Yad Vashem Holocaust Memorial - Jerusalem, IsraelsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago

yadvashem.jpg

One of the most powerful museums I have ever visited is the Holocaust Memorial in Washington DC. The Yad Vashem Memorial in Jerusalem takes a much more subtle approach to the topic of remembrance. It is not less impactful. In a way, the subtlety had a greater impact on me. It is hard to use a word to describe my feelings while working my way through this massive museum. The best word I can find is "exhausting."

This article will not be peppered with photographs like many of my other Israel travelogues. I only took photos of the exterior of the memorial. The museum is like a giant graveyard. Taking photographs was the furthest thing from my mind as I wound my way through the exhibits.

Yad Vashem is located on a hillside called Mount Herzl, also known as the Mount of Remembrance. There is no admission charged for entrance. Yad Vashem is the second most visited site in Israel (the Western Wall is first), with over one million visitors per year. The museum was crowded when we went, which was during the off season. I am sure that it stays busy year round. I can't imagine visiting during peak season. It is the type of memorial that you need to circumnavigate at your own pace, taking time to watch the looping videos or read and interact with the many exhibits.

The museum is set up as staggered exhibit halls, winding back and forth in a serpentine-type progression. You start at one end and work your way towards the exit. Each exhibit hall contains artwork, video areas with varying levels of privacy, letters, photographs and personal effects. The idea is to recount the events of the holocaust through personal interaction with the people who lived it. It is effective. It is exhausting. The museum has collected the testimonies of over 100,000 survivors of the Holocaust.

yadvashem2.jpg

One of the most chilling experiences at the museum is the children's memorial (above). The memorial is a dark hallway with points of light inside. As visitors walk through the hallway, the names, ages and countries of murdered children are spoken in memory. There were 1.5 million children murdered during the Holocaust. The walk will give you goosebumps. The walkway is very dark, but not impossible to see. But folks with trouble walking and poor eyesight may have trouble navigating this part of the museum, which is located in its own are of the immaculately manicured grounds. At the end of the walkway is a plaque recognizing the donors of this chilling exhibit. It is worth exploring the grounds, which have a host of small remembrances. It is an incredible, serene, reflective place.

yadvashem3.jpg

As you exit the end of the linked exhibit halls, you loop around a courtyard to head back towards the entrance. The exit offers an incredible view overlooking the valley below. I needed that. I need the fresh breeze blowing through the valley as I exited the museum. I stood at the railing looking down at the lush spring greenery and cried. I didn't sob. But I needed a minute to reflect on the enormity of what I had just experienced. It hit me deep in my core. The fresh air helped me catch my breath.

My wife and I quickly caught up with the rest of our tour group. They were waiting for us. I didn't realize I had lagged behind. I am not usually the guy people are waiting on. But I couldn't rush and I needed a few minutes to collect myself after visiting. This is one of those places that every visitor to Jerusalem should take the time to visit. It is free, and it is important.

From the website:

Opening Hours
Sunday to Wednesday: ‬09:00-17:00
Thursday: 9:00-20:00*
Fridays and Holiday eves: ‬09:00-14:00
Yad Vashem is closed on Saturdays and all Jewish Holidays

The Holocaust History Museum, Museum of Holocaust Art, Exhibitions Pavilion and Synagogue are open until 20:00. All other sites close at 17:00.

Archives and Library Services
Sunday-Thursday 8:30 - 17:00
(Books and documents can be ordered until 15:00)

More information can be found on the website at www.yadvashem.org

For more of my travel experiences in Israel, be sure to check out the rest of my travelogues.

A Christian Guide to Israel

Hotels
Cinema Hotel Tel Aviv, Israel
Ron Beach Hotel, Tiberias, Israel
Prima Park Hotel Jerusalem, Israel

Attractions
Caesarea National Park Caesarea, Israel
Mount Precipice Mount Kedimum, Israel
Sea of Galilee Boat Ride Tiberias, Israel
Yigal Alon Museum (Jesus Boat) Ginosar, Israel
Capernaum, Israel
St. Peter’s Restaurant Kinneret, Israel
Caesarea Phillipi Banias, Israel
Gadot Lookout and Memorial Golan Heights, Israel
Jordan River Baptismal Site Yardenit, Israel
Beit She’an National Park Beit She’an, Israel
Mount of Olives, Jerusalem, Israel
Garden Tomb Jerusalem, Israel
Western Wall Jerusalem, Israel
Western Wall Tunnels Jerusalem, Israel
Bethlehem New Store Gift Shop
Pools of Bethesda Jerusalem, Israel
Via Dolorosa Jerusalem, Israel
Shrine of the Book Jerusalem, Israel
Yad Vashem, Jerusalem, Israel
The Upper Room Jerusalem, Israel
Tomb of King David Jerusalem, Israel
Holyland Model of Jerusalem Israel Museum, Jerusalem, Israel
Masada National Park, Masada, Israel
The Dead Sea, Masada, Israel

Churches
Discalced Carmelite Monastery Muhraqa, Israel
Basilica of the Annunciation Nazareth, Israel
St. Peter’s Church Capernaum, Israel
Church of the Multiplication Tabgha, Israel
Church of the Beatitudes Tabgha, Israel
Church of All Nations Jerusalem, Israel
Church of Saint Anne Jerusalem, Israel
Church of the Holy Sepulcher Jerusalem, Israel
Church of Saint Peter in Gallicantu Jerusalem, Israel
Church of the Nativity, Bethlehem, West Bank

Unless otherwise indicated, these photos are my own. They may be used with permission.

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=coldsteem
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=yad-vashem-holocaust-memorial-jerusalem-israel


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62641.44
ETH 3343.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47