Sort:  

Before you go, check if the part of the track you want to follow is open. My girlfriend wasn't happy that her favorite part was closed while we where there.

And yes those DoC rangers are pretty good for the people (also for the nature btw), but when you hear the stories they tell. You know why those rangers are there... Like people who want to walk the Tongariro on flipflops... 🤐

Planning to do only the Abel Tasman, or do you want to see more from New Zealand?

Heh I did the Tongariro crossing Dec 2016. Lovely walk, but yeah, you see unprepared people out on the tracks all the time. My nephew and I probably gave away 1/3 of our water and used the first aid kit to patch up somebody else.
I'm a NZer, so easy enough for me to take a week or two off to see a part of the country. Will probably roadtrip around the top of the Sth Island abit while I'm down there.
Good call on checking which track sections are open.

OMG you're a kiwi, sorry for my tourist wisdom 😅
Did you need the water at the Tongariro crossing?

Little bit jealous about you traveling such a great country so easily. I need to travel the whole world for getting there 😀

Which island are you located?

BTW: great post about your survival kit!

I'm a tourist down that part of the country too. There's no drinkable water sources on the Tongariro crossing - you have to carry it in. Track water is volcanic mineral tainted so boiling and filtering don't help. Check the weather. I carried just over 4 litres because the day was hot. But 2-3 litres each would be fine.
I live in the Nth Island.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68168.17
ETH 3256.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67