Wales Has An Ugly House - And Yes That's Really Its Name!

in #travel6 years ago
But, although it may look somewhat peculiar, the name Ugly House does not apply to its appearance.

On our latest trip to Wales, my wife and I stopped off at this funny looking cottage that sits next to the main road.

According to the notice board there are a number of possible origins for the name of the house. The first is that the house was a robbers hideout and as these were 'ugly people' the name was given to the building. The second possibility is that the name is a corruption of the Welsh name given to the river nearby - Llugwy. The third reason could be that the Welsh name for rough or crude - hyll - which could be applied to the rough boulders that make up the house, can also mean ugly.

No one knows who actually built the house but it was first written about in 1853.

It is now run by the Snowdonia Society as a tea room.

Images

All Images By The Author


I hope you have enjoyed this post and would consider following me.

Here are a selection of my recent posts:-

Two chilling dogs

A quick funny to brighten your day

My Tree Tuesday Entry

I discover an 1870's Family Bible

Our trip to the mountains of Snowdonia National Park

A brand new aquarium for our goldfish




Mindfulness E-Book - 0.100 SBD

I have collated a series of posts I did on Mindfulness into an ebook which can be downloaded here for the low, low price of 0.100 SBD

Until next time - take care of yourselves.

GardenBadge

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65702.61
ETH 3485.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51