7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge - Tuesday of Antarctica and the world’s oceans week #10 - the absolute winner takes 150 SBD!

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Hello fellow steemians!

Welcome to my 7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge - Tuesday of Antarctica and the world’s oceans - where the winner of the weekly round will be able to participate for the total of 150 SBD! Today you can participate by submitting your personal pictures from your travels to a continent of Antarctica. I am also adding world's oceans to the challenge as I am guessing it would be fairly hard to get many entries for Antarctica only.

shutterstock_220522297.jpg

Image source: Shutterstock
Author: Volodymyr Goinyk
Beautiful snow-capped mountains against the sunset sky in Antarctica

Your entries need to be submitted by the midnight of Central European Time in order to be considered for the challenge with a description of approximately 30 to 50 words. Only one picture to be submitted for a daily photo challenge. The rule number one is to use only personal images. Ten winning photos will receive an upvote from me from which I will pick one winner that will receive extended publicity in my post tomorrow morning. I will also visit his/her blog to upvote one of the most recent posts.

The winner of daily challenge then competes against winners from other continental challenges of the respective week to receive the price of 15 SBD. That will be decided by you based on the dollar value of upvotes of my winning post announcement. The winning weekly picture then automatically enters other rounds for the price of 150 SBD in total.

Please see the winner of Asian Sunday as well as Australian Monday and give them your support if you like their image to be the one winning the weekly price and entering the other stages of the 7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge. You can vote for them by upvoting their winner announcement posts below:

7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge - Asian Sunday week #10 - winner announcement!

@aurumv Asian Sunday entry:

The photo is taken during trekking in Ladakh region in Himalayas. Those nice carved stones are written prayers. Everyone seen colorful flags in Himalaya those are also prayers. But flags are temporal... short life. So if you want the God to find you pray, you have to make it long lasting. Stone is the best material for this.
Try to imagine the difficulty of making this and even more how hard it was to deliver high to the mountains. It was found in about 4500m height.

PIN_7983.jpg

7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge – Australian Monday week #10 – winner announcement!

@jon24jon24 Australian Monday entry:

Enigmatic Queensland

As my sister and I went on with our roadtrip across Queensland, I always had the thought of how different Australia is. I have always thought of the country to be empty and just hot weather. Oh boy, was I wrong. The weather was not even hot in this part of Australia. We would wake up early in the cold morning chasing sunrise. Coming from a tropical weathee background, I was not use to the weather below 10 degree celcius. Here is one of those days that the fog was taking over the landscape.

IMG_8027-01.jpeg

For more information about the 7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge and conditions see my original post: 7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge – chance to win 150 SBD - 7大洲照片挑戰——贏取150 SBD的機會!


Please feel free to check out some of my other recent posts.

Prague by your fellow steemian @nina.nowak. Great contribution to my photo-sharing challenge!.
BTC + BCH + BTG = 10 000 USD!
Waking up to 300 billion USD Cryptocurrency Coin Market Capitalization!
7 World's Continents Photo Challenge - week #9 - vote for your favorite picture of the week!


Tomas
CEO & Founder of CGH

logo.jpg


upvote follow resteem.gif


Sort:  

Photo of whale watching in Quebec, Canada. You take these Zodiac boats (that you see in the picture), in order to go where the whales are. Unfortunately, you do not get close to the animals, so you have to use zoom lenses in order to get photo of the whales.

whales-01.jpg

Wow, wish I could witness that!

I took this photo last week when I was climbing on the second largest mountain in the Croatia. When you get to the top, its like standing on the edge of the world. This little guy is enjoying it also.

Bez naslova.jpg

Wow, fabulous pic!

tortue1.jpg
During my trip to Australia, I spent 3 days on a boat, the "Santa Maria" to discover the beauties of the Great Barrier Reef. During one of my outings, for 20 minutes, I followed this turtle. 20 minutes of pure pleasure watching the flight of this wonder above the corals. It was wonderful :)

Great entry, thank you so much for entering!

Thanks Tomas for your challenge. Yesterday after my entry i decided to write the story of my encounter with this turtle. You're motivating me to do it and can read it on my page if you want :)

This photo was taken on the Antarctic Peninsula on a recent trip to Antarctica. At the end of summer, the area is home to hundreds of whales that feed on krill, fattening themselves up before their long migration north.

0I6A8567.jpg

Absolutely wonderful! Kindly stay tuned for the winner announcement. Tomas

Sunset on Stuart Island/Rakiura, home of around 400 people living in the small settlement of Oban. A great place for nature walks and to see the southern lights (aurora australis).

10931416_406108452890343_6276603790433340419_n.jpg

That is just epic!

Another calming African sunset on the Southern Coast of South Africa. The area is called the Garden Route... this is a magical place where the Atlantic and Indian oceans, beautiful nature and friendly people meet. This is how Christmas weather in South Africa looks like! ;)

20161230_193307.jpg

nice photography...

liked your photography........so that now i followed you...

Absolutely stunning Jaco!

20171031_111810(0)-02.jpeg

Protective Nemos

Here I was snorkeling along the coral reef of Batangas, Philippines when I saw this coral reef with four nemos. Two of them were big and I was guessing that they were the parents. The other two on the other hand were small. All the years that I have been snorkeling along the reefs of the Philippine Islands, it was my first time seeing nemos. Anyways, I was about 15 feet (5 meters) away from where they were. So I had to dive down to get near them because the camera that I was using was my Samsung A5 (2017) which is not so good quality if its far from the subject. I was actually around 1 foot away from the nemos before I took this photo. Every time I dive down to the nemos, the 2 little once would hide inside the soft coral reef and the parents would stay out to protect them.

Great pic! Kindly start making you posts under 50 words. The minimum is 30 with 50 being around max. Thank you for your understanding.

Sorry, I will surely do. I got carried away on telling a story :D. Thanks!

This is the Pacific Ocean taken off the coast of Puerto Vallarta in Mexico. I spent last new years there with friends and took enough photos for 3 years worth of posts on Steemit. :) It really is a wonderful, relaxing city and beautiful part of the world.
IMG_3989.JPG

Absolutely gorgeous! Thank you so much for your submission!

This is Daphne Mayor Island in the Galapagos, Ecuador
IMG_20171112_172759.jpg
It is a small volcanic island, near Baltra Island where one of the Galapagos airports is located, many birds nest on its lava tunnels.
It has no inhabitants and was discovered by Fray Tomás de Berlanga in 1535. I took this picture myself last week with my alternative phone a Cubot Magic.

Beautiful pic! Please stay tuned for the winner announcement. Tomas

Saint Kilda, Melbourne, Australia.

I was exploring Melbourne with my friend and he suggested to go to St Kilda. I was so surprised when I got there, because in between the rocks on the pier there were small penguins.
AU NZ-16.jpg

What a great submission. Thank you so much for sharing. Tomas

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56111.00
ETH 2371.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31