Colombia Part 17 - Paragliding over the city of Medellin (Photos + Videos)

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

27836285_10215625666460586_541552348_o.png

After our little adventurous weekend in Guatapé, Kathi and I went back to Medellin to accomplish one last thing, before we would head to the caribbean: Paragliding!!

I did bungee jumping and skydiving already, but this was the first time doing paragliding. I have to admit that until now, I always was too afraid to do it, because you have to run towards the abyss as if you would be ready to jump and you have to let go totally!! - Which honestly for us Germans can be an issue haha

So we booked the Paragliding tour the moment we got back to our hostel, before we could change our mind and started drinking to be less nervous :D - (Which was a mistake, because the next morning we where pretty hangovered :D)

At 9:00hrs we got picked up and had to fill out a few forms, putting our dates, an emergency contact and confirming that this jump happens on our own responsability.

We also got a bracelet. - Which I later saw was not for the company to check if we payed, but to have our dates and an emergency number on it, in case we crash down and get found after hahahaha

Booking the flight includes an accident insurance covereing up to 50 million COP and medical expenses up to 12 million COP. It is actually an obligation to fill out the forms to get this insurance.

IMG_0820.JPG

From Medellin we where brought to a little village called San Felix, which is located in the mountains, in the surroundings of the city and provides an awesome view!!

27946258_10215650730007159_1593518161_o.png

The company offers all-year round paragliding at Andes mountain launch sites across miles of untouched countryside.

What better way to see South America then from a bird’s eye view, open to the elements, coffee plantations sprawling below, with actual wing-flapping birds circling round your kite?

Medellin, nicknamed the City of Eternal Spring and nestled in the equator-hugging Antioquia Aburra Valley blesses nearby launch sites with weather so favourable that hang glider and paraglider pilots can fly every day of the day.

Getting to the spot we had to climb up a lot of stairs to get to the actually jumping spot.

ds.png

Within just a few minutes we got our very handsome and friendly pilots, that had like most of them, at least more than 5 years experience and spoke well English. Mine strapped me up pretty fast, we took a "last picture" and where ready to jump.

GOPR0878.JPG

I didn’t have time to be nervous. Health and Safety isn’t really a concept yet in Colombia so I was strapped into a helmet and harness and running off a cliff.

Medellin city sprawled below, snuggled next to waterfalls and coffee plantations and we followed the flight path of birds to catch the best thermals. The Antioquia region, located at the end of a string of green Andes mountains offers several scenic launch sites.

27907218_10215625631699717_970002413_o.png

27787353_10215625401773969_843855252_o.png

27906478_10215625436574839_1205108835_o.png

Pablo, my pilot told me, that his favorit sites around Medellin are Damasco, Cerro Amarillo and Jerico. It is a valley watered by five rivers, which creates an excellent landscape difficult to forget.

He told me, that because of the very good weather conditions the pilots are able to jump all year long, which has forested a community of both, competitive and recreational, experienced pilots.

I always thought, that at paragliding you jump, fly down and land somewhere... but this time was different. We used the wind to slowly go up.

27836285_10215625666460586_541552348_o.png

27835403_10215625432894747_1555864740_o.png

From up there the view was impressive and we where actually flying together with some really big birds around us! I love being in the air feeling this freedom, forgetting all problems and concerns of life for a few minutes, feel the wind in my face and just feel the freedom enjoying a beautiful view over the landscape of Medellin.

27951382_10215625428574639_180440414_o.png

27946378_10215650995813804_2101618509_o.png

Pablo told me that his favorite view is on rainy days. They just watch the big clouds passing by or enjoy the sunset with a spectacle of light coming through.

27951029_10215651013974258_230242444_o.png

27947238_10215650990933682_1233082436_o.png

Medellin’s growing reputation as a paragliding hub, which also gives a different view on city marred by drug-fueld violence.

It is a city full of contrasts, going through a bit change after the mess that the big drug lord Pablo Escobar let them. There are many friendly people with a good smile, eager to show visitors that they are truly a thriving town full of hopes and lots of energy to share with people who want to see that violence is not everything.

After reaching a certain hight Pablo started a maneuver to get closer to the spot, where we jumped. We went fast down doing circles... at that moment I felt my hangover again :D but it was still a lot of fun - a bit like riding a roller coaster.

27907400_10215625697861371_477147718_o.png

0.png

From here we went down pretty fast where I watched the others for a bit and waited for Kathi to come down... she did jump after me.

27950430_10215651056695326_1514423483_o.png

27989909_10215651097936357_204672370_o.png

The jump lasts in total between 10 and 30 minutes. Depending on the pilot and the climate conditions. We where really lucky with the weather, because it was warm, but we still had enough wind to go up pretty high.

So after a while Kathi also landed, happy to be back and ready for lunch :D

ds.png

27946780_10215651109136637_1262114670_o.png

27999105_10215651124657025_2136230408_o.png

28034313_10215651121656950_247982637_o.png

I loved it !! It was a big step to finally do it and jump! - But it was totally worth it and I will definitely do it again someday!

As always I hope you liked my post and I am grateful for every Upvote, Resteem and Commentary as you are supporting my travels with it!!!

Cheers,
Liz

If you want to read more about my previouse adventures check out the last posts here!

Colombia Part 1: Bogota D.C. - A city full of history and culture!

Colombia Part 2: Guatavita Lagoon, The Muisca Civilisation and The Legend of "El Dorado"

Colombia Part 3 - The Salt Cathedral of Zipaquirá (Fotos + Video)

Colombia Part 4 - Adventure time at the Natural Pools of Guejar River in the Jungle (Photos + Videos)

Colombia Part 5 - Flying to Macarena National Park being a Copilot

Colombia Part 6 - The Rainbow River at Macarena National Park

Colombia Part 7 - Riding Motor Bike and Chilling in the Pools of the Tatacoa Desert

Colombia Part 8 - Enjoying civilization in Cali!

Colombia Part 9 - Living with the president of the orchids club,helping her out at the green house

Colombia Part 10 - Hiking and Feeding Hummingbirds in the middle of the impressive Flora of Montanitas

Colombia Part 11 - Visiting the typical colonial city of Salento

Colombia Part 12 - Learning how to make coffee at a real coffee farm in Salento

Colombia Part 13 - Horseback riding to a waterfall and hiking at Cocora Valley

Colombia Part 14 - Swimming at the hot springs of Santa Rosa de Cabal

Colombia Part 15 - Doing an adventurous Graffiti Tour through the Favelas of Medellin at Commune 13

Colombia Part 16 - Ziplining, hiking, blow jumping and jet skiing at the lagunas of Guatapé

Sort:  

What an exeptionell experience that must have been. Thanks for sharing your trip to Kolumbien😃

It really was nice! Thanks for stopping by. I appreciate your interest in my trip! - I guess I just learned from the best about how to enjoy a trip properly... ;) Steem on! I can see you are doing well.

Nice post thanks for sharing ......resteemed

Thanks man, that is nice from you! :)

wow I want also try this in the future How it was?

Hey! I see you love adventure too, thats great! I will check out your account. It was awesome!! Way better than bungee, a bit similar as skydive, but way more relaxing than I thought. The view is just incredible and you feel like you are flying while you also feel super safe!

Wow! Haven't followed you for a while because I've been distracted by other things (mostly family), so it's good to see you are still traveling and enjoying life! I did parachuting in the army but repetitive training and a jumpmaster screaming commands always got me to exit the aircraft. I'm afraid of heights so would never do civilian skydiving, or now that you've shown me, paragliding! Good to experience it through your eyes. Stay safe.

Hey! Good to see you! Hope you are well :) Of course I am still enjoying life! ;) - Hope you are too. I send you greetings, stay safe too!

Not traveling this winter due to some minor health issues which nevertheless need some attention, so this is our world:

IMG_9352.JPG

Out shortly to clear the drive again because freezing rain is on the way and it will be quite the mess if it gets into the snow and then freezes! On the whole I'd rather be in Portugal!

Best wishes, and don't get too much sun!

Oh no!!! Seems like fun but like for one day haha hope you guys are not too cold and you are getting better soon!!! I really miss summer and the beach since I am in Paris!!... lets hope that winter is over soon :D

Mega genial! :)

Hey! Nice dich hier zu sehen! Hoffe bei dir läuft alles gut soweit?! kommst du dieses Mal nach München zum Meetup?!:D LG

wow it seems you had much fun paragliding ,,,its the best sport ever :)..glad that i discovered your id on steemit

Hey @bibkchhetri! Thanks! It is really cool yes! And we had the perfect weather :).. Good to see you here.

yes followed ..hope to see more posts in future ...i was enjoying while watching your videos......visit nepal for extreme paragliding adventure ;)

Heya, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in our Daily Travel Digest!

Cool thanks!!! I still support your idea and hope you are doing well. Of course my next posts about South America will be linked too.. I saw that you dont have that much there. Have a nice day!

Doing great and the map has been growing like crazy! Yeah, South America is still looking pretty empty so it will be awesome to see your future posts show up there!

Cool! That´s great! Congrats. I will go on linking my posts to the map :)

Your pictures look amazing! Can't wait to paraglide again. For me the idea to jump out of a plain is more scarier! But a skydive is still on my bucketlist as well.

Skydiving is totally different but also awesome!!! So weird to fly in a plane with the door open ;) But at least you are not alone. At paragliding the pilot jumps on in the very last moment... if he dosn´t make it you are by yourself hahaha :D - At least it feels like that. Cheers, liz

Did you know you can win SBD by participating in "FIVE WORD STORIES" challenge?!

You can read about the challenge HERE and participate by submitting your story in the comments section of the challenge entries which you can find HERE. You will have the chance to win SBD in this challenge.

I'd be happy to see you around my friend!
NOTE: Your participation is through commenting on the challenge photos I post, not posting photos

Happy Steeming!
5WS_icon copy.png

Aw that looks like fun indeed~ I think I like that better than sky diving.

Its totally different. I think both are genius and have their pros and cons :D But paragliding is a real alternative to those who are too afraid of skydiving.

True. Am not too brave to go sky diving I think.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67900.86
ETH 3250.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63