Makes You Wonder the Conversation Had on That Front Porch

in #travel7 years ago

As you will see over the next days, months, and years, I will be posting photography (and it's story) that I have taken currently and over the last several decades. A year ago I exited the corporate world and am able to share my travel adventures and photography with you. So are you ready to see the world? Follow me and you will see the world through my lens. I have traveled the states and world extensively and I am very excited to share with you!

So let's get started with this photograph.....
And the story goes, In the summer of 2008, my husband Keith and I were on a driving trip to Gettysburg to do some family ancestry research on his family's side (now that's a whole story in itself that I will save for a later date). Anyway, we were driving down the road when I said STOP. This is something I do when I see something that intrigues me to take a photograph of and something my husband is totally accustomed to. So Keith slows down and says, what could you possibly be taking a photograph of? I quickly let him know that I wanted to photograph the dilapidated abandoned house that we just passed 1/4 mile back. He said, and I quote, "You've Got To Be Kidding Me?". Well, to cut the story short, Keith did turn around and I was ecstatic to be able to photograph this beauty in Pennsylvania.
Why did I want this picture to remember forever? Well, I think the question is exactly the answer! I look at this house both from memory and the photograph and think to myself, What happened? This was such a beautiful house in it's day. It has so much history to tell! It's walls have witnessed so much. At one time it was so full of life. Makes you wonder the conversations that were had on that Large Front Porch in the summer breeze?......
Nearly 10 years later as I still look at this picture, I wonder if this old house is still standing? Perhaps one day I will travel to see if it withstood another decade of watching the traffic pass it by.

Oct 13 2011 drive to PA 094-Edit-3.jpgThanks for reading and viewing my photograph, Yesterday's Front Porch. I hope it intrigues you as it did me!
Stay tuned as I will try to daily post a photograph and it's story. As a picture is worth a 1000 words......
With A Smile!
Melissa

Sort:  

Interesting post. Looking forward to more.

Thank you! I was pulled away from my computer for several days! I will definitely have another post for you tomorrow. :

nicely written and it does make me wonder. Thank you for the picture, I look forward to many more.

Thank you! Back at my computer, as I was away for several days. I will be posting again tomorrow!

I wondered where you have been. Check out my new posts today. One should be a happy surprise for you :) don't forget to upvote them too.

Congratulations @melissalanephoto! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @melissalanephoto! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63718.61
ETH 3390.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62