Magical Mexican Tour: Leaving Huautla de Jimenez and How I Got a Black Eye While Hitchhiking Alone Through Mexico

in #travel7 years ago

Hitchhiking alone in Mexico proved to be the ultimate in following my heart.







After hitchhiking several times with the boys, Ezequiel and Ovat,


I was feeling confident that I am ready to do it alone.







I felt sure, too, that it will be easier alone.


My feeling quickly proved to be accurate.


With the boys our options were very limited


as we needed a ride with enough space for three people


and our big pile of backpacks as well as heading in the right direction.


Sometimes we waited for hours in the hot sun for rides.







After 4 nights in the northern mountain area of Oaxaca


I woke up early and began the end of my packing


then took a screenshot of the map to
Capulalpam de Méndez, Oaxaca, Mexico

,

my next destination.







However, I never arrived in that village.


The links below will give you the background of my travels to this small, remote village of central Mexico.
Go to my Blog list to Follow my full, unpredictable and amazing story of
my Epic Journey Through Latin America.


Mexican Magical City Tour: Leaving Tepotzlan, the Neverending Bus Ride and Entering the Magical City of Huautla de Jimenez


Epic Food Journey Through Latin America: Mezcal and Tequila for Breakfast in Huautla de Jimenez, Mexico


Epic Journey Through Latin America: Huautla de Jimenez and What He Showed Me Out Back


Magical Mexican Tour: Huautla de Jimenez, What Makes it Magical and a Walk With Esmerelda


Epic Food Journey Through Latin America: Authentic Tortillas in the Mountains of Mexico


Epic Food Journey Through Latin America: A Photo Gallery of the Food of Huautla de Jimenez and the Classic Mole




While waiting on the camioneta for a ride to the next village


where I planned to get a taxi to take me to the outskirt of town


I was fortunate enough to witness


a local wedding entourage through the little village.







When this man spotted me taking photos
he motioned to me to take his photo.


I complied.







Quickly the camioneta arrived and


the men hoisted my backpack and djembe into the back of the truck.
I was invited to sit in the cab.







At the end of the road, in the village center everyone deboarded the truck.


Immediately I began searching for a taxi to take me to the edge of town.


Sounds easy, right? Well, it was a huge challenge.


All the taxis were full and the ones that were not did not understand


where I wanted to go or just did not want to take me.


Finally, after about 20 minutes of hailing taxis
I found a willing victim.


The next 30 minutes of riding in that taxi with him proved to be


the most frustrating experience I have had in a very long time.


Several times I told him where I wanted to go and showed him on my Google Map.


He indicated he understood but only drove


back and forth, back and forth through the town center.


This was not what I wanted.


I felt like I was being very clear but he was assuming


I was a tourist and just wanted to go shopping...I guess.


At some point I pulled out my Google map on my phone again
and indicated to him to follow my directions.


The map in my phone, I soon learned,
and the reality of the streets did not jive.


Oh My God!
That was SO frustrating!


A couple times I even got out of the car and starting walking
in the direction I wanted him to go because he refused to comply.


About this time I had to take a moment to regain my composure.
I was really getting angry and wanted to “go off” on him.


After a series of near meltdowns and panic attacks
he finally got me to the outer edge of town.


The taxi driver quoted a huge price for the ride
which really pissed me off since he was so fucking incompetent.


I think he thought I owed him extra for being a bitch
but I felt he should give me a better price


since he wasted a fuck-ton of my time driving around
like a bobble-head.


Standing on the side of the road in the dense forest
I was able to calm down, recenter and regain my composure.


After no more than 5 minutes with my thumb out


a car pulls over with two young guys who were on vacation
from their Mexico City University, on their way home to visit family.







The passenger was constantly turned around in his seat so he could talk to me.
He was very curious about me.


I want to add here that I am very proud of myself because
neither the family I was staying with or those who picked me up
while hitchhiking spoke any English.


After about a couple hours we arrived in their village
but they were kind enough to go ahead and drive me all the way to the highway
pointed in the direction of my journey.


After only about 10 minutes of waiting with my thumb out
a woman about my age pulled over and picked me up.







She was on her way home after visiting family and shopping
for supplies in Huautla de Jimenez over the weekend.


She dropped me off on the side of the road after about a couple of hour.


This time it took about 30 minutes to get a ride.


I think it was about 4pm and many local people were getting off work
therefore the local Mexicans who were hanging out


where I was thumbing a ride began to ask me questions.


Not long after the conversation began I had a cold beer in my hand and
a small group of guys helping me wave down a ride.


They knew who was local and who was passing through.


Soon a truck pulled over and these two guys seated me between them
with my backpack and djembe in the back.


I said goodbye to my new friends on the side of the road


and happily greeted my third ride.







These guys were on their way home, Oaxaca City, Oaxaca, from a work trip.


It was with them that I got the black eye.


The road through the state of Oaxaca twists and turns and coils like a snake.







There was a pile of peaches laying in the seat between myself and the driver.


During one of the many turns some of the peaches rolled down the seat


and onto the floor where the driver’s feet were.


Instinctively I bent over to grab the peaches,


blind to the stick shift,


I smacked my eye right into it.







Ouch! That hurt!


During the ride it rained really hard.


When it stopped we were about 30 minutes north of the city of Oaxaca.


I had never seen a double rainbow before this day, let alone a triple rainbow.


Yep, that’s right, a triple rainbow.
The third one was far to the right of this photo.


It was truly a sign from the gods.







At this moment it really begins to sink in that
it is beginning to get dark


and I will not reach Capulcapam de Mendez


today therefore I will need to figure something out for the night.


Wait! Wait!
Hold on a minute!


Oaxaca is a city?! And a state?!


Okay, now I get it!


Many, many people in Mexico have been telling me to go to Oaxaca.


It’s beautiful, friendly, has great food and culture.


Until now I was thinking they were telling me to visit the state of Oaxaca
but now I realize they were telling me to visit the city of Oaxaca.


I ask my driver to take me where I can easily find a cheap hostel.


They took to me to the famous downtown area, Zocalo,


and dropped me out on the sidewalk of a small park.


Literally, only moments after they drove off,
while I was hailing a taxi a young, clean-cut looking guy


approached me and in English told me of a nearby hostel
for only $4.50 a night, 90 pesos.


He gave directions to the taxi driver that quickly responded to my waving.


The hostel was decent and clean enough.


After meeting again the guy from the sidewalk
who was also staying there and having a little chat with him


I decided to blow off Capulalpam de Méndez, Oaxaca, Mexico
and remain in Oaxaca City a few days.


I decided I really want to see what all the fuss was about.


For 8 nights I remained in Oaxaca and enjoyed many great experiences,
ate some amazing food and met many awesome people.


Following my heart and going with the flow turned out to be,
as always, the best way to go.


My next series of blogs detail my adventures in the unforgettable city of Oaxaca.




~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~_~


Keep Following.


I got many more fun-believable experiences,


and amazing photography,


I'm serious!


My stories are continuously unfolding as I continue my unique journey south.


My next post is a beginning look at the historical area of Oaxaca.



Your UpVote, Follow, Repost and Comments support me to keep the...



Sort:  

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @beautifulbella. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @loveon to be original material and upvoted it!
Do you like what @OriginalWorks is doing? Give it an upvote!

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

Very grateful for the recognition. My stuff is definitely all original.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63267.39
ETH 2572.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80