Bangkok to Loei Trip with Air Asia!

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Today we left home for a trip to Loei where we are visiting family and for the first time we are flying from Bangkok to Loei with Air Asia.

Bangkok to Loei Trip with Air Asia!

Air Asia is one of the low-cost airlines going to Loei.

Bangkok to Loei Trip with Air Asia!

I woke-up a bit earlier than usual today to do my 40-minute exercises because where we are going, there is no Fitness room and equipment. This was a good way to start the day and have a cold coffee to be completely awake. I didn't do my walk, which I can do later anywhere.

Bangkok to Loei Trip with Air Asia - Fitness

We prepared 3 small bags so we don't have to check-in any luggage, and I brought my veggie juice to drink at the airport.

Bangkok to Loei Trip with Air Asia - Luggage

In my previous travel posts last week I complained about how I didn't like to use Taxis because often drivers are speeding too much or you get a smelly car, which make us sick when we arrive at destination. Not to mention that we often feel unsafe using them.

So, we used the Grab app to call a private car, you can see who the driver is, there is a rating and the price is given before you select the car and the driver accepts the drive. It is a bit more expensive than using a Taxi, but I am glad to report, after the second time we use the service, that this is exactly what we needed. Cars are in good condition, the drivers are polite and drive safely.

If you want to use the service, see this: https://www.grab.com/th/en/car

Usually, when we go to Loei to visit my parents in law I drive, and below you can see the map of the journey by car. We always stop at Petchabun for the night in a hotel because the last hundred kilometers are very difficult in the mountain, and the last time I did the trip in one day, I was exhausted.

Bangkok to Loei Trip with Air Asia - Road map

This time we fly to Loei and it is the first time.

Air Asia is a low-cost airline so we have to go to the Don Mueang International Airport, which is not far from home.

Bangkok to Loei Trip with Air Asia - Don Mueang International Airport

They had breakfast at the airport and I had my juice.

Bangkok to Loei Trip with Air Asia - Don Mueang International Airport

There are quite a few places to eat on the second floor.

Bangkok to Loei Trip with Air Asia - Don Mueang International Airport

Bangkok to Loei Trip with Air Asia - Don Mueang International Airport

Bangkok to Loei Trip with Air Asia - Don Mueang International Airport

Bangkok to Loei Trip with Air Asia - Don Mueang International Airport

There was not too many people this morning at Don Mueang.

Bangkok to Loei Trip with Air Asia - Don Mueang International Airport

Bangkok to Loei Trip with Air Asia - Don Mueang International Airport

This is the Air Asia counter at the airport if you need to buy your ticket. We had everything ready, including our boarding passes, printed from the website.

Bangkok to Loei Trip with Air Asia - Don Mueang International Airport

Air Asia is cheap and I have used them on several occasions.

There are only 2 flights per day to Loei with Air Asia.

Bangkok to Loei Trip with Air Asia - Don Mueang International Airport

This is the hall after we went through the luggage check and we had to walk quite a long way to reach the gate.

A nice store.

Bangkok to Loei Trip with Air Asia - Don Mueang International Airport

Many restaurants along the way.

Bangkok to Loei Trip with Air Asia - Don Mueang International Airport

An "Amazing Thailand" airplane!

Bangkok to Loei Trip with Air Asia - Don Mueang International Airport

This is our plane, an Airbus A320.

Bangkok to Loei Trip with Air Asia - Don Mueang International Airport

The trip is only 55 minutes according to this map.

We boarded at 10:00 a.m., took off at 10:30 a.m. and arrived at 11:45 a.m.

Bangkok to Loei Trip with Air Asia - Plane map

The red circle indicates or final destination.

We didn't get 3 seats in a row.

Bangkok to Loei Trip with Air Asia - Air Asia

This time, I felt really cramped in my seat…

Bangkok to Loei Trip with Air Asia - Air Asia

… with my knees touching the seat in front of me.

Bangkok to Loei Trip with Air Asia - Air Asia

This was the view I had during the flight.

Bangkok to Loei Trip with Air Asia - Air Asia

Apparently, they have seats with more space at the front of the plane, but they are more expensive. I don't remember of seating like this in my previous flights with Air Asia, maybe I had a more expensive seat. For a one hour flight this was all right, but I can't imagine seating like this 3 hours…

That's the small Loei Airport.

Bangkok to Loei Trip with Air Asia - Loei Airport

You have to walk to the building a short distance.

Bangkok to Loei Trip with Air Asia - Loei Airport

Bangkok to Loei Trip with Air Asia - Loei Airport

Bangkok to Loei Trip with Air Asia - Loei Airport

Bangkok to Loei Trip with Air Asia - Loei Airport

That's the small room where you collect your luggage.

Bangkok to Loei Trip with Air Asia - Loei Airport

We had a cousin picking us up at the airport and we went to his home for lunch.

Bangkok to Loei Trip with Air Asia - Lunch in Loei

He prepared for us some delicious Thai food that my wife enjoyed, but it was a bit too spicy for me.

Bangkok to Loei Trip with Air Asia - Lunch in Loei

Bangkok to Loei Trip with Air Asia - Lunch in Loei

I had several meat balls.

Bangkok to Loei Trip with Air Asia - Lunch in Loei

This cousin gave us the keys of his car so we can continue our trip to Ban A Hi located at about 62 kilometers from Loei, in the mountain and near the Lao border.

Bangkok to Loei Trip with Air Asia - Our ride

That's the map of the trip by car.

Bangkok to Loei Trip with Air Asia - Road map

Finally we arrived at my parents in law's house at about 3:00 p.m.

Bangkok to Loei Trip with Air Asia - Ban A Hi

This is where Ban A Hi is located, just at the Lao border.

Bangkok to Loei Trip with Air Asia - Ban A Hi

This where I wrote this post for you to enjoy.

Bangkok to Loei Trip with Air Asia - Ban A Hi

I hope that you liked the post and all the photos.

All photos are mine and taken with my Samsung phone.

Would you upvote this post and follow me for more because this will encourage me to write more travel posts like this one?

Would you please help @jerrybanfield become a top 10 Witness because you can help funding projects to build Steem as explained here? Vote for jerrybanfield as a witness or set jerrybanfield as a proxy to handle all witness votes at https://steemit.com/~witnesses. Read the 5 reasons why I'm voting for Jerry Banfield as a witness and how to vote in my post. You may be interested to read: What is a Steem Witness, How to Vote and Why?

Michel Gerard

www.michelgerardonline.com

Sort:  

Great to see others active in and around Thailand! Im from BKK originally but nased in Phuket. Not too far from your recent teip to Phromtheo Cape actually :). Do stop by the Thai community to say hi sometime. Great content and keep up the good work! Liked, followed and reblogged!

Hi K. Cake! @suitcasemama and I are based in BKK! :)

Thank you very much for your comment @ck-cake. I am glad that you like my posts and thank you for the resteem.

Great information about your happy journey with beautiful pictures. I like it very much. You are looking very smart and fresh.
Thanks for sharing these beautiful pictures.

Thank you very much @bangash for your kind words in this comment.

I guess due to lowest fare airline, it has tiny leg space.
You are almost at the edge of country, as I can see Laos border!

Yes, @gpalav, they try to fit as many people as possible in there. Unfortunately there is no regular airline going there, so no choice except paying a bit more next time. On the other site of the river it's Laos, I could swim there or walk as the water level is low.

hmm... why so grumpy with the burger at the airport? looks good enough for me.:-)

@happydolphin, thank you for commenting. It was not to her taste I guess.

you're welcome. i have to guess she takes to mother's asian tongue.

She is more fluent in English, then Thai (mother tongue) and French (father tongue).

but her taste is more Thai or Western?

More western.

Then the burger is not up to her standard

Wow you have shown your journey in such a wonderful way. Your daughter is very cute. I already follow you and I like your blogs too. Keep going!!

@rajendraparab, thank you for reading the post and commenting. I am glad that you like my blog.

Thank you for this post. It was amazing to see the details of the trip, the airports, the planes, your family, and the food. I know next to nothing about that area of the country so it was wonderful to see a bit of it.

Also, I had a chuckle at your idea of "several meat balls".

Thank you very much for commenting @joannereid and I am glad you like the post.

Dear Michel hopefully you are fine another good day with family.I really like a cutest bag of you daughter.God bless her & on your family.It is overall awesome trip with airport,plans,hotel etc

Thank you @tanveerali for your kind comment. I am glad you like the post.

Good jobs a my friend success always..

Hi @gmichelbkk! Are you based permanently in Thailand? @suitcasemama and I are living in Bangkok!

Yes, I have been based in Bangkok for 25 + years.

Cool! There seems to be quite a lot of Steemians based here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63700.42
ETH 3084.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83