STAY IN YOUR COMFORT ZONE OR NOT.

in #travel7 years ago

Leaving your comfort zone, surrounded by friends and family who are there the second you need help, is for most humans not an easy task and for some even unthinkable. Ok, maybe a week or two on vacation… Others get out asap to explore, preferably on their own.

477436_3501658498559_577853354_o (Small).jpg
Cruising around Phuket, Thailand

I tried and did a lot of things in my life, worked and lived all over the world, grouwing slowly away from my hometown Antwerp, Belgium.
Thanks to my parents that moved to Spain when I was 5, living above a lovely 22 degrees C., playing on the beach with my dogs all day and going to the local ‘Spanish only’ school after a year. I felt the difference already when unfortunately, we had to move back to cold and gray Belgium after 4 years due to a missed business deal. So, spending my teen's craving for a warm and sunny climate, I worked hard to finance my early travels and to stay away as far and long as possible.
I will tell you later how it all evolved but one thing was always on my stubborn mind… Finding the road towards ultimate freedom.
Not to have lots of money, the cool car and big fancy house (although on a beach ...yes why not?), but to do whatever, whenever and wherever I want.
I need sun, a lot of Vitamin Sea and I really don’t mind working hard for it.
Sharing this adventurous lifestyle with my beautiful and faithful loving wife @yurodidit, who I met on Isla Margarita, Venezuela, 13 years ago, is already a big part of my dream coming true.

Me and my baby (Small).jpg
Isla Margarita 'Los Frailes', Venezuela ...Diving in love

Of course, as I didn’t spend too much time working and paying taxes, etc. in Belgium so I have no right to a retirement allowance or contribution of any kind.
Now 49 (ajaijaii !), there is constantly this little voice whispering to me ‘get a move on and make some extra cash for your old days… soon’.
Voila, another reason to create your own business(es),… even for the people who do have the right to a retirement, there will be not too much left the way governments are spending everybody’s money. Especially if you don’t have any property when you reach that entitled age. For sure not enough to live in freedom and abundance which they all will disserve by that time, not talking about their health.
Some of my friends I see suffering to get by and maybe they can afford 4 weeks vacation in one year to unwind, reload and enjoy real life. More likely, close to a burnout and still have about 20 years more to go…

10389125_707340766037526_3721492110233964899_n.jpg
Truth.

In my opinion, everybody (where I come from and most of the world) have the same choices in life: Stay in your comfort zone or get the f’ out a.s.a.p. and explore the world.
You can always turn back and nobody can take those adventures and knowledge away from you after.
But IF you find THE way that makes you happy and fulfilled with financial freedom,… DAMN that feels goooood!

20170407_095753.jpg
Koh Mak, Thailand, 'Shelter for the storm' on the way to Cambodia

We just finished building a catamaran in Thailand ( a huge adventure on its own which I will tell later) and sailed to Cambodia.
Now we're living in laybackKampot, a charming town on the banks of the majestic Praek Tuek Chou river that flows from the mountains in to the sea. We found out that it's not going to be easy to start a new business here

P_20170121_125131 (Small).jpg
Kampot, Cambodia

My next post will be the second part of this story and you will find you what is our master plan for new business(es) .
Stay tuned Steemers It's going to get interesting .

P4080355.JPG
Palmtree plantation, Koh Kut, Thailand

Sort:  

A very warm welcome to you @frankhappa - enjoyed your intro post - lucky you spending those early years in the sun! I have also been to Isla Margarita (but shortly after we got married!). Sailing to Cambodia sounds like a great adventure - looking forward to the second instalment. Upvoted and following you!

Thanks, @greenstar, likewise.

Welcome to Steem @frankhappa I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Hi there, how can I see that tip you sent me the tip, please? Trying to figure out how everything works..
Cheers

hey @frankhappa! welcome to steemit!
I just fllowed you, please do the same! @nenakrizman

Loading...

that's hot !! reSteemed . my followers need advices like these!!

Thanks, everybody does, especially the ones who got stuck and think ' now it's too late'

Welcome to the community. your introduction was very nice. Followed. Follow me back 😘

This is exactly what I will do. But my plan is to support, others with my knowledge and time. Do some new projects and sell new products with a sozial background. Thanks for sharing your experiences with the community. 😄👏

Cool, many people need a lot of support and advice to get out.. and stay out.

Welcome and Thank You for being with us!! Following your Blog now

Thanks @digitalplayer I love it here and planning to write my life stories to inspire others.
btw, I just posted the sequel of my last post.. check it out.

I will look for it now

Great story, inspiring! You are so right about travel being good for the soul, and getting lots of vitamin sea is definitely the way to go!

Great stuff @frankhappa, I look forward to the next installment :D

Thanks @handsolo btw I just posted the sequel of the story and more to come so stay tuned amigo

you are so inspiring.. thank you for sharing and welcome to steemit.

Thanks @aburmeseabroad, I'm enjoying the fact that we can inspire each other in this great community

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99