill. I also enjoyed taking pictures at John Lennon's wall and at the bridge of love locks. Here is one of them: https://www.instagram.com/p/6qayiziZ35/?taken-by=isabellmonisse

That's a beautiful picture. Has an artistic feel to it.

cheers

Thank you! I'm capturing moments. :)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #cityscapephotography, the weekly selection will be released on Wednesday.

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 20:03:40
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 6.10/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=mibreit-photo
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=7-great-photo-spots-in-prague


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Wow, this is a really gorgeous travel post. I love your photos. They look way better than the ones I took in Prague.

great pictures, awesome town

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61153.73
ETH 3403.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51