7 spectacular beaches and coves around the world

in #travel7 years ago

7 spectacular beaches and coves around the world


Since I started with Landscape Photography roughly 9 years ago, I have travelled to many wonderful places. In the beginning it were mainly smaller trips around Europe, but just recently I returned from half a year of travelling all around the world. Travelling feels so reviving, I can break out of the day to day rut and immerse myself in new experiences, explore beautiful landscapes and meet new people.

This is the first article in a little series I have planned, where I will, in each article, show you seven places, which captivated me. And I will show you some photos, with which I tried to capture what those places are about.

Let’s start with some of my favorite seascapes.

1. Anse Source D’Argent

La Digue is a little island in the Indian Ocean. It’s part of the Seychelles and with 6km from its northern tip down to Grand Anse in the south, no public cars besides some taxis, no large multi-story hotel complexes and nearly no Wifi coverage it was the perfect place to flee to from a cold German winter back in February 2012.

The beach I show you here is one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen, Anse Source D’Argent. Some of you might know the Barcardi advertisements from back in the 90s, which feature this beach. With its palm trees lining the little secluded coves and the huge granite rocks all around it’s a dream location not only for Landscape Photographers.

Anse Source D'Argent

2. Giants Causeway

Giants Causeway is one of the most unique coastlines in Europe. It’s located on the Antrim coast in Northern Ireland. The hexagonal basalt rocks, which make up the Causeway, look like something out of this world.

I had the luck to witness one of the most intense sunsets I have ever seen when I visited back in 2012. The sky was glowing in deep red tones for nearly an hour after sunset. It was an evening I will never forget.

Giants Causeway

3. Whisky Bay

It took me many years and many travels to finally encounter such an intense lightshow again. Last year I travelled along Australia’s east coast and my last stop was Wilsons Promontory National Park south-east of Melbourne. This park with its many long, white beaches is one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen.

My favorite beach there was Whisky Bay. The rocks reminded me of the rocks on La Digue. The two evenings I was there I encountered only a handful of other people and a Wallaby at the beach. And on the second evening the sky exploded in such intense colors to rival those I had seen nearly five years ago at Giants Causeway. I was in photographer’s heaven.

Whisky Bay

4. Praia da Adraga

When it comes to my favorite beach in Europe, my vote goes to Praia da Adraga 20km west of Lisbon. The rough coastline of Sintra with its steep cliffs is one of the most spectacular coastlines in Europe. Praia da Adraga itself is lined by dark rocks jutting out of the sand, which make for a very dramatic setting as waves rush up the shore and crash against those rocks.

I have visited this beach a few times over the past years and every time I visit it looks different. The tides and the waves influence the appearance of the beach a lot. Sometimes they carry away masses of sand to reveal more and more of the dark rocks, at other times the rocks are buried. So it’s always exciting to return.

Praia da Adraga

5. Kynance Cove

Talking about spectacular coastlines in Europe one cannot exclude the Cornish coast. I have visited Cornwall three times in the last seven years and it’s always a pleasure to return. Especially in spring when coastal flowers line the top of the cliffs the coast looks magical.

Kynance Cove has all the elements that make the Cornish coast special. Steep cliffs, sea stacks, a little secluded cove with turquoise water and as mentioned, an abundance of coastal flowers in spring.

Kynance Cove

6. Costa Quebrada

Before moving abroad again, lets continue with one more dramatic coastline in Europe. By now I think you already get an idea of what kind of beaches I prefer. I love rocky coastlines, cliffs and sea stacks. And the Costa Quebrada in Northern Spain has all of that.

The rock formation I show you here is that of the Manzano near Liencres. You have to do some climbing to get there. But it’s totally worth it. Even without a colorful sunrise I was able to come away with a dramatic photo.

Costa Quebrada

7. Cathedral Cove

If you have seen Narnia, you might know this place – Cathedral Cove. It’s a very popular beach on the Coromandel Peninsula of New Zealand. When I visited back in November 2014 there weren’t many people around. My girlfriend and I at times had this whole beach for ourselves.

Last year though when we returned in summer it was overrun. The masses of people visiting this place take away lots of its magic, but who can blame them – one just has to see it.

If you ever want to visit though and would rather enjoy it in solitude, make sure to avoid the summer months and go very early in the morning.

Cathedral Cove

I have to admit that this is a very personal selection and that there are many more beautiful beaches to be found around the world. Those are just the places I connected with the most when I visited them.

What are some of your favorite coastal locations? Which places do I have to visit during my next travels.

As a close I want to share a little tutorial video about seascape photography, which I posted recently on Youtube, enjoy.

Social Media:  instagram    google-plus    facebook    flickr    500px    youtube

Sort:  

Wow your photography is breathtaking and I really love the tutorial videos! The glimpse at your PhotoShop process here was very educational :) I had the good fortune of visiting the Giants Causeway when I was a teenager and it made quite an impression on me - what a spectacular landscape!

I am very happy you are here on Steem and sharing your gifts and soothing voice with us :)

If I may make a humble suggestion, would you mind updating your social media links on your other web platforms to include a Steemit.com back link? Every little bit we can do to strengthen the relative position of Steemit.com when it comes to search engine indexing is a little bit closer to this platform breaking through to the main stream... at which point we can all go to the moon with our crypto-millions earned by blogging here :) Can't to see your sunset on the moon photo!

Much love - Carl "Totally Not A Bot" Gnash




@carlgnash from the @humanbot Human Certified Original Works Initiative has manually determined this post to be the original and truly creative work of the post author.

Learn more:
https://steemit.com/curation/@carlgnash/what-human-certified-original-works-means-to-me-a-totally-unofficial-mission-statement-from-just-one-person-in-a-decentralized

Thanks for being an original and creative content creator! You rock!

Hi there! Thanks a lot for this comment. I will certainly add backlinks to steem on my homepage and I'll also share my articles in my other social media. I just started out here and I'm already positively surprised by the number of comments I got on my articles. cheers

Wow! your photography is so fantastic! Some of the beaches mention here I didn´t know before.
So beautiful.
Upvote :)

Cathedral cove does it for me :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @mibreit-photo to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Great images, great content, as always. Keep going ! Looking forward to see your tutorials too.
My favorite or at least one of them: Kvalvika beach, Lofoten, Norway.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.70
ETH 3158.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43