Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Would you follow me today walking and cycling in Ban A Hi, a small village of north-east Thailand, located at 55 kilometers of Loei and just on the Lao border because you might see places that you have never seen before?

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

Ban A Hi is the native village of my wife and this is the map. If you want to get there, you might want to read my previous post: Bangkok to Loei Trip with Air Asia!

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

This is where my wife and I had our traditional Thai wedding on 13 May 2008, nearly ten years ago, and we visit about twice a year.

Wedding-Tangkua-Michel-130508-171.JPG

All photos are mine and taken with my Samsung phone.

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

We usually wake up early in Ban A Hi like all the villagers who either go to their rice fields and orchards, or enjoy the festivities of the moment.

Every time we go there is some kind of festivities and the music can be turned on very loud early in the morning and all day long, even late at night. I invite you to watch the video at the end of this post to have a feel of the village ambience.

Walking in Ban A Hi

Going far away in an isolated village is not going to stop me from walking and exercising. Walking is easy as it can be done anywhere even if it's walking in circles like I did in Koh Chang: A Day at the Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

This is where I started at about 6:30 a.m. from the house.

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

There are many dogs on the road, so it's best to be careful when passing them.

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

I like to walk on this road because you are alone very quickly, with just a few cows or passing motorcycles.

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

Isn't that a great photo where I look refreshed with the cool breeze of the morning?

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

That's the direction back to the village.

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

I didn't notice this beautiful house last time I came, it must belong to the new richest man in the village!

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

That is the main road and here too, you have to be careful of dogs and drunk drivers.

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

The street at the right is where our parents' house is located.

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

That's the one with the newer yellow wooden wall at the right.

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

Cycling in Ban A Hi

As there is no fitness equipment available, I thought that cycling would be a good substitute. I cycled a little more than 5 kilometers, stopping on the way to take the photos I am sharing with you now.

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

This is the entrance gate of the temple Wat Mueang Tum Thammaram (วัดเมืองตูมธรรมาราม).

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

Here is the map of where it is located at the end of Ban A Hi.

Address: Highway 2195, Tha Li, Amphoe Tha Li, Chang Wat Loei 42140

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

You are first greeted by these statues.

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

A Buddha.

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

This is the main hall where celebrations usually take place.

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

A monk cleaning the area with 3 elephants.

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

A beautiful temple.

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

I know people who won't like to go there at night!

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

That's a road in the forest on the temple's ground going to the river.

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

The other side of the river is Laos.

I believe you can walk there.

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

This is another building in the temple.

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

Thai Buddhist funeral urns are all around the wall of the temple.

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

It's time to ride to another place now.

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

This is now an area at the other end of the village where you can find another temple and the school.

This is the map.

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

First, the temple Wat Siri Mongkol (วัดศิริมงคล).

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

This is where all festivities are organized and often, it looks more like an amusement park than a temple.

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

Let's continue the ride!

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

This is the village's school Chumchon Ban A HI School (โรงเรียนชุมชนบ้านนาฮี)

Address: Highway 2195, Tha Li, Amphoe Tha Li, Chang Wat Loei 42140.

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

This is the school where my wife spent her primary education.

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

The play ground that looks very tired…

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

A huge football field.

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

The trash containers recycled from tires.

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

A bit further there is a Kindergarten school, which looks pretty new.

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

Next to it I found outdoor fitness equipment, but that's better not to use them as they seem to be in poor conditions.

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

A couple of cows.

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

Heading back to the house where I pass the village's market. I have hardly seen anything sold here, I might go the wrong times.

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

A nice welcome message that says, "A Hi is a pleasant village, people are lovely!"

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

I am back home now after the ride, and it is time for breakfast.

You can see my parents-in-law and my wife with Isaan food that we eat on the floor.

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

I am having a hard time eating this very specific regional food.

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

I like the sticky rice with fried sun-dried meat and I try to eat more fruits. My wife also prepares other things that I can eat, thank you!

A few sweets, banana and a kind of caramel custard with sweet sticky rice.

Walking and Cycling in Ban A Hi!

That's it and as promised at the beginning of this post, this is a 10-minute static video just to give you some sound ambience of the place.

If you want to go straight to the music, go to 3:10.

I hope that you liked the post and all the photos, as well as the music in the video.

All photos are mine and taken with my Samsung phone.

Would you upvote this post and follow me for more because this will encourage me to write more travel posts like this one?

Would you please help @jerrybanfield become a top 10 Witness because you can help funding projects to build Steem as explained here? Vote for jerrybanfield as a witness or set jerrybanfield as a proxy to handle all witness votes at https://steemit.com/~witnesses. Read the 5 reasons why I'm voting for Jerry Banfield as a witness and how to vote in my post. You may be interested to read: What is a Steem Witness, How to Vote and Why?

Michel Gerard

www.michelgerardonline.com

Sort:  

what about the cycling experience?
i like cycling but in these days no cycling trend in cities.

That was great to be able to go farther than walking and a nice environment.

Cycling is also a good exercise.
Area is also beautiful and near to nature.

wow great shots & fun with cycle it is great ...............

I am glad you like it @tanveerali.

What is the reason the food that does not agree with you? And that music! Oh my....

Too much spicy meat and strange taste sauce... As you said, the music... all day long1

wow I hope you very enjoy your Travel and you have given amazing all pitcher i like it

Thank you very much for your comment @juwel2018.

Awesome post with beautiful pictures!!!

Thank you very much @eleftheriosart, I am glad you like the post.

woow the pictures are great and you guy s make a perfect couple

Thank you very much for your kind comment @ireneblessing. I am glad you like the post.

My oh my, these pictures are really captivating. Your wife looks pretty much like you. You both look so fine. The streets, the meals, your wife's primary school, the bike and all other displayed pictures are beautiful. Well done Mr. Gerard

Thank you very much @joshuaetim for reading the post and looking at all the photos. I am glad you liked it.

I love to see this natural place!!! Looks like the Philippines... (^_^)

Thank you very much for commenting @kennyroy, I am glad you like the post.

Yes! I really like it!! Refreshing my mind and my eyes! This is better than Facebook! Always have a problem! LOL...

These surroundings are really cool! All is natural... You can see all around the place in a different area... I hope other travel bloggers can do something like this... This is really it is!!! This is fantastic!!! Keep it up!!!

Thanks a lot.

that's a seriously cool bike ride. I love how it is so rural and it's almost like that nice new house barely fits in. I can't imagine how some popular steemians from there could live. I hope you get some locals involved.

Thank you @cflclosers for your comment. People are really not in technology here... and younger people are in Bangkok.

Very awesome pics, as well as the music in the video, of Thailand, @gmichelbkk. I love them. Gotta go there sometime myself. I've been cycling too in a way, albeit with one leg and one arm, as expressed in my last post.

Thank you very much @positivesynergy for reading the post and listening to the music in the video. I am glad that you liked my post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66274.97
ETH 3175.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06