Magical Mexican Tour: Huautla de Jimenez, What Makes it Magical and a Walk With Esmerelda

in #travel7 years ago

It was around 6 o'clock in the morning
when I arrived at the Huautla de Jiminez bus drop-off


and about 7am when I arrived
at the nearby home of the family of Esmerelda


located in the nearby peaceful, mountainside village called Santa Maria.


Since I had been traveling almost 24 hours I was very exhausted.


After her parents and sister met me and fed me they showed me to my room.







I crawled in the bed and went to sleep for several hours.


To catch up on the events leading up to my travels
to this village click on my previous blogs:


Mexican Magical City Tour: Leaving Tepotzlan, the Neverending Bus Ride and Entering the Magical City of Huautla de Jimenez
Epic Food Journey Through Latin America: Mezcal and Tequila for Breakfast in Huautla de Jimenez, Mexico
Epic Journey Through Latin America: Huautla de Jimenez and What He Showed Me Out Back

Soon after I awoke I finally got to meet Esmerelda


whom I had only met through the
Facebook group Mochileros en Mexico.


She invited me to her home and village
to experience her family and people


whom are of the Sierra Mazateca group.


Except through the Facebook group, I had never met her.


I was invited only out of a true desire to share her world with my curious soul.







Today was graduation day for the public school


which pulled the entire community out of their homes
to the communal area.


I will be writing a separate blog with more details of that interesting event.


Esmerelda walked me to this event
where I captured photos of this rare opportunity.


What I witnessed deserves a separate blog.







After we got our fill of watching the graduation events


we walked out to the main street and began our walk up the never ending hill.


After a few minutes of walking she waved down a truck


passing by called a camioneta which I soon learn


is a common mode of public transportation in remote areas of Mexico.







I was instructed to jump into the back of the truck.


Curious eyes whom are not accustomed to seeing white people


scooted over to allow me space to sit down.


When you want off, I observed,


you bang loudly on the side of the truck
then the driver pulls over and you jump out.







Esmerelda banged on the side of truck when we approached the edge


of Huautla de Jimenez


where she took the above photo of me in front of


the big HUAUTLA sign looking over the


magical mountains and village.







After a short stroll down the rural road, toward the village center


we encountered a local man and his boy managing their goats


in the greens of the mountain edge.


In the United States we are very tidy about keeping our livestock securely behind fences.


It was explained to me that livestock being herded in nearby areas


for grazing and exercising is the norm in Mexico.


It's the way it's always been done and it works for them.


I observe that it lends itself to heightened trusting communal relationships.







I am told this little monument is in honor of a woman who was well loved


by the people for demonstrating courage and support


during times of war and other challenges.


Esmerelda insisted I needed my picture taken with her.







After walking uphill for what seemed like an hour,


through the village, up many stairs my little energy


that I had cultivated from my little sleep was spent and I actually began to whine.


"Where is this woman taking me?" I began to think.


She kept saying we are almost there but I was beginning to no longer believe her.


I was relieved when Esmerelda led me to a table to sit


and this beautiful, kind woman scooped me up a hot bowl of magical restorative soup.







After resting and eating I began to forget my exhaustion.





After I regained my energy we walked through the town center


where I was surprised to see traditional dances of the people


in full costume and hear the sounds of a full band playing traditional ethnic sounds.


I made some videos which will be highlighted in an upcoming blog.







Although I enjoyed the walk and getting to know the village


as well as my new friend I was happy


to climb into another camioneta pointed toward her family's home.


That night I learned that the family owns a small store that carries
snacks, office supplies and basic toiletries.


Right next to it is their internet cafe.


These are pretty common throughout Latin America.

The family takes turns manning the booth and sometimes they all hangout together.







Other brothers and sisters with their wives, husbands and children


all come by and hang out in the cozy metal-walled kitchen.


When they proudly hand me an American beer
I am a little grossed out.


But when I look in their eyes at how proud they are


of themselves for buying me a beer from the USA


it changed the energetics of everything.


My disgust for Coors immediately dissipated and I
graciously thanked them.


~~~~~~~~~~~~~`~


Keep Following.


I got many more experiences,


breathtaking photography,


and fun-believable experiences.


I'm serious!


My stories just keep unfolding.


My next blog is a demonstration from Esmerelda's mother and sister
on how to make real Mexican tortillas



Your UpVote, Follow, Repost and Comments support me to keep the...



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.06
ETH 2551.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65