Colombia Part 9 - Living with the president of the orchids club,helping her out at the green house (Fotos + Video)

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

10.JPG
2.1.JPG

As I told you in my last post, after visiting Cali I was heading to a friends place, that I met at Macarena National Park: Leticia Abdala Berzunza

This nice woman invited me to her house, while we where hiking next to the Rainbow River 1 week earlier, so when I was in Cali staying at the hostel, I sent her a message and she picked me up to bring her to her finca in las montanitas, close to the city.

25551419_10215152765078347_16315822_o.png

On our way we went to buy some food for a big event coming up. As I found out, Leticia was the president of the orchids club in Colombia and about to organize a meeting (out of cortesy) for people interested in orchids to teach them how to treat them well.

So when we got to her wonderful house I was really surprised! It was a wonderful peaceful place in the mountains, with awesome flora and a beautiful view of Cali.

1.2.JPG

1.1.JPG

Right next to her Finca, she and her husband have big greenhouses and a laboratary to cultivate ochids.

1.3.JPG

1.4.JPG

1.9.JPG

1.8.JPG

1.6.JPG

1.5.JPG

She immediately showed me around and offered me to teach me a bit about orchids, giving me the chance to work with her and helping them out, while I also could stay as long as I wanted to.

So as Leticia is mexican and I used to live in Mexico, the first task was to prepare Tacos a la Cochinita for the group which would come for class, and move the furniture in the living room to make space for the presentation.

I also learned a lot at this presentation like: How do I know that my plant is sick, has some kind of fungus, needs more water or less sun etc. and what can I do about it.

1.9.1..JPG

1.JPG

The food we made was amazing!! I mean.. I like Colombian food, but to be honest I missed the mexican food already and for me it was like being at home for a while, which is awesome if you are backpacking on the road for that long.

And everybody that knows me would confirm if I say that food just makes me happy! :)

11.JPG

13.JPG

So I stayed a few days with Leticia helping her with the greenhouse having a little break of travel. She even got a steemit account after all: @viveromediodapa, but she didn´t start posting yet.

Here some general information about this plants:

  • The Orchidaceae are a diverse and widespread family of flowering plants, with blooms that are often colourful and fragrant, commonly known as the orchid family.

  • Along with the Asteraceae, they are one of the two largest families of flowering plants. The Orchidaceae have about 28,000 currently accepted species, distributed in about 763 genera.

  • Regardless, the number of orchid species nearly equals the number of bony fishes and is more than twice the number of bird species, and about four times the number of mammal species.

4.8.JPG

Orchids are easily distinguished from other plants, as they share some very evident, shared derived characteristics, or "apomorphies". Among these are: bilateral symmetry of the flower, many resupinate flowers, a nearly always highly modified petal, fused stamens and carpels, and extremely small seeds.

The Orchidaceae are well known for the many structural variations in their flowers:

Some orchids have single flowers, but most have a racemose inflorescence, sometimes with a large number of flowers. The flowering stem can be basal, that is, produced from the base of the tuber, like in Cymbidium, apical, meaning it grows from the apex of the main stem, like in Cattleya, or axillary, from the leaf axil, as in Vanda.

3.JPG

3.9.3.JPG

Orchids have many associations with symbolic values. For example, the orchid is the City Flower of Shaoxing, China. Cattleya mossiae is the national Venezuelan flower, while Cattleya trianae is the national flower of Colombia.

Vanda 'Miss Joaquim' is the national flower of Singapore, Guarianthe skinneri is the national flower of Costa Rica and Rhyncholaelia digbyana is the national flower of Honduras.

Prosthechea cochleata is the national flower of Belize, where it is known as the black orchid. Lycaste skinneri has a white variety (alba) which is the national flower of Guatemala, commonly known as Monja Blanca (White Nun).

Panama's national flower is the Holy Ghost orchid (Peristeria elata), or 'the flor del Espiritu Santo'.

8.JPG

3.2.JPG

Orchids native to the Mediterranean are depicted on the Ara Pacis in Rome, until now the only known instance of orchids in ancient art, and the earliest in European art.

I love how this also is a topic, which brings people from all over the world together, exploring more types of orchids and their behavior.

I got to know a few of the names of some orchids like these ones:

24131719_1741560289211242_8389951665486086181_o.jpg

Cattleya trianae

24130436_1741560332544571_8972160936399048134_o.jpg

Cattleya intergossa

24130067_1741560109211260_178094754357911139_o.jpg

LC. Cosmo Cerrito 'Alegrìa'

24173791_1741560035877934_2302795617610795748_o.jpg

Laelia wrigley

24068616_1741560362544568_1247688636198205676_o.jpg

Chun yuang

24131979_1741560152544589_2167753096353653129_o.jpg

Laelia rubescens semialba

24130410_1741560022544602_6445660546750981381_o.jpg

BC. Keowe 'Blueberry'

The others I saw just randomely walking around the greenhouse.

3.1.JPG
3.3.JPG
3.6.JPG
3.7.JPG
3.8.JPG
3.9.1.JPG
3.9.2.JPG
4.1.JPG
4.2.JPG
4.4.JPG
4.JPG
5.3.JPG
5.4.JPG
5.JPG
6.1.JPG
6.4.JPG
6.5.JPG
6.7.JPG
6.8.JPG
6.9.JPG
7.2.JPG
7.6.JPG
7.8.JPG
8.1.JPG
8.5.JPG
7.5.JPG
9.1.JPG
9.JPG

I had a wonderful time staying at Leticias house learning more about the flora of colombia. She was a lovely host and on of these people that you don´t expect, but just show up in the right moment and are so incredibly generouse, eventhough they hardly know you!

I knew from the moment I met her, that I had made a new friend for life and I am grateful for the time she shared with me.

14.JPG

As always I hope you enjoyed my post and I am grateful for every Upvore, Resteem and Comment, because you are supporting my travels with it!

Cheers,
Liz

Colombia Part 1: Bogota D.C. - A city full of history and culture!

Colombia Part 2: Guatavita Lagoon, The Muisca Civilisation and The Legend of "El Dorado"

Colombia Part 3 - The Salt Cathedral of Zipaquirá

Colombia Part 4 - Adventure time at the Natural Pools of Guejar River in the Jungle

Colombia Part 5 - Flying to Macarena National Park being a Copilot ✈

Colombia Part 6 - The Rainbow River at Macarena National Park

Colombia Part 7 - Riding Motor Bike and Chilling in the Pools of the Tatacoa Desert

Colombia Part 8 - Enjoying civilization in Cali!

Sort:  

Amazing lifestyles and beautiful pictures :) In the kingdom of inestimable miracles. I greet you cordially and squeeze you strongly :))

@margaretwise!!!!! You are here again!! I missed you haha! How are you?! As you can see I am back since one week and pretty productive! Can´t wait to go to your profile and see what you where doing while I was traveling with almost no internet. I give you a big hug too!! Good to see you.

What is the World beautiful, wish that everyone could enjoy it. Full of peace and love.

Right??? I love it! This was really an unique experience, living with such nice people in a beautiful environment and great food ;) I love your posts too! Following.

wow! the variety of shapes and colors is just amazing!

yes! I didnt expect to end up in a place like that! I had no idea :D ... So beautiful.

Good photo good post thank You :)

Thanks for stopping by! I tried my best ;) It was really a great experience and totally unexpected.

Asombrosas fotos! algunas similares las veo en méxico mucho, pero las tomas son muy buenas.

Sii, yo tambien reconocí algunas de Mexico! el clima es bastante similar igual, tal vez es por eso. De que parte eres?

Soy de la sierra norte de puebla, cerca hay un lugar que se llama Tenango de las flores y venden todo tipo de orquídeas entre otras flores, qué si tu fotógrafo las tomara, huy, se verían todavía mejor.

awww. que chido! A me me encantó la comida de esa zona!! Pues que bien que te gusta :)
Un saludo.

Schöner Artikel, die Orchideen sehen fantastisch aus! :)

Die Orchideen sind ein Wahnsinn - so schön!

JA, es war wirklich toll dort ein paar Tage zu verbringen in Mitten der Natur :)

Hermoso lugar y fantásticas las fotos de las orquídeas. Gracias por compartir.

Gracias amigo, de mi querido Mexico! - Un saludo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09