Visit The Most Beautiful Park In The Netherlands Located in the Bitcoin City of Arnhem

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

Sunday, was sunny so I went to the biggest park in Arnhem to take a walk. It's always more fun to take a stroll in Sonsbeek Park. These days it pretty cold so we doubled the hours of taking a stroll. I asked hub to take me to Sonsbeek Park because I love taking a stroll there since we could just eat or have a drink after a long stroll in the restaurant there which is open daily. There's also a Chinese - Indonesian Restaurant and a Pancake Cafe in there but I prefer going to the Stadsvilla because of the many things it offers.

It's not like the usual park you'll see the many cities of the Netherlands. This is what the usual park looks like here.

Sonsbeek Park is just way different.

What can one do in Sonsbeek Park?

Eat out in the three restaurants I mentioned above.

Watch a program or a play in the podium in the middle of Sonsbeek Park.

Have a picnic. Yes, on summer days, friends flock there to have a picnic or have a BBQ.

Take your date there. Enjoy the flowers and the romantic settings and sometimes, even have the park all to yourselves.

Take a stroll or jog. It's a very huge park so people could take an hour and a half or more to get to the whole place. It's a great place to take a stroll because Beech Trees thrive. It's always shadowy and on very sunny days even in summer. Even in autumn, the sun streaks go through those Beech Trees and it's just breathtaking to watch.

Enjoy the Sonsbeek Market on the first Sunday of the month. Yes, that's where I found the mealworms and cricket food products, the 'I'm not Plastic" water sports bottle and the Bamboo keyboard and mouse. Every month there are different stores and some stalls are just the same.

As the Dutch love cheese, and fries there's always a store selling them. And if one gets thirsty, drinks and coffee are probably just on the shop next to the foodies.

Read books or just hang out in a spaceship waterfall shed called The Exchange.

It's very convenient to visit and go around Sonsbeek Park because those three restaurants offer their toilet for 0.50 euro cent . I often use the one in Stadsvilla as it is huge and even if it gets crowded when there's a market - it doesn't take a long while to get one free cubicle and take a leak. If you drink something in their restaurant then the washroom use is for free. They also have a lift for those who get lazy taking the stairs.

The place is stroller, wheel chair and scoot mobile friendly.

Sonsbeek Park offers several photography subjects each season. I've managed to capture a few in summer this year in the part where there are stairs and a few from this autumn. Some of those I took in summer, could be found on my other social media but I haven't shared them publicly.

Last summer, it's been warm and dry so the Stadsvilla had their first Open Air Cinema. Had I not paid for a seminar that Saturday I would have tried it. It sounds very romantic for a couple and fun for friends.

Aside from all of this it's perfect for kids because there are deer in captivity in there and Geese, Swans and Wild Ducks in summer to feed. Those guys were still there when hub and I took hours of stroll enjoying the warmth of last Sunday. Autumn is starting to be chillier so we took that long stroll.

While I was taking a stroll, I saw this stairs and took it. It was leading to a watch tower. It's no longer being used but it's well kept. Look what I actually found there. Something I could actually use for that week's Steemit Photo Challenge that week which was -Hands.

If you happen to be in Europe or coming to the SteemFest in November and you would want to check the Bitcoin City Arnhem out - at least you know where else to go and what the place has to offer.

I took some of the pictures with a Samsung Galaxy A5 and A3 2016 edition.

I usually blog about cooking, gardening and photography and if you happen to be interested in all of those, too .

FOLLOW ME @

Sort:  

Very nice photos and info, Looks like a beautiful place.

Tanks for sharing :)

Very nice posts. I love all the photos:)

Nice reportage!
I was born near there, Sweerts de Landasstraat.
Is the old waterfall you can walk under and look through still there or is that the spaceship now?

Yes it's in that spaceship now @ocrdu ;)
and Thank you for all the resteeming !

The waterfall is gone? :-(

@oaldamster, sorry net gezien, ik was te moe gisteravond - nu ook hahaha
no, it's still there - just placed in that spaceship instead
and there's still this one, I took this when I went on a visit in Summer

It the one that people can walk behind/ under. If I remember correctly it is close to a hostel in Arhem.

Then I want to visit Sonsbeek, also because I read I can eat Indo food there. :-)

@oaldamster - yes this waterfall is the one close to the Sonsbeek Pavillion
They serve fusion - not just Chinese but if you want Indonesian resto better in the city center - it's just a walk away anyway, for Indo food kan je beter bij Batavia of Lestari of Rasarari maar nooit geprobeerd, ik kook liever :)

I still need to collect a lot of BTC before I go to Bitcoin Capital Arnhem... :-)

NL: Als ik naar Arnhem kom dan laat ik het zelf koken een keer voor wat het is. :-)

Echte Indo restaurants zijn hier niet. Satehuis in Groningen dichst bij, absoluut een aanrader! Dank voor het advies!

En rustig aan. ;-)

Awesome views @englishtchrivy! They look wonderfull!
PS: I hope you received my reply...I was offline some time (2 days) and just to the sure ...the log/badge you can take it from steemverify.com or @steemverify ...mine was number nine.

@cynetyc, yes, I did, I replied to you and anyway thank you very much!

To everyone who upvoted and wrote their comments below the post before this, THANK YOU ALL VERY MUCH!

Let me just regain my voting power and I'll get back to you all, last time I checked it was down to 31% and now regaining 47%. I'm sorry but I will really have to recharge now, too.

To EVERYONE WHO UPVOTED AND POSTED A COMMENT TO THIS POST THANK YOU ALL VERY MUCH FOR THE SUPPORT!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63781.73
ETH 3407.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47