Travels With Connie #42 Badlands Fossilized

in #travel6 years ago

Sometimes I know exactly where I am going. In that case it’s easy, pick a route and go.

More often I have an idea where I’d like to end up, and generally speaking a direction to go.

Once in a while I just follow the front wheel and see where it takes me.




Badlands National Park has a hidden feature. It contains some of the richest fossil evidence in North America. The Park has gone to great length to not only preserve these areas, but to also present them to the public.


Fossil Walkway




Badlands NP has an incredible Fossil tour. Self guided and entirely wheelchair accessible it lets you see actual fossils in the places they were discovered! The walk way is just spectacular and is the only place in the park that I've seen a rattlesnake. It was under the walkway and I was on top so we didn't have any problem between us. It also kept me from stepping off the walk way to get a closer look at things.






The sinage on the walkway is very legible and descriptive. It very much adds to the experience.









Then there are the fossilized remains, safely protected under Plexiglas, many of them exactly where they were discovered. There are lots and lots to look at and admire. It's just a beautiful exhibit.






It's a shame to have to leave this place, but the road goes on. I'm going to leave with one more image from Badlands National Park. Thanks for coming along for the ride.



All words and photographs in this post are mine. For better or worse

You want some real motorcycle travel? Check out Velimir. That’s some kind of motorcycle writing.

Adsactly Banner New.jpg


Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!

In the bottom of the page type in: adsactly-witness and select vote.

All small letters and without the @ sign

Or give us a direct vote here

Our Witness proposal

Thank you!


Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #104 (4/14/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Isn't it amazing that something we call wastelands can be so beautiful? Thanks for sharing your adventure. I really enjoyed the photos. And it is great to hear that some much time was put in to create a great experience for the people who visit.

I just love the place. It is a really outstanding example of accessibility that can be achieved with good planning and a little money. It really is wonderful.

I haven't traveled much in the US, outside of cities, but I would like to, and I'm gonna put this on my list of places to visit. Thanks for sharing!

Our National Park system is a real treasure. Each is unique and different. I love this one, in some ways just because of the scale of it.

I love the humbling scale of nature. Late at night, when you look at the sky full of stars, or my experience in Ghana's Kakum National Park, which is a huge rainforest. You walk across a series of bridges meters in the air and just look out over the treetops stretching away into the distance, and think about all of that life and nature all around. It's beautiful. :)

Sounds just wonderful to me. And so exotic. I'm a lizard, you see. The desert is what I know best.

Funny, when we asked a couple of our Ghanaian friends what their equivalent to the squirrel is, they said (once we had explained what a squirrel was) that it's lizards! They weren't lying, either—I had to repatriate lizards out of my dorm room several times. They were everywhere, and I took loads of pictures of them over the course of my stay. Like this guy, just hanging out:
2016-09-03 12.15.57 HDR.jpg

What an amazing place to discover! This is really a stunning national park, wow!!! I would love to visit it, as the way the landscape looks like is so interesting and beautiful to me, I just LOVE it so much!
And combined with a motorcycle tour it must have been a priceless day!

Thank you for sharing your amazing impressions! :)

It really is an impressive place. And the Black Hills of South Dakota aren't all that far, either. The Hills have some wonderful motorcycle roads, not to mention Mt. Rushmore and the Crazy Horse memorial :) It's a pretty cool part of the US that is mostly unknown.

It is amazing the stories that the land can tell in it's own language. The photos would be on the "better" side in my opinion.
Nice post friend!

Thank you.

I like 'the language of the land'. I love being able to take the time to listen.

Need to add this onto the list!

Just outstanding work Tom..thanks for sharing.!

These are incredible and wonderful images. Visiting places like this helps one appreciate history and nature.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by bigtom13 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43