Working While Traveling - Balancing Freedom and Responsabilities

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

cindy-tang-25654.jpg

Photo by Cindy Tang on Unsplash

When I was 25 years old, I set out to create a mobile lifestyle, to seek out a way to "work" so that I can be anywhere around the world. That quest took me 5 years to fully accomplish...which was well worth the countless moments of despair, doubt and uncertainty.

But just like any goal, once you attain it, you have to figure out how it plays out in your daily life.

Balancing Work and Travel

Don't get me wrong...I'm not complaining about my situation. But I think it's good to notice that there is no freedom that doesn't come with a corresponding level of responsibility. Working while travelling, I'm realizing now more than ever is a balancing act. When there is no boss breathing down your neck, have to set your own priorities and work with very little structure then you have to impose those on yourself.

Scheduling and Timing

One of the most difficult part for me is timing and schedule. When I'm in my home environment, I have a routine and a schedule I can follow. Also, I'm wired to do my best work early in the morning between 8am and noon. After that, my productivity gets a diminishing return. But then, since my partner is located 9 Hours earlier than me (while I'm in Italy), I have to start working at 5pm in order to sync with him.

Resisting to Temptations

While being in Italy, it is a constant fight to get me to sit in front of my desktop. I mean, there are so many amazing things to do and see here...who wants to sit in front of a computer screen for 8 hours when you are perched at the top of Capri Island?

ciprian-lipenschi-105852 (1).jpg

Photo by Ciprian Lipenschi on Unsplash

Conclusion

If you have the desire to reach for a "mobile" lifestyle like I did, realize that their are drawbacks. Everything comes at a cost. When I first pursued it, I didn't realize that I also had to give up on certain things such as having co-workers I meet everyday and a more balanced social life and a regular schedule that allows me to leave work with a clear conscience rather than work being 5 feet away from me 24h a day. It may sound ridiculous but those little things matter once you don't have them anymore.

Sort:  

No matter how much of a good planner we think we are, life always have its own plan awaiting us.

You are right @cryptoctopus I quited my job and I have been living the mobile lifestyle, steemit and other online activities and within this period i have gotten lots of complaints from previous colleagues and friends about not been available, I thought been self employed will come that easy but i really miss alot of things.

I think I’ll realize it when I go to Pakistan in 3 weeks . I was saying how I’ll psot 2 times a day and ty to comment a lot . But then I know it’s not possible because when you’re somewhere else and especially with family , things always come up. Plus Pakistan sucks with electricity . But I’m going to try to enjoy the little moments while I’m there and Steemit can tag along the ride .

I bet you’re having fun, psot more pictures !!

It is very difficult to do post quantities for days, steemit is a hobby where you can entertain or report interesting topics.

greeting from the other continent.

It’s not , for me this is a passion . I am committed to this paltform and always try to provide quaility content in every post

That's the idea, keep it up.

Scheduling and timing has never been an issue for me, but resisting temptations.....oh well!! That's a story of it's own LOL!!

P.S. : The steemauto auto upvote finally worked haha. It just isn't instant that's all. I waited for a few hours for this post and the vote eventually went through (even though it was set to a wait time of zero minutes).

I've had problems with it as well. I used to work for me, but lately, it hasn't worked at all.

One of the first things I realized when I told my wife I'd like to set out on my own for a more mobile life was when she said O great you'll be here all day everyday so you can help with errands and such.

The first thing I realized when planning to set out on my own is that I will need to rent a space so that I can separate work and life because my wife will have a hard time respecting those boundaries.

Actually makes me reconsider setting out on my own and just finding a 9 - 5 job that I can tolerate while still being able to work on the "mobile" projects I want to work on.

Yeah, making work your hobby and hobby your work;)

The co-workers and the 'working environment' are indeed the only things that keep me at my job at the moment. They are a very valuable yet often understimated thing. I'm currently not very active on Steem, since I haven't got the words to describe what I'm gonna do as I'm still thinking about it. But I'm almost certain I'm be doing some very major changes career-wise in the near future.

I like working with people as well. You can find places to sometimes co-work with other nomads, which makes it less lonely. But also sometimes it's distracting if you try to work with too many people at once. You just end up talking and laughing instead :)

wow very nice post and good job

I completely agree with you, my friend, when you are far from your usual life and you travel it is always difficult to plan the rest and work. I did experience the same inconvenience for a long time when I had to go on business from home and I confess to you honestly, it does bring not convenience, but on the other hand we have the opportunity to add new images to the Steemit and your journey through Italy is an excellent example! Thank you @cryptoctopus

I always love to work in a proper schedule because it engage me in the work and stop me from thinking rubbish things. But it sometimes become difficult when you are out of normal workplace. I like your dedication towards your work, keep us motivating and encouraging us in our difficult times.

@cryptoctopus - Sir having a job, we framed into a schedules & tasks... As you said it's there is a boss who is ready to breathing down our neck... My husband got that experience Sir... Not only the boss, his schedules made by his clients too... But I got a little freedom... It doesn't mean I don't have schedules... But in family environment I got a little free time than a regular job...
When talking about financial freedom, Steemit made that freedom... I love it, but sometimes it's little hard to keep on track... But I'm trying to keep in that track Sir... Because, I'm addicted to Steemit Sir...

+W+

@cryptoctopus,
Actually I wish to be a free guy! In current moment I am having a huge stress at my workplace and STEEM and STEEMIT is the place which is deducting my stress level! Specially financial free that's what I am talking about!
I got a boss who is willing to take the last breath of all co-workers under him! So, with STEEM and STEEMIT atleast now I got a chance to build a future! Your article which is full of your experience helped me to build my dream true! Actually I want to build that dream! I will do!

Cheers~

I wished a lifestyle like this, but i definetly dont have the needed discipline.
If had to travel to work, i would only work if i had an specific job to do at that place... Or else i would definetly get distracted with every new thing i saw around me.

I would suck at that.......

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95