Perfect Beaches and Cliff Diving in Ios

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

After I fell in love with Milos island, eventually I had to say goodbye and move on to another island of the Cyclades: Ios (yes, I also pronounced it IOS like the iPhone in the beginning).
I had looked up the island, found some beautiful pictures online and the existence of a campsite, so I chose to go there next. What I did not know, but what everyone should know is that Ios is the number one party island of Greece. You can imagine what a different vibe there is on an island like that... compared to one just for vacationing and relaxing.

Because we had taken the cheapest possible ferry, we arrived in Ios in the middle of the night and obviously we had nothing booked. We had a vague idea where the campsite was, but no idea how to get there and if there'd even be someone at the reception at four o'clock at night. But just like I mentioned in my last post one thing came to another and miraculously - at least that's how it felt to us - the moment we got off the ferry some guy asked us if we wanted to go to the campsite, we said yes and he took us there for free and checked us in. The price for a camping spot was ridiculously cheap since we had brought our own tent. I think from now on I'll always travel without a plan!

01.JPG

Ios is less diverse than Milos in my eyes, but I have to admit the island has the best beaches! The sand is soft and fine, the water deep blue and turquoise and always crystal clear. I also developed a slight obsession with cliff jumping while I was there.

10.JPG

11.JPG

The sunsets there are amazing as well.

12.JPG

Handstands are not my strong suit though, haha.

09.JPG

Ready for jumping!

14.JPG

Luckily, I'm still alive.

46.JPG

Jokes aside, I always check if the water is deep enough and if there are any rocks under water before I jump.

13.JPG

50.jpg

Because I had accidentally stumbled onto Greece's party island I felt obliged to party at least once. But to be honest, I didn't enjoy it all too much. The people were kind of rude and bumped into me on the dance floor all the time. The atmosphere was just off and the DJ not very talented. But maybe I just had bad luck.

51.jpg

There is more to come from Greece, so please follow and upvote me!

Earthlingvera


Check out my previous posts:
Greece Part I
Greece Part II
Norway Part I
Norway Part II
This is me

Sort:  

Lovely action shots of the jumps into the ocean!

Beautiful picture. The entire setting is so dreamy. Perfect place to fall in love.

It really is :)

Looks like fun! Great photos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68331.57
ETH 2650.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69