Travels With Connie #45 Salton Sea

in #travel6 years ago

Sometimes I know exactly where I am going. In that case it’s easy, pick a route and go.

More often I have an idea where I’d like to end up, and generally speaking a direction to go.

Once in a while I just follow the front wheel and see where it takes me.




The Salton Sea. The completely accidental largest body of freshwater in California.

Completely accidental? Uh huh. An irrigation project gone wrong allowed most of the flow of the Colorado River to be diverted to the Salton Basin in 1905. It took two years to stop the flow completely.




This is one of the lowest places in North America, the surface of the Sea is 236' (72m) below Sea Level. It is part of the North American subduction zone, where the Pacific Tectonic Plate slides under the North American Tectonic plate.

It is also right on an incredibly active earthquake zone. The San Andres fault, The San Jacinto Fault and the Imperial Fault all lie beneath the lake. It is considered to be an area where an earthquake magnitude 8.0 or above is due.










There are at least 3 state of California campgrounds and 2 private campgrounds surrounding Salton Sea. The campgrounds are wonderful, modern and underused.

I have camped on or around the Salton Sea more than anyplace on earth. It's relatively close and a good place to meet up with people. There are some terrific riding roads in the very near vicinity and the solitude is luscious.




There are at least two rider's groups that I am affiliated with that have gatherings here, and I come a couple times per year on my own.



I really do like the area but the lake itself can stink from time to time and the flies can be brutal. Depending on when you are there. Next time we will discuss the ecology of the Salton Sea and the surrounding area.

Thanks for coming along for the ride.

All words and photographs in this post are mine. For better or worse

You want some real motorcycle travel? Check out Velimir. That’s some kind of motorcycle writing.

Adsactly is a society for freethinking people. Interested? Click Here to join our Discord channel.


Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!

In the bottom of the page type in: adsactly-witness and select vote.

All small letters and without the @ sign

Or give us a direct vote here

Our Witness proposal

Thank you!


Sort:  

as usual you have captured the moment for me I just wish I could be with you on these journey.s

Thanks Tony. If you are coming, I gotta ask. How are you at cooking?

Just great if it comes out of can

Looks really amazing in those photographs, but I wouldn't be too happy to stay near it if it smelled that bad :)

It's only twice a year or so, but it's pretty foul when it does. More on the smell in the next installment.

a little off topic but the salton-sea with Val Kilmer is one of my favorite movies. The history of the salton sea is quite interesting also about how it came to be.

Thank you. I'm no where near done with the Salton Sea, I'll probably mention the movie in the next set where I'll deal more with the ecology of the place.

sweet. their is a long history of how it got to where is is now and why. it also has a big history with racing speed boats due to its high salt content and super smooth surface conditions

Another set of beautiful pictures. I feel like I am getting a tour of Arizona through your posts. The first two pictures with the orangy pink sky and the reflections are beautiful. Reminds me of the sunset coming off the ocean back home.

You know what is really amazing about those two photos? They were taken about 11 hours apart, one at sunset (the first) and one at sunrise (the second) from very nearly the same spot. And they were taken with my very first digital camera, a 1mg giant :) I didn't realize the significance of the pair until I got home and got to looking at them on my monitor. I am a lucky photographer :)

@bigtom13 thanks for sharing about salton sea.....good you have explsined it beautifully....else i was about to puylt up on accidental...word 😉

Thanks, I'm glad you enjoyed it. It's an amazing place that is quite close to me, so I go often.

Saw a documentary once about the Salton Sea and its pretty interesting. Are there still people who go fishing in the area until now?

There is a very small amount of fishing. It is recommended you not eat fish from the Salton Sea because of the pollution. I'll deal much more with that in the next installment.

great Job...safe travels friend..

Love those purply pink tones!

Such a nice trip @bigtom13. A travel with a closest friend would be very a great journey and you own it. I also dream to experience what you does in the right time and right place. Have a great day!

Thank you my friend. I certainly enjoy it.

That's a cool looking place. Just south of Interstate 10 which is a journey I have made several times (Phoenix - LA) by car. I didn't even know it existed until I saw your article.

I had a motorcycle too when I lived in the US, though not as fancy as those ones in the picture. I only ventured once outside the Phoenix city limits to a place called Casa Grande. Break down on those freeways and your in for a bad time!

It is just south of the 10.

I just love Casa Grande. I love the monument and I really like the town, always been friendly to me. I have a favored stop there, a mom and pop gas/convenience that I just love.

You know the place? I was at a convention in some hotel. It might have been the only hotel actually!, it was so long ago, 1995.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.22
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 65476.67
ETH 3385.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.18