Travel: Four seasons a day 🌦

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

We left Abel Tasman yesterday with beautiful sunny skies and the temperature around 20 degrees. Last night we hit -2 and today we’ve experienced snow, rain and sunshine. Really experiencing the 4 seasons a day!

We woke up and made us instantly a cup of coffee. The blanket we got with the van is a little too small for two people. So when you combine that fact together with temperatures below zero. You can conclude that sleeping in a van doesn’t make you feel comfy!

Mount Robert

We drove to the Mount Robert looptrack and al you see is trees trees and even more trees until you reach the Nelson Lakes National Park. The track is located by the beautiful lake Rotoiti. It is located above the beautiful shores of this lake.

Moment of arrival a DoC ranger and keeper of the campsite came through us with the question if we were properly equipped because on the top it’s gonna be bad later today. Well of course we said and showed our gear with a wink 😉 We parked our van en got out for a new adventure! The track is fairly easy but I thought some parts were quit steep, but my girlfriend won’t agree with that I think😅

We did the track clockwise and thinking back that is the best way to do this track. It brings you through the forest and then above the treeline you get great non-stop views. Halfway we got again in a small forest. Not as beautiful as the first lower forest but now imagine this forest covered with a bit of ⛄️. Yes we were lucky to catch some snowflakes at the highest part of the walk! And then I got lucky the way back to the van was kinda steep going through a forest again. So no climbing but going down at the hardest part yeah!

Autumn tunes 🍁

From Mount Robert back to the eastern parts of the north coast. We’re getting close to our ferry transport from the south to the north island.

We wanted to drive the Port Underwood road a drive along different beach coves. Before we got there we had a very scenic drive through vineyards for miles and miles long. Leaves already started to turn from green to yellow. Amazing scenery if you’re only used to small French vineyards. The only break we allowed for our self was a refill at the supermarket for gas and new food supplies.

Monkey bay and the whoosh cave

The first stop was Rarangi beach. Damn this beach is loooong! Black sand with gravel making a lot of noise with the waves crashing in. 😎

Next to this beach we found a little cove called Monkey Bay. Just got there in time few minutes over high tide. So the beach got bigger in this cute little cove, but we’re also lucky to hear the deep bass wooosh generated by a cave with a connection to the ocean somewhere. Waves rolling in created this nice sound. We grabbed a muffin and enjoyed the sounds of it while sitting on a rock seeing the sun gets down behind the mountain. 🤣 Sorry still not used to see the sun not going under water!

Cave exploring

Next to the entrance for this cove we found an entrance to a small cave behind some trees and bushes. First encounter in wildlife with a huge Weta. Pre historic insect only living in New Zealand. Looks scary but doesn’t harm any people. There are 70 different species living here but close to extinction... 😕

Back to the cave this one is actually man made by A man calked Daddy Watson. He started digging to create a tunnel to a cove along the mountain but never got there. But it’s a 60 metres deep and as a little surprise we spotted some glowworms🎉

After we got out we needed to find a camping spot along the road. So we could stay at the payed campsite at the Rarangi beach or start with the fun. Why fun with a coastal road? This one is scenic, steep, small, winding and most part a gravel road, so that’s why fun! Oh and it is leading through Picton in the end to catch our ferry.

Robin Hood bay

We found a nice spot in a bay called Robin Hood. With a sandy beach, smashing waves and a grassy campsite. But more for tomorrow the day ends here.

Sort:  

I'm planning a trip to walk the Abel Tasman at the start of next year. Glad you're enjoying yourselves. Those DOC Rangers are awesome: they really do keep an eye out for people.

Before you go, check if the part of the track you want to follow is open. My girlfriend wasn't happy that her favorite part was closed while we where there.

And yes those DoC rangers are pretty good for the people (also for the nature btw), but when you hear the stories they tell. You know why those rangers are there... Like people who want to walk the Tongariro on flipflops... 🤐

Planning to do only the Abel Tasman, or do you want to see more from New Zealand?

Heh I did the Tongariro crossing Dec 2016. Lovely walk, but yeah, you see unprepared people out on the tracks all the time. My nephew and I probably gave away 1/3 of our water and used the first aid kit to patch up somebody else.
I'm a NZer, so easy enough for me to take a week or two off to see a part of the country. Will probably roadtrip around the top of the Sth Island abit while I'm down there.
Good call on checking which track sections are open.

OMG you're a kiwi, sorry for my tourist wisdom 😅
Did you need the water at the Tongariro crossing?

Little bit jealous about you traveling such a great country so easily. I need to travel the whole world for getting there 😀

Which island are you located?

BTW: great post about your survival kit!

I'm a tourist down that part of the country too. There's no drinkable water sources on the Tongariro crossing - you have to carry it in. Track water is volcanic mineral tainted so boiling and filtering don't help. Check the weather. I carried just over 4 litres because the day was hot. But 2-3 litres each would be fine.
I live in the Nth Island.

Impressive material! I’ll resteem this.
Well you actually got me with the muffin, haha

But seriously talking, the pictures are insane. Are you a world traveler?

Enjoy your trip! 🏄🏼‍♀️🙂🤙

Thanks!

Not a world traveler, but trying to get out of my comfort zone 2/3 times a year for a nice adventure.
Loving the place at the ocean where I live to much 🙂🏄🤙

But trying too get those pics as good as possible, even with my Iphone. My DSLR is already an oldie but stll my favorite toy to play with on these adventures. But can't read my pictures from that one while on the road, so expect those pics later! First good (at least I hope) stories with some pictures!

Ocean or Muffin? 😉

Not a world traveler, but trying to get out of my comfort zone 2/3 times a year for a nice adventure.
Loving the place at the ocean where I live to much 🙂🏄🤙

Then we're in the very same situation and rhythm. I love to travel in order to broaden my horizon, but afterwards I enjoy going back home as well.

Talking about cams: it seems that we bought the DJI Mavic Pro at the very same time --> proof. Yet, I haven't used it since you need a licence at my place, and I'd need to travel to another island to do the trainings... In fact too much time I currently don't have.

I'll take that muffin after my today's surf session :-)

💃🕺 oh yeah beachlife rythms!
You already have some upcoming adventure plans?

Great minds think alike! 😅
To bad you couldn't fly with your Mavic! I already crashed mine just before my trip, now in NZ it didn't always work flawless... So needs to go back to DJi I think. Also lot of signs in NZ where you're not allowed to fly.

What kind of training/certification do you need at your place?
Where is your place actually?

Enjoy the muffin today! Or shall I say the surf?

I'll be in Bali at the end of May in order to witness the WSL :-) It'll be my first time at an official surf event, and I can't wait. Besides that I want to discover the island and also catch some waves by myself.

I wrote an article about the requirements we have regarding drones here in Spain and which are quite extensive: --> dronepilots
I live on Canary Islands, have you been there?

First the surf, then the sweets. These calory bombs need to be earned :-D
It's very windy, so this won't be my best session today. I should try windsurf or kite one day for those days of the year...

Great article you wrote there about the regulations while flying a drone! Is your whole island forbidden without proper certification?

Nice adventure coming up! But where you live there must be tons of surfing events?

Never been on the Canary Islands. I know it's a windsurf walhalla, so I should be one time. My all time surf hero lives there! And you definitly need to learn other surfing options for those windy days (but a windsurfer is telling you this... 😅). Which island are you located?

Enjoy your session today!

Exactly. We’re not allowed to fly the drones without the license. I live on Lanzarote, but learned to surf on Tenerife.

There are a couple of Surf events taking place on Canary Islands, but not the WSL.

Where do you live if you don’t travel?

And who’s your hero if I may ask? Dani Bruch? Bjørn Dunkerbeck? :-)

When you have the certificate you can post it here and on youtube etc. But for now without the certificate I assume you can do practice flights for your own?

Is it easy traveling around the other islands? Guess not otherwise you would have that certificate already... But Canary Islands do have a lot of surf events. My hero has one of its own the speed challenge.

Indeed it's Dunckerback 🤙 Picture is together with @dboontje at Defi wind.

Do you have a (surf)hero?

How did you get your passion for surfing? Just read that you had a break for surfing as well.. Injury?

While not traveling I live in the Netherlands in the southwest. The part where we have (usually small) waves, wind and all the other fun things for surf pleasure. Little walk out of my street and I'm standing with my feet in the water 😍

How was your session today?

Resteeming already worked :-) Cool stuff indeed :D

It definitely worked! I happen to see it twice since I'm a close follower of my buddy @Guchtere. But you guys wait till he uploads his DSLR work. That is some serious artwork which I can't get enough of.. Greet job

Hey @dboontje! Nice to meet you.
If you're @guchtere's buddy then you must be a nice guy, too :-))

We'll stay tuned for the DSLR show, promised!

@surfermarley Yeah great stuff, and I follow you for a while now. Such interesting places you go to. I am in Israel right now and theres lots of surfing going on. Have you been in Israël as well?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67599.37
ETH 3782.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49