Dean Visits 7: Trekking Mt. Tabayoc, Benguet (Philippines)

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Greetings my fellow Steemians! In this travel blog, I will share with you my experience in trekking Mt. Tabayoc.

InShot_20170909_232905278.jpg

Mt. Tabayoc is a mountain located in Kabayan, Benguet, and is considered to be the 2nd highest mountain in Luzon. Its peak is around 2,482 meters above sea level (MASL), which is equivalent to around 8,143 feet. Trekking it wasn't easy due to the condition of its trails. Thus, for safety reasons, first-time mountain climbers are usually discouraged to ascend it. On the foot of Mt. Tabayoc, you can find Lake Tabeo, surrounded by grassland and agricultural plots by the locals. The lower part of the mountain itself is a montane rainforest, while its upper parts is made up of montane mossy forest. Its forest is considered a hotspot for biodiversity, so taking any plants and animals is strictly forbidden, unless you're authorized to do so. Here's the trekking experience me and my companions had:

We started our trek around 1pm, when the sun is still bright. As with most rainsforests in the tropics, the forest cover makes it hard for sunlight to peek through, so making your climb when the sunlight is at its peak significantly lessen your safety risk. The start of the trail is generally easy. We passed through a grassland, the grasses became more dense and taller as we pushed forward.
DSC_4489.jpg

As we went further up, the number of trees began to rise until we reached the lower montane rainforest part of the mountain.
DSC_4501.jpg

Along the way, we heard many animal sounds, mostly by insects. We were intrigued to hear a unique bird sound, our guides told us it is a local bird species endemic to the mountain. We tried to keep our eyes open, we were hoping to get lucky enough to see it and maybe it could hang around for us to observe it. No such luck. But I was greeted by the fella when he jumped into my hand, maybe it was curious to the color of my gloves?^^
DSC_4516.jpg

After around an hour of non-stop ascent, we finally reached the upper part of the mountain. This time around, fog wasn't the one that hindered our visibility, but actual clouds! The trees were noticeably smaller and surrounded by moss and plants that are adapted to near constant cold and humid conditions. The trail, needless to say, was more slippery.
DSC_4509.jpg

When we reached the actual peak, it was still a mossy rainforest, so no views like the ones in Mt. Pulag. You could, instead, try to go the viewing which would take you around 30 minutes more trekking (see my first link below the title). As for us, the weather seemed to turn for the worse, plus we were losing sunlight, so we decided to call it a day and made our descend. There are parts of the trails which have holes as a result of old trees that fell piling up together. Some of the could easily fit a whole human adult body. If you ever try to climb Mt. Tabayoc, pay extra attention to your steps.
DSC_4528.jpg

After our descend, we had dinner and most of my companions called it a day. I was tired and sleepy too, but I took some time to take photos of the night sky (refer to the last photo in this previous post of mine. I wanted to wake up before dawn and try to get some Milky Way shots. But even my phone's (which I place near my head) alarm wasn't able to wake me up! I slept log a complete log until it was 6am. Oh well, perhaps next time I come back. :)

Have you climbed a mountain lately? Tell me your experience. Or are you perhaps planning of a mountain to climb?

!steemitworldmap 16.616791 lat 120.826406 long Trekking Mt. Tabayoc D3SCR


stemmit2.7.gifdean140.gif

Thank you for visiting! :D

Sort:  

You Are An Excellent Steemian. This post has received a 11.11 % upvote from @steemthat Return the favor and SteemThat Person Back: @dean101. SteemThatBotMoreIGrow .


Please Upvote This Comment To Help Me Grow! And The Price Of Steem Will Appear! @steemprice steem

$1.079 USD/STEEM
Volume: 17.9306 BTC, 58974 STEEM / Average Price: 0.00030404
Last Updated Fri Sep 15 17:19:21 2017

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

At last! Thank you! :)

Did it take a while for it to show up? Shouldn't take take more than a minute normally!
By the way, adding it to the editors choice map, awesome post man!

@blueorgy have mentioned I might have posted at the time when the server was rebooting. But it's all good now, I plan to use your service for all my travel blogs. What you're doing is good for this community.^^,)

Hi @dean101, I see you have mentioned me.
This is automatic response so that I may respond to your mention later.

Ah yes, that is very much possible! Glad to hear it got sorted out!
Awesomeee, can't wait for more of your posts to show up!
And thank you for the kind words!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @dean101 to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

This post has received a 100.00 % upvote from @morwhale and 50% from @hdmed and 50% from @steemorocco thanks to: @dean101.

@resteem.bot
Resteemed to over 4000 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!
Read here how the new bot from Berlin works.
@resteem.bot

Thanks! :>

I love to visit the place too. My friend was able to visit the place and he said the same thing. I might enroll in mountaineering class so I could train myself

Gogogo @iamrosallie! Trekking mountains is fun. :D

I actually tried it. And yes, it's fun! But I need to retrain myself for I've been staying at home for months now

Looks like I'll be like that too. I don't have any trek sched for the rest of the year. Hopefully I could have one early next year.

@dean101 I'm hoping the same thing. 😊😊😊 Talk to you soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69557.92
ETH 3792.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52