KasiaTravels on a budget: Solo backpacking - on a budget - in Latin America. (Part 1: “When you finally decide to do it!")

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

KasiaTravels on a budget.
Solo backpacking - on a budget - in Latin America.
Part 1: “When you finally decide to do it!"

My Dear Steemian friends!

Today I want to come back with you to a crucial moment in my life! The moment when I decided to solo backpack in Central and South America.

DSC00934 (Copy)a.jpg

(Warning: this post turned out to be pretty personal. I didn’t expect it, as I am rather a private person. But I guess once you start to write about your own experiences, it only makes sense if you are honest with yourself and the reader.)

perua.jpg

Exploration. This word brings excitement, thrill, and a smile on my face. This is what the curious types want to do.

Back in 2014, for a quite some time, I was already dreaming of packing my backpack and fly away to an unknown, to discover exotic landscapes, cultures, languages, food… (I know that this sounds like a cliché…But our lives are also built from clichés, at least mine is, and I refuse to be ashamed of it. ;) ) I was already traveling a bit, but mostly within Europe or not super far from it (like Georgia, Armenia, and Egypt).

I would like to be able to say about myself that I always, since a little kid, wanted to travel. But it wouldn’t be the truth. I didn’t. This part of my nature was asleep for a long time. I come from a rather modest family. Me and my brothers, we are the first generation who acquired university degrees. We were always spending our childhood, carefree holidays in simple cottages somewhere in Poland. And I was never feeling bad about it because I simply didn’t know people who could afford to live differently.

In high school, my Mom bought me 10 days long holiday in Italy. I was seventeen. I still remember how I felt seeing, for the first time in my file, this beautiful, clear blue Adriatic Sea. I was sitting in a bus, hooked by the view. And hoping that other teenagers wouldn’t see my tears.

Let me tell you, once awakened, the traveler/explorer part of your soul stays satisfied just for a brief moment. And then the urge for new experiences hits you back. Do you know the feeling?

DSC00941 (Copy)a.jpg

When I decided to take my time off from work and my life in Kraków (Cracow, in Poland - for those among you who do not yet!;) know this beautiful city in the Central-East part of Europe), I had plenty ideas in my head on how to spend this period. But there came a problem. Once you have too many options – how to choose the best one? And unfortunately, I always tend to seek for the best option, not feeling satisfied with second best and so on. You get the idea. How do I want to travel (slow travel or visiting as much as possible?), do I want to do the voluntary work (and if yes, whether with children or animals?), or do I want to focus on learning new things (sport, dance, other creative stuff?)?

DSC00542 (Copy)a.jpg

I had a little more than 4 months at my disposal. Some of you will say that it’s a lot. And obviously, I was thinking the same at first! I knew that my budget is very tight, and I was convinced that I don’t even want to leave Europe for longer than this period.

DSC00968 (Copy).JPG

Hard choices.
As you may have already noticed from my introductory post I love sport! I cannot stay still, I always need to move. I can lose myself in a supermarket and start to dance to a song that I find energetic! (So if you ever see a person like me, smile and don’t judge! ;))

I knew 2 things: I have 4 months + tight budget. I felt I want to travel to South America, as since university times this was my dream! On the other hand, I was charmed by stunning Australia.
I also felt that among all the sports I would like to profit and learn to surf! Those 2 regions were perfect for this activity, so I had to dig dipper.

I spent a week on reading surfing forums, I was looking for any ideas and suggestions for people like me, who never surfed before. I decided that, taking the date of my departure into consideration, the best option is to fly to Latin America, to Costa Rica to be more precise. And straight away I felt that this is a right decision! I felt calm.

What about others?
Exactly, what about others? Why does this topic even occurs here? The answer is simple. We care about our loved ones and we want them to support us no matter what.

P1080782 (Copy) 2.jpg

I knew I had to communicate my decision, to travel for 4 months in Latin America, to the dearest and most important person in my life - my Mom. I was expecting her fear or attempts to change my mind. But she was very kind, supportive and understanding! She understood that I have already made my decision. She knew that I am independent and that I can take care of myself.

To be honest I didn’t experience any negative or discouraging comments either from my family, friends or other people that somehow got to know about my travel. On the contrary. I was praised for being adventurous and courageous, for "having the balls".;) Nevertheless, I was constantly hearing the exact same thing: “If only I …”! “If only I were younger!”. „If only I had more money in my bank account!”. “If only I didn’t have this credit!”. "If only I were single!". And so on and so forth! Excuses. Most people are too afraid to see and understand that we are the ones who limit our own life. And that we are the one in charge of it! Be bold. Learn to hear your intuition. Breath. Feel the ease and flow.

Sending joy!
Kasia

Sort:  

Was your 3nd picture taken at Tayrona - Colombia? Spend a night in the hut on the rock in the background back in 2014 after the 5 day hike tot Ciudad Persia.

Great of you that you take the step and follow your dream!!! I was thinking about it for years, specialty after a 1 month solo trip a the Philippines but there was always too much going on to do it. I don't regret it because I try to spend every vacation day I have traveling and I'm proud of all the pasport stamps and memories I collected but still a little bit of jealousy is coming up when I read your post :-)

You are so brave! Keep going! 😊

Thank you! you made me blush! :)

hi kasia, cool post. i dont think it was to personal at all. i probably feels this way when you are the person writing it, but it sounds very relatable. i think costa rica was probably also budgetwise the better decision than australia. i can understand you were not always interested in traveling. it was the same for me. dont even know why. looking forward to more insightful post from you in the future. where are you headed next?

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote!

Thanks for this comment! it means a lot! i 've recently moved to Barcelona so I'll be exploring Spain ;)

amazing story

Thank you :)

Great post, and I love the pictures! I took a year out to live and travel in Latin-America last year. I'm currently in Mexico, but going to move back to Europe next month. Most people have said to me how "brave" I was, and luckily I didn't experience any negative comments when I decided to travel either. I feel like it was a very good decision, and I have learnt so much. Found new hobbies, and changed as a person in a good way. I look forward to hearing more about your adventures!

thank you for your comment! One year you say! that's amazing! i'm so jealous! what did you do exactly? Latin America is great and so different than Europe!

I've done a few things like volunteering at an animal hospital, yoga teacher training, lots of scuba diving :-) Visited Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba..but mainly Mexico.

Sounds great!! keep posting about your experiences!

Congratulations! You are very brave, how good you decided to do it,personally I do not like that kind of experiences, I prefer comfort, I have a cousin who did it in a different way, got a job on a cruise that traveled through Europe, South America and that's how he decided to travel the world, and at the same time that he acquired the experience of knowing places, at the same time he earned money, and he did it safely, it also seemed a good option, but the important thing is to make the decision and do it, many of us just stayed with the intention of doing it.

So true! thank you for your comment! I guess the most important is to follow your inner voice. If you feel you need to stay in your comfort zone - that's absolutely fine!

Hi there, @k-a-s-i-a! I too have tried traveling solo (in Tokyo), and it has been one of the most life-changing and memorable experiences in my life. There's nothing like being the captain of your own ship -- the feeling of independence and success at being able to explore a different country all one is truly exceptional! I'd love to hear about what exactly you did when you went to Latin America!

How I wish I have also discovered my love for the outdoors sooner! My parents were also understanding when I first told them about my plan to travel solo. After my trip, I do want to keep it as my annual goal to travel alone to someplace new. :)

Here's to more solo trips! <3

Cheers to solo trips!!!

Sounds like i do enjoy the exact same thing, however i wish my family would be little more understanding. BUT that of course is not a reason to just goo!!! :P

I totally agree that the experiences i made are life changing!! following you aswell

cheers to solo trips! :)

In my opinion, traveling solo is quite an expensive and risky hobby, but it's really worth everything you're going to experience. :) Where have you traveled to, if I may ask?

True. You meet every kind of people, good and bad. I've only been in Mexico and was on a roadtrip from south to east US coast solo. I'm currently in Marocco but with a friend.

Awesome! Wish I could also travel as much as I wanted to right now! I definitely want to visit Morocco as well :)

such a nice comment! i'm so happy so hear that people here have the same experiences! I would love to go to Japan one day! sending love! :)

Yes, you definitely should check it out! You won't regret it! I still want to return to Japan even until today, since I know there's so much more to discover. :)

Its really awesome !

nice place and mountaines

I was in your city for a day a few years ago, but I loved Poland in general. Looks like you are ready to get on a plane @k-a-s-i-a . If you want to do South America on a shoe string. Look at websites like work away. Here in Lobitos, Peru (on the sea with lots of surfing) there are loads of places offering room and a meal or two. Just have to do a few hours volunteering (front desk, marketing, cleaning, gardening etc). I see loads and loads of travelers doing this now.

Thank you for your comment! :) i'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Kraków!! btw. I was thinking of doing work away, actually! I did subscribe. i just realised i do not have enough time;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61740.86
ETH 3453.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51