Norway – Trolltunga and Kjerag

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Part Two

Trolltunga and Kjerag are easily two of the most famous natural sites in Norway. And if you’ve read my last post about Norway, you’d know that I’ve talked about some places in Norway which are completely overrun by tourists – those two certainly are. But read on to find out if they are still worth a visit.

Trolltunga

The so-called “troll tongue” is a beautiful stone formation reaching over a lake surrounded by mountains. It is the perfect spot to take a picture, enjoy the view and if you dare you can sit at the edge and feel the thrill of seven hundred meters (2,300 ft) of nothing but air in between your feet and the ground.

01.JPG

To get to Trolltunga, you have to hike for 28 kilometers (17 Miles) and you share the path with many, many, many other people. I found the hike to be very easy technique-wise, but a little exhausting towards the end. It took me a total of around 9 hours to get to the Trolltunga and back to the bus station which was the starting point. The estimated duration is 10-12 hours so I guess it depends on condition and pace. I also heard that there are days when there is a line of more than one hundred people waiting to take a picture on the Trolltunga. Luckily, there were only around twenty people in front of me (it was raining that day - what a surprise - and I started very early in the mourning), so not much time was lost there.

02.JPG

Despite the long distance and wet weather I did enjoy the hike after all. The landscape was beautiful and ever-changing as always in Norway. But if I was ever to go again, I’d probably bring my tent and sleeping bag and do it in two days as many others do. I spotted some spectacular camping spots and it’d be nice to watch the sunset or sunrise at the Trolltunga (if the clouds ever decided to disappear for a while). It is an unique place and it may be more serene if it was not as crowded.

Kjerag

The Kjeragbolten is a similar spectacle of nature. A round rock clammed between two walls and underneath a drop of 1000 meters! Would you dare stand on it?

I certainly would, but I’ve somehow become a bit of a risk-taker over the past couple of years. You wouldn’t believe what a careful and fearful girl I used to be compared to now.

However, the hike to the Kjerag was a little bit more difficult than the one to Trolltunga, although it’s much shorter and thus not as tiring. There are many steep parts where you need to use your hands and often there are metal robes to assist you. Also, the elevation profile consists of three hills meaning that you go up and down a lot.
Anyway, I found the hike to be exciting and I’d do it again any day. The whole tour took me around five to six hours, but then again I am at home in the mountains.

IMG_1289.JPG

In the end of the hike comes the most thrilling part: Climbing on the Kjeragbolten! For a moment all of my determination was gone and I wasn’t sure if I’d do it. I like little thrills of ecstasy now and then, but I don’t know if I am ready to die in pursuit of a good picture!
The weather was on my side though. When I reached the Kjerag I had a clear sight over the Fjord (amazing by the way) and also an all-too-clear sight of the one thousand meter (3,640 ft) abyss. But just as I was contemplating not to do it a cloud swallowed the mountain and myself. Out of sight, out of mind, right? Since the danger wasn’t visible to me anymore as much, I finally dared to climb on the stone!

21443229_1820268438000932_69446622_n.jpg

IMG_1281.JPG

Tell me in the comments if you'd climb on the Trolltunga or Kjerag!

earthlinvera

Please give me an upvote and follow for more travel adventures! There is much more to come!

Check out my previous posts:

Norway Part One
How to travel cheap
This is me

Sort:  

Nice pictures of an interesting part of the world

Cool post!! keep em coming :))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64467.84
ETH 3492.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54