Climbing the Olymp

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Ever since I first learned about ancient Greek history in seventh grade I was fascinated by it. So naturally I felt a strong attraction to the Olympus Mountain - the place where the Gods live. I wanted to climb it, experience its magic and maybe get a glance at Zeus and friends.

We camped near the parking area where the hike up to the Olymp started and began our hike around nine in the morning. Our phones where dead as we'd been wild camping for a while and no opportunity to charge them, so we didn't have an alarm clock. Otherwise we would have started the hike earlier in the morning which I'd recommend to everyone.

The Olymp is not actually a single mountain (I thought so - oops), but a mountain chain with several summits. The hike up there was great with the mountain peeks ahead and the sea beneath. A perfect combination.

43.JPG

42.JPG

44.JPG
If you look closely you can see the ocean in the background.

45.JPG

36.JPG

35.JPG

37.JPG
They almost ran me over! Mules are used to provide the refuges with everything they need. Not very animal-friendly I suppose, but I was impressed how easily the mules managed on the small paths with deadly abysses to either side.

39.JPG
Chamois on the horizon.

41.JPG
And chamois up close. I just love animals. It is always a highlight for me to see wild animals when I'm in nature.

38.JPG
This is the "Plateau of Muses". Rational-thinking people hike up here, sleep in a refuge and try to reach the summit the next day early in the morning. Because every day clouds form before noon and cover the summits in fog. However, we'd only planned to be one day at the Olymp and wanted to do everything in that time. Let me tell you, not a good idea.

55.JPG
These are the summits. The highest one is called "Mytikas". Supposedly, it is possible to reach the very top despite what it looks like.

40.JPG

This was the highest we got which was only a little bit underneath the actual summit. I really, really wanted to reach the top (I have never before failed at reaching my mountain goal). But it was foggy as we were inside the cloud you can see two pictures above. Also, there were signs remembering the people who have died trying to climb the mountain and my legs were heavy from the 2000 meters / 6500 ft of altitude we'd already tackled. Additionally, the last part really seemed terrifying and dangerous. Still, I think I'll come back one day - better prepared and with more courage!

The Olymp is absolutely beautiful nevertheless and the views totally made up for any disappointment! I was also a little bit proud of hiking a distance of more than 30 Kilometers / 18.5 Miles in addition to the altitude in one day.

One little anecdote: As we were almost back at the parking area where the hike had started, a guy approached us. At this point it was already getting dark and the guy was just in shorts and flip-flops. He asked us if we knew where the "Plateau of Muses" were and if it was close. He thought he'd do a little stroll up there (after sunset) and wanted to know if it was worth it. I told him that it really was worth it, but that'd take him around six or seven hours. He was a little surprised and said that he didn't bring a flashlight, so he turned back. Moral of the story was that it doesn't matter how completely unprepared I am, there is always going to be someone even worse prepared!

So after all, I can't tell you about Greek Gods, but I don't mind that much. Their mystery is still unsolved for me and I like that. As I was attempting to climb to the summit, surrounded by fog, with a fatal drop beneath my feet and trembling knees, I felt as Zeus maybe just didn't want me up there and I had to accept that.

Stay tuned for my next post and follow me @earthlingvera

Don't forget to Upvote!


Check out my precious posts about my travels in Greece:
Athens
Island of Milos
Cliff Diving on Ios
Meteora

Sort:  

Congratulations @earthlingvera! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received
Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @earthlingvera, this post is the second most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 1176 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $583.91. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

These are some incredible pictures! Keep Steeming!

Thank you! I will, it's so much fun!

Congratulations @earthlingvera! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great shots and story! Saw your upvote on my Oz post, following you now!

If you do a lot of travel posts you should check out this map app I helped test:

https://steemit.com/travel/@steemitworldmap/steemit-worldmap

Easy to add to your post and it gives people another search option that is travel-based - nothing pinned to Greece yet!

What a great story! Yeah, I agree: the Gods wanted to keep you mystified! Zeus blew the fog right in your face. :-) You have to come back a second time and try again.
The guy with the flipflops and lacking a flash light is really funny!
-- I adore your pictures, they really capture the atmosphere! The mules are amazing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64768.36
ETH 3436.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51