The Beautiful Island of Milos

in #travel7 years ago

Milos is a Greek island in the Aegaen sea and one of the best travel destinations for sure! I came to Greece with no real plan and after the first few days in Athens (read about it here) I wanted to do a little bit of island hopping, so we took the next ferry to Milos.
Because I always travel low-budged, I wanted to go to an island with a campsite. Funny story: The homepage of that campsite was pretty weird and the tents in the pictures were clearly photoshopped, so we kind of doubted if there even was a campsite at all on this island. Luckily, we met the nicest Greek couple at the port who also wanted to camp and they took us under their wing. And it turned out that there actually was a campsite - and a pretty nice one as well.During the three weeks I spent in Greece it was almost supernatural - everything always fell into place, although oftentimes I had no idea where I was going next or where I'd spend the next night.

The reason I love Milos so much, is that it's so diverse. There are beautiful beaches, crystal clear water, authentic Greek villages and also some breath-taking cliffs and an interesting coastline.

Sarakiniko

32.JPG

There are no real words that can describe this coast. It feels surreal being there, like you're on another planet or in a fantasy world.

34.JPG

My favorite combination of colors is blue and white, so this place was perfection to me.

33.JPG

We spent hours and hours just wandering and taking everything in, but there was also a small sandy beach where we went swimming.

31.JPG

Kleftiko

Kleftiko used to be an old pirate bay and most people go there by boat, but we drove on a dirt road as close as we could and then hiked down to the bay (around 5km/3 Miles). It was much better this way, because we could stay as long as we wanted, go swimming, did a little bit of cliff diving and explored all the different caves.

23.JPG

I really do have a thing for those arches.

24.JPG

Just have a look at the color of the water...

25.JPG

08.JPG

Some other Places on Milos

03.JPG

Another arch... there are so many!

05.JPG

04.JPG

07.JPG

Is there a better place to watch the sunset than on top of a church?

06.JPG

30.JPG

Can you see why I fell in love with this island?

Earthlingvera

Follow and Upvote to see more of my travels and find out where I went next in Greece!


Read here about my adventures:
Greece
Norway Part One
Norway Part Two
And this is me:
My introduction

Sort:  

thx for sharing

really beautiful very nice shots

Hope that I can get there someday, nice photos. :)

Looks very beautiful and amazing. This place looks so great bet you are having a great time. The updates are really good very good blog. I have been to Greece two times to Athens and Corfu and I loved it enjoy.

this is really nice from you i like it

Wow this place is amazing
Explore about pakistan about its natural beauty culture and people and follow @untoldpakistan

I understand very well what you are saying here ... I returned home from Greece a few hours ago. From a less spectacular place. Miraculous for me!

I can imagine!

Beautiful pictures

so beautiful..

So beautiful!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68316.98
ETH 3856.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65