BoldspiritTravels on a budget: My Cartagena, Colombia #2 [Solo backpacking on a budget in Latin America]

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hi Guys!

2.jpg

9.jpg

You may have already noticed that I fell in love with Cartagena de Indias. I didn’t even plan to travel to the Caribbean part of Colombia. I was already for a month in Costa Rica. I stayed in the Pacific Ocean part of the country so I figured that I don’t need more time on a sea/beach side. But then I was told about this amazing opportunity to do scuba diving and PADI Open Water Certificate in the north part of Colombia. So I changed my plans and arrived in Cartagena!

12.jpg

It was absolutely a great idea. The Caribbean seaside to me was much more beautiful than the Pacific side. As I have never before experienced any idyllic beaches, with white sand and super clear water, I was astonished and I felt like I was in paradise for the first time.
Moreover, after more than two weeks in Colombia, it was the first time when I finally felt safe again. At last, I could walk during the night. Alone!

5.jpg

I don’t want to write the same information that are already in my previous post called “Why you will fall in love with Cartagena”.

1.jpg

3.jpg

The first day in the morning I moved to another hostel - ”el viajero”, which was located outside the “party area” of the town. I let my backpack in a dorm and went to explore a bit. :)

7.jpg

8.jpg

I strolled down the narrow streets of the old town and enjoyed little squares with trees and fountains that provide shade so needed in this sunny city. I honestly fell in love with those stunning small buildings covered with bright or pastel colours, with wooden balconies full of flowers! I could imagine myself living in one of those mansions. I just wonder if the amount of tourists is not too overwhelming for its inhabitants in day-to-day life considering a size of Cartagena.

4.jpg

In Plaza de Santo Domingo we can find “La Gorda Gertrudis”, a sculpture made by famous Colombian artist Botero. She attracts a lot of attention and can make some of you blush. ;) (i have written about Botero, his art and his unique museum that is located in Bogota - you can read about it here.

From time to time I like to participate in a “free walking tour”. The idea behind that is that you are not obliged to pay for the tour although if you liked it, you are more than welcome to show your appreciation. So it is “tips” based. The usual tip per person would be around 10 US Dollars. I did that in Copenhagen, Prague, Cartagena, Rio de Janeiro, and Arequipa. And I enjoyed all of them. Therefore I recommend you to try it! How? Just write “free walking tour” and your destination in your internet browser, there are tours in most cities all over the world.

10.jpg

11.jpg

I used this free walking your as first source of knowledge about Cartagena. It lasted 3 hours approximately and we covered more-less most of the touristic attractions.
A minor problem when you travel on your own is that you don’t have a companion who will take photos of you. I rarely use selfie stick and didn’t have one during my backpacking in South America. I didn’t (and still don’t) like the idea of selfies. But I also didn’t want to be a pain and ask others from the group to take photos of me in each attraction. So here I am, without photos that should have been taken in a destination like Cartagena. I won’t become an Instagram/Steepshot queen.;) Though life of a solo traveller. ;)

6.jpg

Thank you for being here with me. I hope until next time!
Pura Vida and enjoy your journey! 💛

Some of my recommendations:

Sort:  

Beautiful, well done on the photos .. the place is really wonderful
Great post from you
Thanks for sharing

Great post, Cartagena looks gorgeous! I'm curious, in your travels in Colombia, have you met many Venezuelans fleeing this situation in their country? I'm hearing many are leaving and entering Colombia and Brazil because it's so tough in Venezuela at the moment...

Nice to read "pura vida"! I lived in Costa Rica for my semester abroad a long time ago, I loved it! Actually had a hard time coming home after my time there :)

yes, Costa Rica can be addictive :) what concerns current situation - it's really sad and i honestly hope it will change soon!:( i was in Colombia in 2015 and i met one girl from Venezuela, she was telling me that the situation wasn't good even back then.. stay strong!!

Good read! We just gave you a small upvote together with over 50 followers of the @travelfeed curation trail.
Have you heard of @travelfeed? Using the #travelfeed tag rewards authors and content creators who produce exceptional travel related content, so be sure to tag #travelfeed in your next travel posts (minimum 250 words) for a chance to get much bigger upvotes, resteems and be featured in our curation posts!
Find out more!

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

i'm planning on joining you guys on discord! have a great day and thank you for noticing my post! :)

Loved your post! If you are still in Cartagena, you can try the following restaurant I highly recommend:
https://steemit.com/travel/@roger-that/a-short-trip-to-cartagena-colombia

no, unfortunately i'm not there anymore :( but will use your suggestion next time! :)

Very beautiful architecture everywhere in that city and the colors are keeping it alive. Nice shots and enjoy your time :)

Thank you :) I'm sure you would love it! :)

Wow, that balcony with plants looks so GREAT! Keep on exploring the world! :)

those balconies were one of my favourite features of Cartagena's architecture style! :)

Lovely photography of lovely buildings with great lovely colours and your story also lovely!

i love it too, thank you:)

Fantastic very interesting post friend regards

A very colorful and interesting city indeed!

absolutely! one of the kind and very charming:)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=k-a-s-i-a
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=boldspirittravels-on-a-budget-my-cartagena-colombia-2-solo-backpacking-on-a-budget-in-latin-america


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94