Summer Paradise in Greece!

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

I started my summer off in Norway (read here all about it) which was an amazing experience but after the cold and wet weather there I longed for heat and sun. So I decided very spontaneously to spend the rest of my summer break in Greece. And it was the best decision I could have made, because Greece just blew me away.

02.JPG

We landed in Athens in the middle of the night with no plan whatsoever where to sleep or where to go. We had spotted a mountain near Athens City from the plane right before we landed and decided to go there. So at around three in the morning we took a bus from the airport and got off at a random bus stop which we believed to be close to the chosen mountain (spoiler: It was not close). I saw the first palm trees and already got excited. But as we hiked mile after mile with our heavy backpacks on and without having slept a single minute that night, I began to be so tired I just wanted to lie down at the next park bench. Eventually, after more than one and a half hours of walking we reached the mountain and began to hike up a little trail. Half way up, we just laid our sleeping pads down and fell asleep just as the sun rose.

The next day (or same day actually), we woke up to a beautiful view over the city and we finished the hike to an old monastery. Then we walked back to Athens and picked out a hostel there.

21.JPG
I'm never going to go travelling with such a heavy backpack ever again!

22.JPG
I almost stepped on this little cutie.

The next few days, I explored Athens and what can I say... I am nerdy and I love history. So I simply loved all the ancient sights. I tried to remember all the things I learned in school about Greek history, but oh well, it's been a while!

29.JPG

What was absolutely amazing was that as a student I did not have to pay an entrance fee anywhere!

48.JPG

47.JPG

49.JPG

After I had taken in all the culture I wanted, I was ready for the islands!

Upvote and follow to read about the upcoming adventures!

Bye,

Earthlingvera


Get to know me in my introduction post:
This is me
Or read about my travels:
Norway
And if you're also passionate about travelling, but you don't have a lot of money, read here:
How to save money for travelling
How to travel cheap

Sort:  

Your story and pictures are amazing! I'd love to go to Greece too!

wow what great pictures
your travels sound delightful

Congratulations @earthlingvera! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I'm so jealous! Best of all is this freakin cute turtle ❤️

It really was one of the best things there haha :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64467.84
ETH 3492.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54