Happy in Huachachina, Peru [Drone Photography Of The Desert]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel6 years ago

Don't you just love digging through your archives of photos and footage?

That's exactly what I've been doing as I get used to Steemit and think about the type of content I'd like to create.

I want to be open about the fact I'm still finding my voice and style on here, so thought I'd share some highlights of my most memorable trips to date.

Today's post is going to revolve around my visit to the incredible desert town of Huacachina in Peru.

[read desert as in sandy place, not dessert as in the the sweet course eaten at the end of a meal].

04su3o6dn0.jpg

The story behind the famous oasis is as follows:

"According to legend, a hunter caught a beautiful Incan princess walking in the sand dunes near present day Huacachina. As she walked and admired herself in a mirror she was carrying, her eyes caught his voyeuristic gaze. Shocked, the princess began to flee and dropped her mirror. It exploded into shards and the glass became a tiny pool in the desert, consuming the princess and turning her into a mermaid."

Indeed, here are some other interesting facts aboutthe area:

  • The famous Huacachina oasis features on the back of the Peruvian 50 Sol note
  • The oasis is drying up over time because the area sees so little rain
  • Tens of thousands of tourists visit Huacachina every year, though the number of permanent inhabitants is only thought to be around 100
  • The dune buggies popular in the area are know as areneros
  • Some of the dunes reach 325 feet tall
  • The waters were once rumored to have medicinal properties

I was desperate to visit this interesting and beautiful site but was worried; several sites in Peru had signs specifically banning drones, like this one by the Maras salt flats:

xi8seeu6e7.jpg

Still, having invested in a DJI Spark a few months before leaving, I wasn't going to miss this opportunity.

Having done my research and checked it was legal and safe to use it [essential before flying a drone], up it went.

Now, time for the photos:

e5pbljvlgt.png

i54is589g2.png

si1cd72rh1.jpg

It's worth mentioning that the Spark has a battery life of only about 15 mins, and though I have three batteries, I only used two on the day and as a result felt a bit more rushed than I'd normally like.

I'm also not the first class photographer that many other travel bloggers and drone owners are but hey ho, you work with what you can!

Still, I'm happy with how they came out.

sxkfkotx2v.png

u9uipymttj.png

lv973u75sy.png

Don't worry, the DTube video will come in due course, once I've got used to Steemit and everything here first.

dtg8kglrzl.png

In the meantime, you can see a video I put together at the time here on Facebook. When I get the time I'll cut it all together again and hopefully make an even stronger video second time around.

5ciwanii1h.png

What's been one of your favourite places to visit?

Do you have a drone footage you want to share?

I'd love to see, hear and read all your stories and experiences.

Sort:  

Hey, I stumbled across your page and I see that we share the same passion for travel! Let's stay in touch :-)

Hi @josefinemk - thanks for the message and it's great to hear from you.

Yes I've just scanned your page and you're right; we do! Looks like you've been on Steemit for a while, and I'm sure I can learn a lot from you so might drop you a message separately. Have given your page a follow, would love to stay in touch and follow each other's journeys.

I have, but I haven't been that active for the past couple of months since uni's been very busy. And yes, please do so! Are you on Instagram too? :-)

Congratulations @goodwithtravels! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations! Your high quality-travel content caught our attention and has earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content. Thank you for using #travelfeed

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

20 SBD Up For Grabs in the TF Cup! - learn more about the contest here 👈

Lovely captures man, I am in love

Thanks! Nice to be able to stay in touch with each other's experiences

Congratulations @goodwithtravels! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58981.78
ETH 2669.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44